KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Explore Schools

Is this your company?

Explore Schools

Add a Review

Explore Schools Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 of over 85 reviews

3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Explore Schools Executive Director and Superintendent  Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb  (no image)
Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff members (instructional and otherwise) care deeply for the students and their families and work hard to get results(in 5 reviews)

  • "Students and families are wonderful(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours with little support or guidance from leaders(in 11 reviews)

  • "Teachers have far from enough prep time to do everything that is required(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Consistent Pay Scale

      Mar 20, 2021 - Upper School English Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Straightforward pay scale Opportunities for Growth

      Cons

      Support and adult culture is dependent on specific school Curriculum can at times feel limited by state test needs

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I love working here!

      Feb 22, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I don't mean to be corny, but I really love working here. I've been meaning to write a review for a while and I think some of these negative reviews must come from people who haven't worked anywhere else because it is truly a great place to be a teacher. They really care about you and try to be flexible. We bend over backwards to support families and students which is so great. They are trying to be really inclusive and it's the real thing, people! Not like a lot of other places that just try to do the bare minimum. I get to work with great people and of course I love my students!

      Cons

      I don't love some of the programs we use. I wish we could write our own stuff.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Network to Work For!

      Mar 4, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is very good place to start your teaching career. My principal and school leadership team are in it for the right reasons and I've learned so much. They are really committed to helping you get better and we make sure that students are the most important thing which is why we are all here. This network is really small and personal. the superintendent not only knows my name but has reached out to me to see how I am doing and what I think about things. I don't think you find that everywhere. My colleagues have become my friends which makes the job fun. I highly recommend this school as a place to work!

      Cons

      I wish we taught less periods each day so we had more time for planning and for grading.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome place to work!

      Feb 9, 2021 - Director in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is seriously an amazing place to work! Explore Schools is truly committed to supporting students, teachers, and staff. Explore is an anti-racist organization committed to rooting out white supremacy culture- this commitment carries through in all decisions from curriculum to discipline practices, to creating space for students and staff to have conversations about race and identity. Explore Schools has created a community that is supportive, inclusive, and really here for their kids!!! I love it here.

      Cons

      We should do a better job of talking about how amazing it is to work here! I think our external facing materials don't do that always.

      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to grow as someone who is interested in climbing the ladder.

      Mar 4, 2021 - Director of Operations in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Responsive to feedback from employees with a lot of opportunities for input at all job levels.

      Cons

      Usual cons of working with small charter network. Funding and community partnerships aren't as great as larger networks but they lead with the head as well as the heart.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fake

      May 17, 2021 - Director in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If they like you performance isn’t important, and if they don’t like you performance isn’t important

      Cons

      Same Top down everything screams mistrust

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Needs improvement

      May 4, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good Staff members become good friends Inclusive environment

      Cons

      Employees always quit midyear Network is unorganized Lots of last minute tasks All schools are in same district

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      HSPC

      May 5, 2021 - High School Placement Coordinator in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to build a lot of great connections with families and students. Network is open to new ideas and programs to support students.

      Cons

      Surface level DEI/anti racist work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very Grateful!

      Dec 15, 2020 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Throughout my career, I've worked at a handful of NYC charter schools. Of course, each come with ups and downs. More and more, I'm so grateful for my position at Explore network. We have a strong network leadership with a refreshingly clear vision on how to serve the students. Our anti-racism initiatives are indeed progressive and proactive—in a way I’ve never encountered before. Also, I'm happy to say that amid the turmoil of COVID-19, our leaders made strong and quick decisions.

      Cons

      Sometimes expectations (and corresponding workloads) for us teachers seem way too high. This can get stressful. But I do think the leadership is good at reminding us why the bar is set so high.

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Reflective, collaborative community

      Feb 2, 2021 - Network Staff in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reflective staff at all levels of the organization, commitment to continued improvement, earnest commitment to disrupting white supremacy in our org, responsive to staff feedback

      Cons

      We have a lot of initiatives going simultaneously, sometimes it's tough to manage

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Explore Schools Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Explore Schools? Share Your Experiences

    Explore Schools logo
    or