Explore Schools "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Explore Schools Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Explore Schools Executive Director and Superintendent  Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb  (no image)
Carrie Mauer and Christina Froeb
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Students and families are wonderful(in 4 reviews)

  • "Staff members (instructional and otherwise) care deeply for the students and their families and work hard to get results(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours with little support or guidance from leaders(in 10 reviews)

  • "Teachers have far from enough prep time to do everything that is required(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Up and Coming!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time

    Pros

    Explore Schools has shown dramatic improvement in the past 2 years on all quantifiable metrics, including student achievement and staff and leadership retention. This network has the foundation and people to provide an excellent educational option, where students are known, and they are challenged. Teachers and leaders are valued, supported and developed, and the staff culture is collaborative and kind. The network is committed to improving practices around diversity, equity and inclusion. Although there is lots of room to grow, this charter network is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Explore Schools staff have experienced many changes over the past few years and change is good, but can also be hard. Especially for newer staff, the hours are long.

    Explore Schools2019-03-09
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Explore Schools

    Pros

    Students and families make the hard work worthwhile

    Cons

    High retention impedes progress Ill-equipped leaders Long hours

    Explore Schools2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (6)

    "stressful and Never complete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with. Felt like you were truly part of a team. Great supervisor who did his best to support me in my role while trying to tackle the many duties under his title and position. Schoolwide Shut downs were always a pleasure and much needed. Salary was nice.

    Cons

    Never felt like you ever fully completed any given task within the expected time frame even taking work home with you or stating additional hours. Day starts at 7:20am. You check emails and voicemails. Respond back to as many as you can before the students arrive at 7:35am. This is only if there is not an AM huddle. You do your best to complete as many task as you can before lunch/recess because they have an all hands on deck policy so everyone has lunch/recess duty. This takes a large chunk out of your time frame when you could be working on other things more important. Long hours. Not that you were demanded to stay but with all the little meetings/ PD's team huddles AM & PM, you had no choice but to stay and put in ten and eleven hour days. Ambiguous duties sometimes are given and you are left to try and figure it out as best you can because EVERYONE was clearly over worked. Students that required more support and a stricter environment based on their IEP (i.e. 12:1 or 8:1) were placed in general ed classrooms with an ICT teacher. NOT THE SAME THING. This resulted in behavioral issues that impeded teachers ability to complete lessons and teach material in a timely manner leaving children ill prepared for state testing resulting in low and failing grades and exposing children to behaviors that were unsettling to say the least.

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A really great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I will start by saying that I certainly have learned a lot about education and how to manage a classroom with my time here with Explore Schools. I started here straight out of a masters program with no real teaching experience other than student teaching. It was here with Explore that I learned that my masters degree was simply a piece of paper and it was on this job I began to learn everything I needed to know as a teacher. The staff here is absolutely wonderful. I have made so many friends outside of my classroom and people are really there to pick each other up. The teaching model is really great with the focus on small group targeted instruction so students are really getting what they need at all times of the day. There is a huge push for literacy which this population of students really needs the work with, and I have personally seen it pay off. Our families are mostly really invested in their child's success and I have personally had a fantastic turn out around parent teacher conferences and parents frequently asking what they can do to help their child. It really creates a community where kids are eager and willing to learn all the time. I can't say enough about our students here. They are really the reason I come back here day after day year after year. They have some of the biggest hearts and really do want to learn. You definitely have to work hard here, but anyone who made the decision to be a teacher already knows that.

    Cons

    The hours are long, but quite frankly you will find that in just about every charter school across the city. the student hours are from 7:30-3:30 and teacher hours are 7:30-4:30. Its a rough day, but you will definitely make more $$ than a DOE teacher but you will need to work longer. The pre-service is really rough too. 2-3 weeks of preparation before the school year starts is a bit much, and for teachers who have been teaching for a few years at the school should not be mandated to have to attend such long sessions. For new teachers I find it essential. I do not know where I would have been as a first year teacher if I didnt have those 2 weeks before school to prepare myself. Also the turn over is really high, its very hard to come back year after year with so many new faces.

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2017-04-17
  5. "Determined Staff, Developing Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teachers at Explore Schools are determined, hard working and VERY loving of the students they are working with. Their days are long, packed and rigorous to ensure that "every second counts" for the students to learn. If you find yourself in a strong team, you will have someone in the trenches with you guiding and supporting you along the way. Teacher's who've developed extensive teaching experience will be compensated very well.

    Cons

    Long hours with little support or guidance from leaders. Leaders have been known to deflect or ignore issues, allowing teachers or operational staff to take care of the issues due to accessibility or formerly built relationships. Operational staff are paid extremely poorly and are often the ones who have to have their hands in every element of managing teachers, staff, community, family, and the building the school is located in.

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2017-03-29
  6. "Typical charter school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay for the long hours and school breaks

    Cons

    Long hours, very little prep time, be prepared to work at home a lot after the school day, play favors, not a real teacher evaluation system, leaders often speak to you in a negative tone, work given to you last minute, and poor health care coverage

    Explore Schools2017-03-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing group of teachers - not so great administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explore Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic teachers and operations team who go above and beyond every day for the scholars. The families were very supportive for the most part. Can always count on your coworkers

    Cons

    High turn over due to really long hours and incredibly difficult work load, but that comes with any charter in NYC. The administration played favorites and it made me really uncomfortable. Admin was very self-righteous and difficult to work with. Occasionally very unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2016-09-01
  8. "I found Explore to be a breath of fresh after working for a different high performing charter school in NYC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Personable employees -Approachable and understanding management -A focus on development at the pace of the individual -Managers are reflective in their practices to learn the best way to support individual teachers and lead professional developments -Teacher and staff reflections and suggestions are requested -Management trusts the teachers and adults in the building -Many lesson plans have skeletal plans to go off of or scripted plans to be adapted to best meet student needs (no need to reinvent the wheel) -Good benefits and vacation time

    Cons

    -Long hours, but no different compared to most charter schools (7:30-4:30 students 7:45-3:30) -Team meetings are held during prep time (must be able to manage time wisely) -Large class sizes -Lack of personnel in leadership makes observations less frequent

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2015-03-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Stop and go teaching employment...I didn't last longer than 6months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Explore Schools

    Pros

    Experience, materials, autonomy for your curriculum, decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    No behavior management plan, principal was non existent (received a morning email once a day and that's all you will see/hear from her, long hours (7:30-4:20), low quality education, lack of communication, leadership is all talk- no action, High turnover rate- new people every week

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2015-03-22

    Explore Schools Response

    April 9, 2015Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time with Explore Schools. Although your individual experience was a challenging one, we as a network work hard to ensure that all of our schools provide strong support for teachers. Each school creates specific behavior management plans that are tailored to the needs of their students and school leaders are in constant communication with teachers and parents to ensure consistency. We understand how challenging this work can be and we listen carefully to feedback from our community to make improvements in service of our students and families.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Out to get you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Explore Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary was good. Good benefits; 401k vacation time. Most colleagues were supportive, team players. Hierarchy was mixed as far as support.

    Cons

    Hierarchy became very disrespectful and insulting. They were becoming bullies. Long hours, unproductive professional developments.

    Continue reading
    Explore Schools2015-02-11

    Explore Schools Response

    April 9, 2015Director of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As a network, we have very high expectations for teachers and know how challenging that can be at times. Our goal, as always, is to improve as educators for our students and lean on our core values of direct and sensitive communication and professional integrity in order to do so. We will certainly take your feedback into consideration.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews