Explorica Reviews | Glassdoor

Explorica Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Explorica CEO  Matt Wertz (no image)
Matt Wertz
30 Ratings
  1. "Great company and great colleagues!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Experience Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have a great office environment that is very fun and casual. We get a lot of PTO, and get to travel on an Explorica tour once every other summer. The managers and team leads are very helpful in making sure you have the tools to reach your goals (as long as you are willing to put the work in!)

    Cons

    It takes some time before you start making commissions - but any employee should know that from day 1, it shouldn't come as a surprise. Things are also either extremely busy or extremely slow, with not much time in the middle.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2017-06-12
  2. "Great Perks, Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    I worked at Explorica for 6 years, I had (mostly) wonderful teammates and coworkers, and decent working environment, and great travel perks. Not everyone is privy to the same travel perks, but if you can get them, they are great.

    Cons

    One of the biggest problems with Explorica is that the management doesn't get rid of people when they should. I'm sure that this is a problem with many companies, but I had numerous coworkers over the course of my time there that were detrimental to the company and their colleagues and the company did nothing to improve their job performance or to remove them. Also, employees in general are somewhat underpaid and undervalued.

    Explorica2017-05-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Start for College Grads and/or Career Switchers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Explorica from a sales perspective is a make your own fortune kind of company. It's not easy work, but if you consistently make calls, stay organized, show your clients you care and stay on track with deadlines you will succeed. Your manager and team leads want to see you succeed, there's no doubt in that, but you have to work hard in order to achieve your goals i.e ACTUALLY making 40-60 calls a day, creating strategy to connect with important/fruitful prospects, collaborating with team members to understand best practice, etc. I attribute much of my success to the mentor program (which I hope picks back up a bit) where I was paired with an experienced Explorica team member who gave me advice but also listened to my concerns, questions and highlights. I also felt my competitive nature helped me succeed at Explorica, I loved looking at KPIs and seeing where I compared with others (old and new). Explorica is a place for a sales person (or competitive person) with a sales mentality not just some looking for a job to have. Explorica does a great job of building a fun and tight-knit community with activities and open seating plans (even though it would have been nice to see the other floor a bit more).

    Cons

    Upper management really doesn't take advice from other departments even though they say they do. I consider myself pretty optimistic and will speak up for myself when I need to but it really only went to the extent of my direct manager. I didn't really see the worth of trying to speak with anyone above them as the open and friendly atmosphere kind of trickled off after them. Goals were realistic; however, the sales process needs to be revamped a bit. The transition period (which I believe is still ongoing) when Explorica was purchased by another company was hard for many as employees felt like management was not transparent about business plans (specifically new offices selling the Explorica product without any actual knowledge of the product).

    Continue reading
    Explorica2017-02-03
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Buisness Development Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly don't know what to say here. After reading the other reviews, I found myself wondering if this is the same company I work for? I have a feeling Explorica enticed people to post good reviews to build up their rating. This is going to be harsh but I was grossly mislead during my interview so I'm leaving this (brutally) honest review. This is a great place to start a career. If you're fresh out of school this is a great stepping stone but if you already have an established sales career; stop here and keep on looking. There's a great work life/balance and they are very understanding that things happen. You aren't penalized for coming in late or having to take some time for a doctors appointment. You can even set your own schedule as long as you put in the work. There is also the option down the road to work from home. It's a really relaxed atmosphere, you can wear what you want (the office is freezing so a blanket will be a mainstay of your wardrobe) If you like travel you do get some opportunities (but be prepared to ride on a tour bus with a bunch of high schoolers)

    Cons

    If you have sales or travel experience there are dozens of other companies that will pay you better and provide better benefits. Explorica needs to do something to set themselves apart. If you are applying for a sales position BE PREPARE TO COLD CALL. They will push you to call 100+ people a day. Mostly school secretaries, who they expect you to coerce to get name of potential teacher that travels. They can be very rude, so be prepared to get hung up on. They were recently acquired by a bigger company and while that offers some great things, like better benefits (which still aren't that great) it took away their identity and they just don't know what they are anymore. The benefits: I assume most people talking about the great benefits are still on their parents insurance because the health plan is a joke. You do get decent PTO but still not great and yes you can take a lot of time off during the summer but it's unpaid (and you will want to because it is sloooow) The work is uneven, people say the "on" season is busy, but that's only compared to the summers where you literally want to face palm your desk out of boredom. Considering the point of working sales is commission, this is very frustrating. The office is in a convenient location, but they refuse to invest in anything. There aren't even enough supplies to go around, the office badly needs repairs, the break room is gross, there isn't even a conference room to hold everyone. I know open floor plans are all the rage but they really aren't working in the space. There are no weekly happy hours. Don't believe that, it's a lie! My manager once slammed a six pack down on my desk, that's the "happiest" it got. Morale seems super low and unprofessionalism runs rampant. This is partially due to the young crowd, but mostly due to the managerial dynamic. I'm not sure what it takes to be a lead or manager there but interpersonal skills apparently isn't a requirement. I've seen people bullied, managers get into cat fights, I've even had them refuse to answer my questions but they do control the leads you get so be prepared to shamelessly brown nose.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2017-02-01
  6. "Tour Director Operations Intern in London, UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Explorica

    Pros

    Insight into tour operating practices Friendly work environment Welcoming colleagues

    Cons

    Very small department Peak and low seasons Low compensation for interns

    Explorica2016-11-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Great People, Great Office Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica for more than a year

    Pros

    They've built a great company culture over the past few years. It's a very laid back atmosphere and you're empowered to work at your own pace/style. People are very helpful and encouraging when you first start. Summers are very laid back.

    Cons

    It can get very busy during the school year but that's offset by the relaxed summer when you're encouraged to take PTO and travel. .

    Continue reading
    Explorica2016-08-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Work here! You will love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Business Development Dean in Winthrop, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company believes in it's people and it's mission. Great collaborative environment where everyone really can make a difference

    Cons

    Weekly Happy Hours could use a little food with the spirits.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2016-02-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica

    Pros

    Explorica has a fun and relaxed work atmosphere, and great work/life balance. Great management that recognizes and rewards hard work. There are great travel opportunities and a lot of PTO. Easy and relaxed summers where you are encouraged to travel. I actually like coming to work every day!

    Cons

    The sales process can be difficult for some to grasp, but there is always support if you ask for it.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2016-01-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great management, fun work environment and plenty of room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a startup-like environment in the sense that roles are very fluid and everyone wears many hats. Management is involved in the daily operations of the foot soldiers (and isn't above getting their hands dirty to do what needs to be done), and at the other end of the spectrum, even entry level employees are empowered to contribute to high-level projects -- people are qualified by their ambition and capacity, not just their title or years of experience. Also, the company really "walks the walk" with regard to encouraging and giving PTO time for travel. Employees are given a free tour after their second year, and no one scoffs at you for actually taking your vacation time. Everyone here loves to travel, and expert advice about where to go and what to see is never more than a few steps away!

    Cons

    Busy times are seasonal and concentrated into a few short weeks in the fall and winter. While this makes for some intense times, it also creates some fairly open times when you can schedule and count on having the time to take PTO.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2015-09-10
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Fun company, a good fit for young and high-energy people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing perks like free travel and company outings -Calm, quiet summers and a management who likes their employees to travel means lots of opportunity for vacation time in the summer -Flexible hours, as long as you produce you can basically set your own schedule -Casual attire - you don't need to buy a whole new wardrobe! -Young staff, which can make for a really fun work environment

    Cons

    -Young staff, which can also make for a somewhat less professional environment -Low pay for your first season, building the skills you need to make commission is a rough process for some -Not a lot of room for growth or increase in responsibility, and despite being a relatively young and small company a surprising resistance to change and new ideas -High turnover, which can be unsettling

    Continue reading
    Explorica2015-05-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 56 reviews