Expedient Reviews | Glassdoor

Expedient Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Expedient CEO Charlie Watkins (no image)
Charlie Watkins
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "It's an exciting, fast growing company providing a constant opportunity for growth and development for those who want it(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The OSC is constantly understaffed(in 5 reviews)

  • "Normal growing pains of a high-velocity company managing growth and success(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Easy Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Specialist 

    I have been working at Expedient full-time

    Pros

    Easy to get an interview, willing to train

    Cons

    Don't get your own desk

    Expedient2019-08-05
  2. "Good technology, horrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Technology is strong, local SA is worth more than he realizes

    Cons

    Local Baltimore leadership is abysmal, toxic and demotivating. You’ll work for an unethical bully

    Advice to Management

    Remove the cancer and life will grow

    Expedient2019-09-30
  3. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Compliance and Audit Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is my third year in overseeing IT Compliance and Audit at Expedient. During that time, I have had the opportunity to engage with colleagues at all levels and throughout the organization. I can personally say that the senior management and leadership team at Expedient is fully committed to ensuring that not only are our controls in place from an audit and compliance perspective, but that everyone listens and... when concerns are brought up, they are not ignored and are promptly corrected. Expedient does well with not just ensuring client satisfaction, but that employees are also treated well and satisfied. Benefits are very competitive in terms of PTO, health (employee cost is lower than other companies), and 401k match is on par with other companies. The company also is fully vested in employee development and provides great training and continuing education benefits for its employees. I have seen colleagues take advantage of this and obtain bachelor's and master's degrees here. Personally, I have been able to maintain my CISA certification and attend local and regional training sessions to keep up with the latest trends for my profession and helping Expedient with our audit and compliance program.

    Show More

    Cons

    None at this time. While no organization is perfect, someone's experience at Expedient (or any other organization for that matter) is what they make of it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work of listening to our colleagues and making Expedient a great company to work for!

    Expedient2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A good company with caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn - this is a place where you can get your hands on technology that you wouldn’t as an entry level employee elsewhere Great culture - Expedient does a good job of hiring teams that get along well

    Cons

    Expedient is, in my opinion, undergoing growing pains. As a Tier 1 analyst, this is hurts the worst with regards to pay. It seems that Expedient will do anything to please you other than paying a market rate for the work you do. This goes beyond OSC (the support group) management and, I believe, has more to do with how upper management views the OSC as a whole. Unfortunately, when it comes to keeping talented... employees, Expedient’s treatment of the OSC has, in my time, resulted in the loss of some truly special people that I was sad to see go and was sad to see leave shorty after I did.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know the Expedient account will reply to my review with an explanation as to why things are the way they are. This does not change anything, and comes off as a desperate attempt to save face on a public review board geared to representing how companies really work. Ultimately, I am glad that some benefits have recently been added, pay seems to have improved, and more flexibility has been granted to some employees.... Unfortunately, this will not change the fact that Tier 1 analysts are terminally underpaid (some salaries would make you scoff). If Expedient is to become the organization it wants to be and stay true to its tag line, pay will need to increase for Tier 1 analysts. I’d say go to other companies and see how they are doing things, hire consultants, do something to address the low pay or Expedient will continue to hemorrhage good employees. OSC management is almost all former tech guys, many of whom started out at the Front Desk or as Tier 1. A lack of outside hires has created an environment of self-preservation for the OSC management team and I believe this has made them weak in front of Expedient upper management as a whole. Sales commissions will continue to grow, administrative employees will continue to be hired, all while the OSC bleeds good employees for this singular reason. I enjoyed my time at Expedient, but it really stinks that I had such a bad taste in my mouth before leaving.

    Show More
    Expedient2019-08-06
  5. Helpful (6)

    "All that glitters isn't gold."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to multiple technical disciplines. Opportunity to learn and develop skillset. Great people.

    Cons

    Lack of structure, communication or accountability amongst OSC levels (management down). Unless you are sitting next to a manager they will not acknowledge your talent, which is unfortunate as not every employee has that opportunity in a 24/7 opperation with remote locations. Employees are undervalued and underappreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Share the same level of transparency and respect with your elpoyees that you have for your clients. Understand listening is an integral part of communication.

    Expedient2019-05-13
  6. Helpful (20)

    "Kiss up and kick down management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people. Exposure to an array of technologies, not really able to be in a role to do anything meaningful with them until you get out of monitoring where you are just a cog processing hundreds of alerts day-in and day-out. Can take 6 months to a year before you are out of the role depending on when someone leaves and a position needs back filling. Although the next role after is not that much better. You... constantly get tickets dumped on you. The ctc tries to distribute tickets evenly, however, there's not that many people for the tickets to go around. If you close too many tickets at a time, you will just get more tickets so the mentality is to hold on to your tickets for as long as possible until you have to post an update to reset the timer. Most people figure this out quickly and try to work the system. The good news is if they like you, you can get promoted up fairly quickly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Terribly understaffed, but management sees this as a good thing because they would rather have us stretched thin to keep from hiring an extra person. There is no point in busting our butts to get exceeds because then management will think everything is fine and that we don't need more people. If we want more people we have to do the bare minimum and show that the OSC is struggling. We have been struggling the entire... time since I started. Management also "kiss up and kick down" their team. Rather than speak up for us, they they will literally go along with any bad decisions their bosses decide, but if there's an angry customer they do not hesitate to pass on the blame and problems to their subordinates. Due to their lack of foresight to see a problem in the inane way we do things, we get threats of being written up or fired. Even techs are afraid to mess up because of this fear factor approach by management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We're stretched thin and burnt out. This is not the opinion of one person, but the voice of many of my co-workers in the office all the way up to the senior tech level. This just doesn't affect one data center, this affects every person in every tier in every market. It's not a good impression on my career prospect when I escalate a ticket and the tech is openly venting how much work they already have and stressing... about a hotlist case. This only makes going back to monitoring more appealing. I hate to dump more work on others, but they give us no confidence to work some really simple tickets. I've done far more difficult work in my previous jobs where I had access since day 1, but because they don't trust tier 1 to do anything, it has to go up the ladder. That's not really the best way to develop your analysts. If you don't trust your team, that's more of a reflection on the people you are hiring and poor training. It just seems you are trying to get people for cheap who would otherwise be unqualified if they applied anywhere else. However you don't pay them accordingly if they become proficient either. You can't really have it both ways, you can't have technicians on an analyst salary any more than you can have an engineer on a technician salary. To that point, stop being cheap! The 2 largest customers' bills for one month pays for an entire OSC office for the year. It is borderline insulting for the amount of complex work we do for the little pay we do it for. That is why people here say this is the place you go to get relevant technical experience to find a better paying job elsewhere. That seems to be the reputation they are okay with having and wear it like a badge of honor almost. They are fine with letting good people go if they don't want to meet the reasonable market rate salary demand. Just stop acting surprise when you can't retain employees for more than a year. The real job security in this company is the recruiter because they are constantly having to back fill for the people that leave.

    Show More
    Expedient2019-04-18
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Learn if you are here and Leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSC 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Expedient is that they do take in people with little IT experience and it is a place you can learn about IT infrastructure.

    Cons

    Expedient hires people with little IT experience, hoping that they progress with that knowledge but not ask what they are now worth. Most people do not grow with the company, particularly those outside of Pittsburgh, their headquarters. There is a clear favoritism for those in Pittsburgh regarding promotions, and in markets/sectors where people are exposed directly to the core senior management team. Training is... for certificate reimbursement only. I have seen management send people away for training on particular subjects, but I have no idea how that was selected. Certifications now much be on the "approved list". If it is not on the approved list, this can and has been denied, despite what statistically it shows for the person leaving feedback on these reviews. The OSC is constantly understaffed. This leads to fluff updates to "clients" (not customers anymore) and things in general not getting done in a manner that I would want when I contract a company for IT management. This can be anything to "I'm looking into this" on a note just to make an SLA that the sales team uses to sell Expedient products more broadly. That ticket will likely go to another person the next day, so the original person doesn't have to deal with it. This leads to burn out and general morale issues, as you are taxing your strongest resources all of the time, and letting others slide by on the backs of others. We onboard clients in managed services constantly and that business continues to grow, but if anything the pool of resources supporting it seems to stay the same or even shrink. Quarterly and yearly meetings are basically the sales team patting themselves on the back, and doesn't cover anything OSC. When you hear the CEO say that Expedient is differentiating itself by keeping "margin" (profit margins) high, but you are getting paid wages lower than the industry standard, it is upsetting. We have made multiple attempts to express this to management both internally and through these reviews. They either don't care about our feedback, or intentionally designed the OSC to function this way. Either way, it isn't fair to your front line people. Your best bet is to use the skills that you learn here and leverage them into a better position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respond internally to the multiple surveys you make us take, and what lessons you learn from them. It doesn't make sense for all of us to keep giving you feedback on these and we never hear anything about them. Listen AND acknowledge our feedback about pay and understaffing, and actually act to change that.

    Expedient2019-05-04
  8. "Great place to work, with caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Wonderful people, good office culture and atmosphere -You can create your own position if you can prove it needs to exist -Large swath of IT work to be done in multiple fields/disciplines -Salaried employees aren't forced to work huge amounts of overtime

    Cons

    -Retention isn't their strong suit, but they are starting to work on that -Workloads at times can be overwhelming, but it's never for very long when it does happen

    Advice to Management

    Maybe increase PTO amount at 2 years instead of 5. It really feels like you're not a "real" employee until about the second or third year. There's also no other perks, other than the occasional free meal and a computer hardware discount through Dell. Gym membership? Cell phone bill credit? Something of the sort. Some positions don't require you to sit in the office basically ever, and it would be nice to have... more freedom to work remotely without it being portrayed as a hassle by management.

    Show More
    Expedient2019-04-02
  9. Helpful (11)

    "A great stepping stone to use in route to finding something that is better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked at Expedient for several years and can say that I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to learn and develop as an IT professional. Expedient is great place to start with little to no IT experience as they have positions that do not require IT certifications or degrees to qualify for. Outside of gaining experience they do offer an average benefit package including insurance, 401k and then towards the... bottom end for paid time off. Free snacks and drinks are a plus, and the overall personality seen throughout the Operations Support Center (OSC) staff makes it a fun place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Over the last few years there has been a widening disconnect between the OSC management and the employees. Confidence in nearly every supervisor’s willingness to look out for their associates is almost universally questioned. Development is entirely self-motivated and obtained. Outside of reimbursement for certifications on the approved list, there really isn’t much company drive to help the employee better... themselves without it being directly aligned with benefitting Expedient. At this point I’ve succumbed to the fact that it’s unlikely many will ever find a career without either switching away from the OSC and joining another team or leaving the company all together. Once you have gotten some experience to pad your resume it would be wise to transition to a company that specializes in the technology discipline that you are interested in. Pay for most positions is sub-par of comparable jobs in the market with some examples being downright offensively low. To add to low pay, under staffing is a reoccurring issue, with the leadership praising how Expedient is maintaining high profit margins and it’s not possible to keep adding people as the client base/ workload continues to grow exponentially. All these factors combine to make it hard to stay motivated, and with no end to the storm in sight, a significant portion of the OSC staff has become disheartened and subsequently disengaged. At this time, I feel Expedient is reaching an unredeemable point in which they will no longer be considered a decent place to work at, and instead regarded in the same light as working for a fast food chain, or Walmart, “It’s just a job”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I feel a significant portion of the problem is the OSC is mostly managed my individuals that come from a technical discipline and have little to no experience in a management role. It’s been joked that it would be beneficial for the leadership of the delivery and sales teams to be brought into the OSC to help teach the current management tree how to lead people and help people to buy back into the positives that... could be here. Expedient has the potential to be considered a great place to work for, and staff that I have talked to that work outside of or have escaped the OSC generally give off the perception that life is better outside of the OSC walls. Pay should be the easiest thing to correct as quarterly the company holds a sales focused presentation and every time touts that they are only increasing the profits returned to the stakeholder. From an OSC standpoint, we mostly try to get the free food and skip the meeting as it’s painful to see how the company is making money seemingly at the expense of our salaries. Correcting the relationship between the OSC management team and the OSC staff is a much taller order and I’m not sure it can even be done with a large turnover and fresh start.

    Show More
    Expedient2019-03-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Pretty good company to work for but no room for growth and horrible benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedient full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. Awesome coworkers. Free snacks and parking.

    Cons

    Health Benefits are terrible. No sick time. 401k match is very low. No room for growth in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your employees and you will face less turnover.

    Expedient2018-12-18
Found 52 reviews