Cover image for ExpressJet Airlines
Logo

ExpressJet Airlines

Is this your company?

ExpressJet Airlines

Add a Review

ExpressJet Airlines Employee Reviews about "travel benefits"

Updated Aug 25, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 796 of over 796 reviews
3.5
45% Recommend to a Friend
38% Approve of CEO

Found 53 of over 796 reviews

3.5
45%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
ExpressJet Airlines Chairman and CEO Subodh Karnik (no image)
Subodh Karnik
126 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Flight benefits were great and convenient(in 70 reviews)
  • "Great People (Flight Attendant) wise some of the best personalities and hardest workers in the airline industry.(in 55 reviews)
  • "Good benefit with other companies(in 45 reviews)
  • "Great work rules and training.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Great travel benefits until you realize all the planes are full and you never get a seat to go anywhere.(in 24 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ExpressJet Airlines and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "travel benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Take it from a young-ish employee - ExpressJet is AWESOME!

    Apr 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm not a pilot or flight attendant, so I cannot speak to that side of the operation, but I will say that this company has a very "family" feel to it, a far cry from where it was just 4 short years ago. The leadership changes have made an incredible difference, and they've has done a tremendous job in the last two years of rallying everyone together to seek a common goal - become the best regional airline in every way. The benefits are amazing, the work/life balance is unmatched, and they truly care about your career progression. With so many changes taking place in the regional airline industry (pilot shortage, contracts with majors, reduced flying opportunities, etc.), and every employee having various needs, it's impossible to satisfy every person that walks through the doors to work for you, especially when your company employs nearly 10,000 people. But XJT does a tremendous job of looking out for your best interest while also seeing the big picture. Whether your a pilot, an FA, a mechanic, or someone working behind the scenes, this company is awesome. Will I be here forever? Probably not, but choosing to work for ExpressJet has been the best decision I could have made as I continue to build my career. And the flight benefits are simply INCREDIBLE! They're slightly different depending on what side of the operation you're on, but I have turned into a travel junkie since I was hired in 2012. Before then, I had never been West of Birmingham, Alabama. In the four years since joining ExpressJet, I have traveled the entire world for less than a week at Disney World. Hawaii, California, Germany, UK, Ireland, Belize, and dozens of other places, I've been to all of them now thanks to XJT! Being part of the airline industry is like joining this exclusive club. One Mondays, it's completely normal to overhear someone say, "We went to Paris for the weekend." or "I hopped on a flight to NYC on Saturday for a Broadway show." When it costs next to nothing to jump on a flight and get outta town, why not?! The travel benefits are, in my opinion, the BEST part of this job, and it should definitely be taken into account when you compare things like salary and time-off.

    Cons

    There are very few downsides to this company, but the one knock that it usually gets is compensation. Is it incredible? No. Is it sustainable? Depends on your position. Does it work for me? Without a doubt. I live in downtown Atlanta with my spouse, we are a one-income family at the moment, and we do just fine. Of course I'd love to make more money, but that's not as important to me as the work/life balance and travel benefits ExpressJet provides. I do wish there was a better office layout - at least in ATL. The work areas are nice, but they don't allow for any type of privacy. Departments are scattered throughout two adjacent buildings, and workspaces are set-up inefficiently, in my opinion. Cubicles galore. Huge areas that could be used for workspaces instead house old paper documents or are used as classrooms 3-4 times a year. Some cubicles are shared by multiple people every day, while others go unused for months. The building is older, and we've frankly outgrown it. HR and the People Department occupy a floor in a Regents building across the street, but their work environment is very similar, and they've even run out of room. Each building was just not set up for growth, so everything feels like a big patch-job. Not a knock on the company, per se, just an observation that I think could be improved upon.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    ExpressJet Airlines Response

    Manager - Communications & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your experience with ExpressJet! I'm glad you've enjoyed your time here, and I hope it keeps getting better. We could definitely rearrange our workspaces to be more efficient and collaborative, and I know there are projects in the works. I recommend Japan for your next trip! Courtney

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great destinations

    Aug 22, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You have travel benefits and medical, dental and vision insurance

    Cons

    Crazy hours. Be on reserve is tough

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the ExpressJet Airlines team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Overall Rating was good

    Aug 25, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flight and travel benefits, good health coverage

    Cons

    The company closed due to covid

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    I just want to look at reviews

    Mar 11, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free travel, benefits, customer service

    Cons

    Furloughed, pay isn’t the best

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company... while it lasted

    Sep 17, 2020 - Flight Atttendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, including medical, dental and life insurance. Travel Benefits.

    Cons

    Having to be away from home for days at a time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good for starting

    Jun 11, 2015 - Aircraft Mechanic in Shreveport, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Okay flight/travel benefits, 401k, very good health benefits, will hire mechanics right out of school, you don't get stuck doing only one certain job, 4 days on and 3 days off for a work week, you usually get pretty good overtime if you need it, you can move/transfer to many different cities in the U.S., sick and vacation time accumulation, paid holidays.

    Cons

    Management isn't always the greatest; there is a lot of talk of how the company is going downhill but that has been going on for a while. There is a union which isn't bad if thats what you want but they are not very effective at all. The last time pay was negotiated, it was lowered instead of raised. Pay overall at this company is okay for starting out but after a year or two pay is horrible for the experience level you reach. There is a very high turn-over rate although this could be a pro because you can jump up in seniority quickly.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Management lies

    Oct 24, 2016 - First Officer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Still getting a paycheck for now. It is getting smaller by the year though. Great travel benefits until you realize all the planes are full and you never get a seat to go anywhere. They give out different flavors of koolaid and not just the cherry one.

    Cons

    No pay raise since our contract in 2007. We took a pay cut in 08. Pilots hired today will never see the CA side of the aircraft. Most new hires will be on reserve for years. The recruiting department says we have the "industry leading compensation" when they fail to mention that other airlines will be paying you CA pay after a year or two and they fail to mention how much more money you would be making at other airlines. ExpressJet pay for a first officer is 33,300 for the first year. Others are paying almost 60,000. Company lies to its employees about how they are shutting down the airline and moving all the jobs over to its parent company of Skywest.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Flight Attendant

    Oct 24, 2015 - Flight Attendant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel benefits; health benefits; many other benefits; potential to grow (join union groups and be a representative; become an instructor and teach new flight attendants; get promoted to supervisor, among other positions)

    Cons

    Lack of control over schedule -working weekends, evenings, and many holidays; long hours; management not always considerate; contract easily manipulated to make flight attendants work longer/more days than anticipated; takes much longer than promised in training to gain seniority

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ExpressJet Airlines Response

    Manager - Communications & Culture

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I have every confidence that things have improved since you left as far as management and safety. Because our industry is based on seniority, newer crew members aren't going to have as much control over their schedule as they'd like, but it'll improve with time as you become more senior. Courtney

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Was once a good airline (before Skywest aquired and merged with ASA)

    Jun 10, 2013 - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel Benefits are good.If you like working alone, being a flight attendant for this airline would be good for you. Great crews to work with. CEO Brad Holt will respond to you quickly if needed.

    Cons

    Scheduling/management disregard union contracts no matter what. Most supervisors are unavailable and unapproachable. In recent times company seems to not care about employees at all. Payroll constantly screwing up paychecks with no explanation.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worked for Express Jet out of Houston, TX

    Aug 22, 2013 - Flight Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel benefits are good. Medical benefits are awesome! Overnight hotels are nice. Starting pay is high compared to other airlines. If you are going to work for Express Jet and want the better pay work for the United side. If you want the better travel benefits work for the Delta side. The airline people are like family. If you don't already have a network of friends and family you will find one here. This job will give you a new life or a life if you don't already have one. The life you had before this job you will have little time for after you get this job.

    Cons

    The hours when you are on reserve are tough! Long days, little sleep, no time to eat. You are on call for 24 hours 20 days out of the month. Must be able to report in 2.5 hours. I spent up to 8 hours between flights due to weather just hanging out at small airports with little to choose from to eat only to fly two more legs and have an 8.5 hour layover. Shuttles to the hotels are sometimes a 1/2 hour ride both ways so you end up with 7.5 hours at your hotel before you do it all over again the next day. It's not always like that but many times. I found my personal supervisor unapproachable and seldom did she help me with anything. I would have to find another supervisor who would help. So if you divide the amount of time you have to be available by the amount of money you actually get paid you are not making much at all. Oh and reserves... you will be there for a long time...like several years Don't commute to your job! Live in the city you are based out of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with ExpressJet Airlines Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ExpressJet Airlines? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

ExpressJet Airlines Photos

+ Add Photo
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: ExpressJet Branded Plane
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: ExpressJet operates schedules flights to more than 180 airports in the U.S., Canada, Caribbean and Mexico.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: ExpressJet delivers superior customer service.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: EPIC Ambassadors mentor students across the country.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: Our ExpressJet maitenance crew works on an aircraft engine.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: View our CRJ900 interior.
ExpressJet Airlines photo of: Our CRJ900 flight cre is ready to charter the skies.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

ExpressJet Airlines Job Seekers Also Viewed

United Airlines Logo
United Airlines

4.1

5,634 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 796 ExpressJet Airlines reviews submitted anonymously by ExpressJet Airlines employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if ExpressJet Airlines is right for you.