Explorica Reviews | Glassdoor

Explorica Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Explorica CEO  Matt Wertz (no image)
Matt Wertz
30 Ratings
  1. "Fun, growing, young yet established company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Experience Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free travel opportunities, work/life balance, lots of flexibility, ability to earn seniority & trust through your results, unlimited earning potential (more than doubled my income in 4 to 5 years)

    Cons

    Could improve long-term career path programs & on-going training opportunities

    Explorica2015-05-28
  2. "Fun First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Explorica is an amazing place to begin a career in sales after college. It's fun and a young environment with plenty of happy hour's and great travel benefits. Easy to find friends and have a good time. If you're good at your job it also makes the day to day more positive.

    Cons

    Lots of one time solutions, no real chance of advancement after a certain point. Sales can be a little repetitive after a while.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2015-05-06
  3. "Fun place to work, great people, good travel opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Explorica offers a fun, young environment; close contact to executive team; great travel opportunities; generous PTO, & solid benefits. Sales seasons (fall & spring) are very busy and sometimes stressful, but hard work during the year pays off with quiet and short summers!

    Cons

    relatively flat organizational structure creates less opportunity for advancement in responsibilities; management not always willing to examine and improve inefficient systems/processes but rather solve with "band-aids" and one-off's.

    Explorica2015-05-05
  4. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Experience Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    This is a fun company to work for, especially if you are interested in travel. There are some nice perks like free trips, company happy hours, and flexible hours. Its a company full of young people which can be lots of fun at times.

    Cons

    Job can be very stressful depending on your position and the time of year. Sometimes you end up working 10+ hours in a day. Any changes come about very slowly, so you don't see immediate action on suggestions you offer. There is definitely a fair amount of turnover.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2015-05-05
  5. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, great PTO, international travel

    Cons

    Wish there was a form of profit sharing

    Explorica2015-05-04
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Explorica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team players are great people.

    Cons

    Upper management is only worried about the bottom line, their HR is a disaster, the job is underpaid, the sales team is a constantly revolving door, etc.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2014-11-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I love my coworkers and manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is fun and exciting. My co-workers are fun to be around and we often do things together outside of work. Job can be hard at times but perks make it worth it (travel). Office is also located right downtown! Not sure if I want a career in sales but its a great place to be while I figure that out. Managers and HR are supportive. The CEO is a nice guy and isn't like a "stuck up" CEO type

    Cons

    Pay could be better, but its average..you can make commissions in sales. You might see a roach but its probably from McDonald's next door. Wish we got discounts on travel stuff (flights, hotels, cars etc)

    Continue reading
    Explorica2014-09-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Work Hard, Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Explorica full-time

    Pros

    Work with fun and interesting people, inspire a broad worldview in young minds, see the world, and receive great benefits - all while working in a convenient downtown location.

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid, under appreciated, difficult to fill in the gaps for turnover, increased job responsibility does not yield an increase in pay, not a lot of profit to share, tight working quarters, cockroaches in the building.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2014-01-03
  9. "Seriously improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Building relationships with teachers and selling a product that really changes people. -Flexible work schedule -Great people to work around -Working here has gotten a lot better over time. Management is doing a better job hiring the right people.

    Cons

    -Not a lot of career advancement or opportunity to move around internally. -Hitting sales goals and forecasting is hard since you are selling to a third party.

    Continue reading
    Explorica2013-09-19
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Explorica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of good people Fun culture Get to travel Tons of vacation days

    Cons

    Communication could be better across departments/offices

    Continue reading
    Explorica2013-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 56 reviews