Explorica Reviews | Glassdoor

Explorica Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Explorica CEO  Matt Wertz (no image)
Matt Wertz
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Travel opportunities, approachable management team, great colleagues(in 9 reviews)

  • "Some staff and coworkers are great people, and make great coworkers(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    Lots of PTO (21 days+) Opportunity to work from home in the future Free travel opportunities Well reviewed product (most clients rate tours good to excellent)

    Cons

    Can take a few years to build a solid client base Commission plans can be confusing

    Advice to Management

    Develop more growth opportunities & create more easy to understand commission plans

    Explorica2020-01-04
  2. "Pretty good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - International Program Consultant in Boston, MA

    I worked at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun workplace, decent sales commission, nice coworkers

    Cons

    The merger with Worldstrides complicates things and adds pressure to the sales people. Also the cold calling expectations are RIDICULOUS. If you aren't comfortable cold calling then don't work in sales here

    Explorica2019-11-10
  3. "Industry does not pay well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and travel perks

    Cons

    Low salary for travel consultant

    Explorica2019-09-12
  4. "Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explorica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Team, Kind Senior Executives, Excellent CEO, Awesome HR, Extraordinary Workplace

    Cons

    Nothing is BadGood Team, Kind Senior Executives, Excellent CEO, Awesome HR, Extraordinary Workplace

    Explorica2018-08-08
  5. "Growing company, selling a product that makes a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Program Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of perks - Great office location in downtown Boston, growing sales team, work from home potential, strongly encouraged to take advantage of PTO to travel during the summer months, casual office environment, open office space, company happy hours, strong team mentality, bi-annual staff tours and other frequent international & domestic travel opportunities, regular team and company outings, Roth 401k match, tuition reimbursement, etc

    Show More

    Cons

    The not so great stuff - Expensive medical plans, very difficult goals for promotion into leadership roles

    Advice to Management

    Explorica is a great place to work, especially if you're early in your career, but as the team continues to grow and goals shrink, we need to reassess the goals for development into senior roles.

    Explorica2018-08-05
  6. "Great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Program Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great office environment Everyone is super friendly Selling a product that people want to do - TRAVEL Get to talking about traveling all day Flexible hours Great office perks!

    Cons

    Decent amount of calls but its sales Decent salary and work to your get your commission No other cons really

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Explorica2018-02-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    Some staff and coworkers are great people, and make great coworkers. Some fun perks, like staff tours. Selling travel is a great way to make a living, thus the work is meaningful. CEO is great.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment. Absurdly low pay, and management will keep you in a low position for a very long time. Hours are long and stressful for no reason. High turnover. Have seen people who have worked on the sales floor for a year, to be fired in front of their ex-coworkers. Little transparency from upper management. HR is interconnected with management, and thus does not look out for your best interests. As a salesperson, you are expected to act like a telemarketer, and not treated respectfully. If you want a career in travel sales, work at EF.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your staff do not trust you. Be more transparent and respectful to the people who work for you.

    Explorica2018-03-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Office Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyday is fun to come into work. Everyone is fun, creative & loves to get to know each other. We have great events throughout the year to get to know each other & learn more about each others departments. The benefits are also great.

    Cons

    Only con is that the space on the Sales floor is a bit crowded. I work as the Office Coordinator, and there is only one of me, so I have my own space. But on the Sales floor, you are very close to your co-workers, which can be a pro or con.

    Explorica2018-01-08
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    Love working here! Great location, culture and office environment. Not a stiff office, like some offices can be. Great place to work right out of school if there are any opportunities available.

    Cons

    Down time in sales - travel is very up and down with busy season. We are busier in the Fall and Spring, which is why we are probably allowed to take unpaid time off in the Summer.

    Advice to Management

    Communication. The company was acquired a few years ago by WorldStrides and we would like to see what is going on across the entire company.

    Explorica2017-09-29
  10. "Great company and great colleagues!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Experience Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have a great office environment that is very fun and casual. We get a lot of PTO, and get to travel on an Explorica tour once every other summer. The managers and team leads are very helpful in making sure you have the tools to reach your goals (as long as you are willing to put the work in!)

    Cons

    It takes some time before you start making commissions - but any employee should know that from day 1, it shouldn't come as a surprise. Things are also either extremely busy or extremely slow, with not much time in the middle.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes it feels like the better we do in sales, the more we grow, and the more activities which are taken from us (fewer birthday celebrations, team lunches, Season kick-off events, etc.). Shouldn't you be rewarding the sales teams for good work rather than taking these things away?

    Explorica2017-06-12
Found 55 reviews