Exterran Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineer

Exterran Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Exterran CEO Andrew J. Way
Andrew J. Way
5 Ratings
  1. "Good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family oriented. Feels like a family. Someone is always willing to help.

    Cons

    You need to know your stuff if you want to make it here...other than that...I've got nothing to add.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Exterran2014-05-20
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran

    Pros

    You don't realize how nice the work-life balance is at Exterran until you go somewhere else. I think the company does a great job in treating their employees well and developing engineers.

    Cons

    While other companies might send you to New York or Chicago for work, Exterran will send you to Midland, TX.

    Exterran2011-11-30
  3. "Great experience for entry level engineers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran

    Pros

    The domestic and international experience is probably the best reason to work for Exterran. Don't expect much of an offer though. I would recommend entry level engineers to work for a couple of years there. After a couple of years, I would recommend taking your valuable experience else where.

    Cons

    Low pay and raises where always an bummer. The buddy buddy management is scary.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your employees.

    Exterran2008-08-15
  4. "Planning Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planning Engineer in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Excellent work culture & very good detail-oriented approach aimed at on-time completion of project.

    Cons

    - Project based company, Exterran closed the Tank Farm division since not meet the profit upto their mark.

    Advice to Management

    - Nil

    Exterran2018-08-20
  5. "Good People. Honest, Responsible and Ethical approach to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Sharjah
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Cares about Employees as much as practically possible. - Professional , result oriented work culture - Multi cultural and accepting environment. -Strong technical teams and people to work with and learn from. -Appreciative and encouraging management.

    Cons

    Not much other than location is far from city.

    Advice to Management

    Try improving the bidding and marketing departments to make bids more competent, and get more quality work.

    Exterran2017-04-30
  6. "safety engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health and Safety Engineer in Sharjah
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exterran for more than 8 years

    Pros

    i have a vast experience of working in oil & gas sector. currently i am working on an Island called Zirrku in UAE. i feel Oil & Gas sector as a challenging where i can presume my skill up to the acceptation of Employer.

    Cons

    dont like working in building construction. i dont find it as challenging as its in Oil & gas sector has.

    Advice to Management

    as when required there will be few suggestion.

    Exterran2015-10-16
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Project Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly enivironment to work in

    Cons

    Salary is middle level but fairly well

    Advice to Management

    keep up

    Exterran2014-06-01
  8. "Sr. Rotating Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Rotating Engineer in Sharjah
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    UAE office is situated in DAFZA , Dubai. Exposure to LNG projects and compressor skid projects.

    Cons

    Belleli Energy lack in EPC Projects so less exposure.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Exterran2013-01-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Forever shooting themselves in the foot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to travel and the ability to direct your own career. Many of my work colleagues were friendly and encouraging.

    Cons

    The most disorganised company i've ever worked for. Almost zero communication between any of the sites or departments makes working completely impossible. Projects always poorly executed and never on time using the cheapest and oldest equipment. Poor/lazy process design = plenty of angry clients. This ends up costing the company a fortune in the long run just to save a few bucks in the short term. 1950s culture and terrible...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves; you are awful.

    Exterran2010-11-09
Found 19 reviews