Exterran Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Exterran Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Exterran CEO Andrew J. Way
Andrew J. Way
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Manufacturing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It feels like a new start up company with a new direction from the management. Looking to expand the company into other areas. Management are starting to listen to the employees

    Cons

    The systems are weak but I can see them trying to improve things. Years of people doing the job and then leaving have left the company learning how to do things and documenting these into real processes.

    Advice to Management

    hourly bonus reinstated

    Exterran2018-02-11
  2. "Textbook Project Management Office Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Proposal Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was great opportunity to operate in a true PMO structure within the oil and gas sector who have largely not adopted this practice. Worked with many talented individuals who were supportive team members that I still keep in touch with today.

    Cons

    We were led by unorthodox leaders, one left the organization soon after the assembly of the PMO and contract with the client, the other was terminated over a performance issue and questionable practices which led to the premature dissolution of the PMO as the client lost confidence. This left a number of employees who relocated both domestically and internationally in major bind.

    Advice to Management

    Be cautious who you allow other management to "bring in" without an objective evaluation by a multi-disciplinary team from upper-management and frontline employees. It's easier for the incumbent to misrepresent themselves as they are only accountable on paper which is easily manipulated. The buddy who brought them in, who had no intentions of remaining on board for the fall out, could care less about the aftermath which...

    Show More
    Exterran2018-06-04
  3. "Overall Company Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Materials Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Large corporation with better than average benefits

    Cons

    Too many layers in upper management

    Advice to Management

    People doing the day to day work deserve respect and consideration

    Exterran2017-11-09
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Exterran is a good company to work. They are flexible in many areas including in and out schedules and occasionally working from home.

    Cons

    There are some work redundancies because the current system does not allow users to switch from one screen to another maintaining the same information. There are also few manual processes they are currently trying to overcome.

    Advice to Management

    I believe management is moving in the correct direction, considering where the company was ten years ago.

    Exterran2017-04-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Fairfield, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran for more than 20 years

    Pros

    everyone works together for better service

    Cons

    upper got too large / got rid of experienced employees

    Advice to Management

    experience pays off

    Exterran2016-11-27
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Broken Arrow, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Fair Treatment, Good people to work for.

    Cons

    Volatile industry as the oil industry goes up and down so does the need for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Management is understanding and in tune with employee needs, doing the best they can.

    Exterran2016-05-26
  7. "Decent company to spend a few years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Promotions are available for managers that work hard and prove their value. Pay is industry standard for oil/gas. Pretty flexible schedule. Most places I was familiar with had an excellent team of coworkers

    Cons

    New upper management making a lot of changes since the company split. Silo org structure isn't very efficient and it shows in the day to day business. Normal stressful manufacturing environment.

    Exterran2015-12-07
  8. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Leaders could benefit from management training- "leaders make leaders".

    Exterran2015-12-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Allen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people that are dedicated.

    Cons

    I have never seen such a dysfunctional group of Sr. Executives in my professional career.

    Advice to Management

    Replace it.

    Exterran2015-11-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "In transition again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran

    Pros

    Established US and international market with local representative and service offices. Good products, good benefits.

    Cons

    Two major layoffs since 2009. Management still working on optimization of the structure and size. Currently is in downsizing process, which can last during 2015.

    Advice to Management

    International projects needs better quoting and scheduling. It was a good practice when a special team of experienced specialist were dealing with such projects.

    Exterran2015-07-17
Found 15 reviews