Cover image for ExpressJet Airlines
Logo

ExpressJet Airlines

Is this your company?

ExpressJet Airlines

Add a Review

ExpressJet Airlines Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Dec 5, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 796 of over 797 reviews
3.5
45% Recommend to a Friend
38% Approve of CEO

Found 151 of over 797 reviews

3.5
45%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
ExpressJet Airlines Chairman and CEO Subodh Karnik (no image)
Subodh Karnik
126 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "at the time they had great flight benefits with both united and delta.(in 71 reviews)
  • "Great People (Flight Attendant) wise some of the best personalities and hardest workers in the airline industry.(in 56 reviews)
  • "Good benefit with other companies(in 45 reviews)
  • "Great work rules and training.(in 26 reviews)
  • "Great travel benefits until you realize all the planes are full and you never get a seat to go anywhere.(in 20 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ExpressJet Airlines and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Airline

    Dec 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    They have Low pay for employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of work for low pay

    Sep 24, 2021 - Procurement Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees are great and like family

    Cons

    Hard to move up, pretty low pay for the amount of work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the ExpressJet Airlines team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Chose wisely

    Dec 5, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel to good destination. Meet many new people and never the same day

    Cons

    Low pay and not reliable

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Company closed doesn't matter

    Feb 18, 2021 - HUB Performance Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers were some of the best you could find

    Cons

    Low pay, management did not care about their people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    captain

    Jan 20, 2021 - Airline Pilot in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ..good work schedule good people to work with

    Cons

    low pay compare to other companys

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    FA starting point

    Mar 6, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworker, lots of travel

    Cons

    Very Low Pay, No room for grow, budget airline

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Only good to get your foot in the door

    Aug 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Live action airline experience, hands on aircraft experience

    Cons

    low pay, management wants everyone to work with one hand tied behind their back, Union workers make it harder to accomplish anything

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A company that helps their employees.

    Nov 12, 2015 - Airline First Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have found XJT to be a helpful company with training, doing what it takes to get you full trained and ready to pass your type ride and fly the line. It surprised me at first but was very glad for it. XJT then did something for me that impressed me more than most companies have in a long time. They treated me like a person. I was based in Detroit. My Mom was diagnosed with cancer and not long after my father passed away unexpectedly. Though I did not have the seniority to bid back to Atlanta yet (where my family is) the company went well out of their way to get me back to my family so I could take care of my Mom. It was a huge step and not one that benefitted the company other than to help an employee. That isn't something you see often anymore in these times of "its about the corporate dollar". Very refreshing and truly like a family.

    Cons

    Like all regionals the starting pay is low, so far that is all I can say that I wish I could change.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good People, Not as Good a Company

    Jun 8, 2015 -  in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people. Great positive energy! Although the company is big there's a lot of a family-like atmosphere. I still keep in touch with some of my co-workers. Many people were very supportive and cared about each other. The benefit package is also good -- insurance is cheaper than other places and coverage is more comprehensive than insurance offered by other companies.

    Cons

    The company does whatever they want with you. Just because you're hired as one thing doesn't mean you'll end up in that department. You have minimal control over your life and job. You may get a lot of overtime, but chances are it's doing something that you don't want to be doing. Also, kiss sleep and work-life balance goodbye. The company breeds workaholism into many of its employees, taking advantage of good, hardworking people who will do whatever they can to make it in their careers. Also the pay is low compared to other regional airlines. There are other companies with good people who treat their employees much better. I would not recommend ExpressJet.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Favoritism

    Mar 11, 2016 - Administrator in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The flight benefits can be considered a pro and a con it is a pro because it doesn't cost much for employees to fly the con is we fly standby and we come last to every company

    Cons

    Poor management Promotion and career movement is based on favoritism or who you know Coworkers will throw you under the bus to try and get ahead also we are supposed to be a team Many people are in positions and they are not qualified for the position they are in Employees cannot take complaints to management because they do not know who are friends with whom some people in management make mistakes that can ruin the company however they know many people and other department so positions are created for employees who mess up Employees can easily get other employees fired by putting false statements and Management's ear and brown nosing Low pay Custodians do not clean well in office area above hangar

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 151 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with ExpressJet Airlines Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ExpressJet Airlines? Share Your Experiences

ExpressJet Airlines logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

ExpressJet Airlines Photos

+ Add Photo
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: ExpressJet Branded Plane
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: ExpressJet operates schedules flights to more than 180 airports in the U.S., Canada, Caribbean and Mexico.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: ExpressJet delivers superior customer service.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: EPIC Ambassadors mentor students across the country.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: Our ExpressJet maitenance crew works on an aircraft engine.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: View our CRJ900 interior.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: Our CRJ900 flight cre is ready to charter the skies.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

ExpressJet Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

United Airlines Logo
United Airlines

4.1

5,655 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 797 ExpressJet Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by ExpressJet Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if ExpressJet Airlines is right for you.