Express Locations Reviews | Glassdoor

Express Locations Reviews

Updated September 6, 2017
69 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Todd Heiner
12 Ratings

69 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Family feel to the company, owners that listen, advancement opportunities, good compensation, and quality of life (in 5 reviews)

  • I was promoted after only 6 months to Store Manager at a brand new T-Mobile retail store (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • This leads to long hours, excessive micro managing, and more stress than the job is worth (in 8 reviews)

  • Upper Management rules by fear (2014-2016) (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Express Locations full-time

    Pros

    Very Competitive income, especially for someone just getting into the work field.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks proper training for store level employees

    Advice to Management

    Set better parameters with your store managers on expectations.

    Express Locations Response

    Sep 6, 2017

    Thank you for your recommendation of Express Locations. We take pride in our employees and provide a collaborative arena of unity to promote greater customer service and a positive work environment.


  2. "Good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Express Locations full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can tell that the owners want us to make money

    Cons

    Retail and having hollidays to work

    Express Locations Response

    Sep 6, 2017

    We appreciate your feedback. A significant characteristic about Express Locations is the Owner's direct involvement with Company operations which sets our company apart in the wireless industry. Our... More

  3. "NO Loyalty towards long time employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Express Locations full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Potential to make good commission if you work in a high volume store.

    Cons

    High stress. You are required to "hit the number regardless of circumstances". While the company stresses integrity, they turn a blind eye to shady sales practices and this is actually encouraged by upper management. The sales compensation plan has changed significantly over the years and it seems like they are always making it harder to earn commission.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to ALL of your employees. Don't play favorites. There's a reason certain stores have such a high turnover rate. Your sales associates shouldn't know more than your managers, nor should they be required to train them. Show some respect and loyalty to long term employees.


  4. "If you're new to wireless, you might like it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Express Locations full-time

    Pros

    meet fun people, 'benefits' after 3 months, flexible scheduling only if you're staffed enough, management seem fun

    Cons

    the compensation is completely twisted and shows how much the company pockets while throwing you a chicken bone IF you hit all tiers, unethical practices encouraged (ex: someone comes in for a warranty for a high-end phone, and your manager expects you to sell them into a lesser model phone which WILL come back to haunt you, everytime), only care about throwing spaghetti at the wall and they don't care about the repercussions because you are the one that gets hit with a chargeback, not them, ridiculous ways for them to hold money from you (EX: every time ANYONE walks through the door -employees included- counts as a potential sale which can have your pay docked if you have big families walk in and out, which happens often), slow T-mobile systems and having to call outsourced people to do something that should be easily done on the computer in front of you.

    Advice to Management

    Start looking into the customer feedback on your store, stop encouraging shady sales and take care of issues at hand instead of running from the problem expecting it to disappear.

    Express Locations Response

    Sep 6, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. Express Locations is built on integrity and in no way contributes or encourages to any sales model outside of strict T-Mobile procedures. It has always been our practice... More


  5. "Good Money, but lack of Management and Quality Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Express Locations full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Well put together onboarding and training
    - Competitive Compensation

    Cons

    - Stressful environment/culture
    - Upper Management rules by fear (2014-2016)

    Advice to Management

    Seek first to serve. Upper Management needs to invest time into building managers up, not only on the sales and operations, but most importantly on leadership and core values. Express Locations has solid core values and systems on paper, but properly implementing them is a different story. Build your people and your people will build your business.


  6. "Awesome culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Express Locations full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Commission with no caps, competitive, fun, great culture, executives care about their employees Quality of Life, rewards, bonuses, etc.

    Cons

    long hours sometimes but it can be worth it, short staffing and/or turnover possible

    Advice to Management

    Make commission compensation plans what it once was

    Express Locations Response

    Jun 2, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. Employees at Express are happy because they are the heart of our business. We take pride in consistently educating, coaching, and nurturing our staff to reflect our... More


  7. "Horrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You get a discount on T-Mobile Price Plans. You get to sell T-Mobile Technology. Commission can be good if you are in the right store.

    Cons

    Horrible Leadership. The store managers hold the weight of this company on their shoulders. Constantly understaffed. Upper Management constantly disrupts momentum. If you work in slow store, pay is horrible. Do yourself a favor, visit a store and ask the employees what they think.

    Advice to Management

    Im so glad we got bought out by another company. Hopefully the culture will improve going forward.

    Express Locations Response

    Jun 2, 2017

    Thank you for your input. Express works very hard to establish strong leadership and foster effective ways to develop a fun and rewarding work environment. Staffing and skilled upper management is... More

  8. "Retail Sales Associate (Express Locations LLC)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Express Locations full-time

    Pros

    Great culture tenants, was a decent commission structure.

    Cons

    Lack of integrity, Made it almost impossible to receive corporate like answers. Commission structure fluctuated like no other.

    Express Locations Response

    May 8, 2017

    Thank you for your input. Express Locations, like any wireless company must juggle commissions. The structure does have a tendency to change however, as part of our culture, we try to prepare our... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Express locations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Boise, ID
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Express Locations full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great pay great owners was treated vary well. This company really values there employees love the inventive trips. Have loved seeing this company grow

    Cons

    Lots of favoritism and now the company is selling out to a bigger dealer. But the change should be a good thing. A lot of the financial responsibility falling on management and reps for a bad inventory system

    Express Locations Response

    Mar 15, 2017

    Thank you for your review. As one of T-Mobile's largest branded partners, Express Locations puts their stock into it's sales employees as they are the backbone of our business. The owners are... More


  10. "Great places to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Draper, UT
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Express Locations full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great growth opportunity and compensation structure work hard and the reward can be very significant this is a promote within company

    Cons

    Work life balance high turn over and the inability to train quickly enough before creating a poor work place as well as trying to coach and train to the changes that come within the wireless industry

    Express Locations Response

    Apr 3, 2017

    Thank you for your response. Express integrates training as a high-level priority to promote knowledge of sales, customer awareness, and operations.


Showing 69 of 69 reviews
Reset Filters