Extend-A-Care for Kids Group Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

Extend-A-Care for Kids Group Leader Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Extend-A-Care for Kids CEO Joan Altobelli
Joan Altobelli
3 Ratings
  1. "Best ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With transitioning from AS to summer camp you get to meet so many different kids & it’s like making new friends!

    Cons

    The kids do really like going to the pool & the kids feel we have a short time at the pool so, I would say maybe lengthen pool time or opt to 2 times out of the week?

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-07-22

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    July 26, 2019Executive Director

    Hello! Thanks for reviewing Extend-A-Care for Kids and for your positive and informative review. We will look at the calendar next summer and see if we can expand the swim time. We now have an additional bus, so we may be able to expand the schedule. Love your input. Have a great ...

    Show More
  2. "Best company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Group Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working 2-6:30, great for college kids

    Cons

    None, Ive worked for three years. Loved it

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-01-16

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    March 8, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for the great review. We are working hard to keep improving the work environment with new staff development, bonuses, and creative activities for the kids. Let me know if you think of anything else we can do. I'm proud to know you are having a good experience with us. ...

    Show More
  3. "Group Lader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't weekends and they are flexible with your schedule. Good job if you're in college. They train you well! The kids can be a lot of fun sometimes and sometimes bring a really fun memories. Easy to get the hang of if you enjoy kids. Other staff are typically really friendly and easy to get along with. They often have your back. You can move up if you do a good job and stick with it a while.

    Cons

    Not a lot of hours cause shifts are 2pm-6pm unless you work summers or school breaks then you get a ton of hours. Kids can be a pain sometimes, not the employer's fault it's just the nature of the job.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2018-07-06

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Thank you for recommending the job at EAC. We appreciate your perception of the job and the embedded issues related to hours and working with kids. We will continue to try new improvements to the benefits and hours for our employees. Let me know if you have any ideas at jaltobelli@eackids.org. ...

    Show More
  4. "The school I had was very challenging, as I was expecting I asked for help never got any."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Off when kids are off, have time for family friends and school. Paid training. Cpr first aid certified. Work with great coworkers

    Cons

    No overtime, limit to less than 4 hours a day, bi weekly pay. Challenging parents& kids at the school I worked with, no one helped

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2017-05-16

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Thank you for taking the time to comment on your job at EAC. I am disappointed that you did not feel supported by the chain of command in place to help center staff. I will work on this issue and hope you will make any suggestions on how we can improve. My email address is jaltobelli@eackids.org. ...

    Show More
  5. "Bad management, EXTREMELY stressful, physically overworked, inconsistent groups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, CPR and first AID certification, increased ability to deal with stress, increased ability to handle multiple children at a time, increased ability to handle children with violent tendencies

    Cons

    Overworked physically during cleanup to the point of exhaustion; unable to do anything else that day. I've almost collapsed several times. My boss never responds to me and I've set up a phone appointment with her (where she set the time) and she didn't answer me and never got back to me. I've had anxiety attacks before, cried AT LEAST once a week, had to change groups almost daily and gone over the state ratio limit..., never mind the EAC limit. There are children who really don't belong in a group setting because they need constant one-on-one time and that is not something a group leader is able to provide. At one point, I was concerned for the safety of a family member due to an event a couple hours prior as well as having not eaten and being severely sleep deprived, and my CS took a child away to see if I would notice. Of course I should've noticed; that was entirely on me. I understand how essential it is that I notice these things. When I was asked about it by the CS, though ("where's ______?") they said that they took the child away to "teach me a lesson". They said that they hoped I would notice and freak out. This course of action had and continues to have a severe effect on my mental and emotional health. I am no longer comfortable working under this person, I'm sorry to say. Overall, working here, at least these last few months (the first few were wonderful) has caused me genuine harm and I feel others should be aware of that before choosing to work here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    CSes need to know more than just how to deal with children and parents. They need sensitivity training for their employees, too. People don't have infinite stamina, and it's unfair and unkind to do what was described above. Additionally, if you truly want EAC employees to blend in with school staff, don't force them to wear uncomfortable, insulating, unflattering, unprofessional looking shirts. It makes us look... like secondary employees rather than more professional ones.

    Show More
    Extend-A-Care for Kids2017-05-08

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Hello. Thank you for taking time to give us recommended advice on how to improve. I take seriously the support that group leaders need and I don't want anyone to feel unsupported and exhausted from the work. You have given us a lot to think about and I will share your advice with ...

    Show More
  6. "The Real Side of The Afterschool Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get a decent pay for a part-time employee at the location and flexible shifts and times for a college student. Got a good training on how to work with the students and to do other first aid and necessary care for children.

    Cons

    I cannot visit the children that I once taken care of over there and there are some group leaders that just cannot take good care of the children like myself. There are times there are disagreements with how one teaches with the students to the point that you can risk yourself getting fired by the employer if you are not careful with your teaching philosophy (just like other public school systems where you are... supposed to do what you are supposed to do or risk getting in trouble just like the bored students themselves). There is lack of flexibility in trying different ways to teach young children about the subject that they are interested in and some of them lost interest because they have been pushed to learn the curriculum that makes them score high on the TAKS test rather than doing activities that matters to them most.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow the children some freedom to experiment with learning and do the same with your employees that have skills in teaching or creative in it. If you train your employees to become good teacher, then let them do their things as long as they are not violating the school's property. Children need more free time and individual time to learn about themselves and others, not just learning a curriculum that will prepare... them for a standardized test.

    Show More
    Extend-A-Care for Kids2015-12-04

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 20, 2016Human Resources

    We're glad you had great relationships with the students, however we cannot allow unauthorized people on school campuses for the safety of the children. Thank you for the feedback.

  7. "Great for College students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Extend-A-Care for Kids for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great job for a college student wanting to get a little bit of money and also gain some experience with children.

    Cons

    They can be pushy, I tried to leave this company several times and they were very adamant to keep me.

    Advice to Management

    Be more wary of the college students that you do hire within these programs.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2015-07-29

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Hello and Thank you for your positive recommendation for work at EAC. I take your advice very seriously and will plan improvements to our screening process and attempts at keeping good employees on the job. If you have more details or advice, shoot me an email at jaltobelli@eackids.org. ...

    Show More
  8. "Group Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with kids that come from diverse back grounds. Working with kids that are very motivated to become successful and are excited about learning. Working with kids that have some special needs.

    Cons

    Part time pay is very low for the position, there are zero benefits, and management does not provide adequate or age appropriate curriculum or materials for all groups.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2015-07-22

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 20, 2016Human Resources

    We agree with you - the kids are the best part of the job! Extend-A-Care offers raises for college course work and training hours, tuition reimbursement, attendance bonuses, recruiting bonuses and of course, weekends off! Thanks for the feedback.

  9. "One of the few best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun children and the management team is very supportive of the work environment

    Cons

    The amount of hours worked and the pay for the organization

    Advice to Management

    I definitely will continue to work with Extend-A-Care again if I happen to be unemployed. This place although some of the supervisors in the centers don't always know how to work with children's misbehaviors, I definitely enjoying the fact that children came here with smiles.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2015-02-18

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation of employment at EAC. We have had a series of pay raises and benefits at the company since 2015. I would love to hear more ideas or advice if you have them. Email me at jaltobelli@eackids.org. I hope you will join us in the 50th ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good for gaining experience, company could be more organized."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for gaining experience, pay not bad for an after school program. Good opportunities for moving up.

    Cons

    Co workers at one school were great team players and well organized, however, there was not much consistency when going to another Elementary school. Many other group leaders did not seem to care about the children and simply screamed at them most of the time. They did not encourage the children to see other's perspectives when there was conflict.

    Advice to Management

    Strive to keep conditions more uniform across different elementary schools. Have more comprehensive training in dealing with behavioral problems with students.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2014-09-06
Found 11 reviews