Extend-A-Care for Kids Reviews | Glassdoor

Extend-A-Care for Kids Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Extend-A-Care for Kids CEO Joan Altobelli
Joan Altobelli
8 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible and understanding directors. There is a clear and easy leadership ladder that can ear you more responsibility and pay. All the requirements for the job are taught in training, along with EAC providing all the materials you need to be successful. Love working for this company.

    Cons

    Limited hours available because it is in the afterschool setting. But there are locations all over Hays, Austin and Del Valle.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-06-22

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    July 1, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for your recent review on Glassdoor and for your longtime employment with EAC! Ask you director about additional hours, we sometimes have some work in the business office that can add hours to your week. Three years with the company is commendable and we appreciate your dedication to the organization. Kind Regards, Joan

    Continue reading
  2. "Best ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With transitioning from AS to summer camp you get to meet so many different kids & it’s like making new friends!

    Cons

    The kids do really like going to the pool & the kids feel we have a short time at the pool so, I would say maybe lengthen pool time or opt to 2 times out of the week?

    Continue reading
    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-07-22

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    July 26, 2019Executive Director

    Hello! Thanks for reviewing Extend-A-Care for Kids and for your positive and informative review. We will look at the calendar next summer and see if we can expand the swim time. We now have an additional bus, so we may be able to expand the schedule. Love your input. Have a great end-of-the summer experience at EAC. Kindest regards, Joan Altobelli, PhD Executive Director

    Continue reading
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are very structure.

    Cons

    You made have to work till 7 pm. If parents do not pick up their kids in time.

    Continue reading
    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-07-21

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    July 26, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for you review of Extend-A-Care and for your 5+-years of dedicated service! You are building a legacy in the community with the children and families. Let us know if we can help in any way. Kind regards, Joan Altobelli, PhD - Executive Director

    Continue reading
  4. "Best job i've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Center Supervisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Weekends off Lots of paid training and great hours Very flexable Recruiting bonuses

    Cons

    Not very much over time

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-07-19

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    July 26, 2019Executive Director

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to review Extend-A-Care for Kids at Glassdoor! We appreciate your positive feedback and long-term dedication to the organization. I am proud of your 5+ years of service. Check with your Director about more hours, if you want them. We sometimes have work at the Business Office that we hire center staff to prepare for the school year or make materials for the centers. Thanks again. Best wishes, Joan Altobelli, PhD, Executive Director

    Continue reading
  5. "CS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Center Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time

    Pros

    Relationships with Kiddos was gratifying

    Cons

    Not enough support from directors

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-01-31

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    March 8, 2019Executive Director

    Thanks so much for the review. We would love to give more support in areas of need. Please contact me, if you have specific needs or if we can do anything to improve your work environment at EAC. I'd love to talk with you about it. I am determined to improve the company with help from the center team members advising me. Kindly, Dr. Joan Altobelli Executive Director

    Continue reading
  6. "Best company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Group Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working 2-6:30, great for college kids

    Cons

    None, Ive worked for three years. Loved it

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2019-01-16

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    March 8, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for the great review. We are working hard to keep improving the work environment with new staff development, bonuses, and creative activities for the kids. Let me know if you think of anything else we can do. I'm proud to know you are having a good experience with us. With kind regards, Dr. Joan Altobelli Executive Director

    Continue reading
  7. "Group Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Care Counselor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours are convenient for a college student. The work isn’t hard especially if you enjoy re directing kids all day and staff are laid back. Your get your weekends off

    Cons

    short hours. Sometimes you have to travel to different schools.

    Continue reading
    Extend-A-Care for Kids2018-10-25

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    March 8, 2019Executive Director

    We do value our team members! I love sending out little gifts for staff on holidays and setting up new ways to give bonuses with recruiting, tuition reimbursement program, wellness and other ways to earn additional cash. Thanks for taking the time to weigh in on Glassdoor. Joan Altobelli

    Continue reading
  8. "Good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room for advancement Pretty flexible with scheduling Weekends off Bonuses for referrals Paid sick time

    Cons

    No guaranteed hours Management picks favorites/unprofessional High employee turnover rate No help from upper management Short staffed almost all the time Can be stressful No breaks

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2018-08-23

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Thank you for your recommendation for employment on Glassdoor. We are continuously trying to improve our retention rates with pay raises and benefits that include tuition reimbursement program and bonuses for returning and recruiting new employees. It is difficult when we have mostly college students whose schedules change each semester. I will work on the list of needed improvements that you listed here. Let me know if there is something I can do to help right now. My email address is jaltobelli@eackids.org. Kind regards, Dr. Joan Altobelli Executive Director

    Continue reading
  9. "Group Lader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't weekends and they are flexible with your schedule. Good job if you're in college. They train you well! The kids can be a lot of fun sometimes and sometimes bring a really fun memories. Easy to get the hang of if you enjoy kids. Other staff are typically really friendly and easy to get along with. They often have your back. You can move up if you do a good job and stick with it a while.

    Cons

    Not a lot of hours cause shifts are 2pm-6pm unless you work summers or school breaks then you get a ton of hours. Kids can be a pain sometimes, not the employer's fault it's just the nature of the job.

    Extend-A-Care for Kids2018-07-06

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Thank you for recommending the job at EAC. We appreciate your perception of the job and the embedded issues related to hours and working with kids. We will continue to try new improvements to the benefits and hours for our employees. Let me know if you have any ideas at jaltobelli@eackids.org. Thanks for commenting on Glassdoor. Kind regards, Dr. Joan Altobelli Executive Director

    Continue reading
  10. "Extend A Care is Worth Your While"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extend-A-Care for Kids part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Valued like no other workplace. It's the little things that make a difference. Great System Parents of the program really appreciate what we do Great training program

    Cons

    Low weekly hours Raise annually Low staff rate sometimes, child care is tough when out of ratio day to day can be exhausting

    Continue reading
    Extend-A-Care for Kids2017-10-28

    Extend-A-Care for Kids Response

    September 12, 2018Executive Director

    Thank you for your positive review as an employee at EAC! The job can be rewarding and challenging at the same time, we do appreciate all you do for kids and families. Kind regards, Dr. Joan Altobelli Executive Director

    Continue reading
Found 28 reviews