Exterran "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Exterran Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 214 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Exterran CEO Andrew J. Way
Andrew J. Way
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, salary and I enjoyed working with my co-workers(in 11 reviews)

  • "Treated as family , global leader in oil and gas compression(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many layers in upper management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Too top heavy and focused less on the employee than they should be(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Exterran Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time

    Pros

    Great compensation Good Benefits Opportunity to learn and grow

    Cons

    Lack of Work/Life balance Long term employees are not really valued

    Exterran2017-07-26
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work, when the work actually comes in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is great. Friendly people. Enough variety so you're not doing the same thing every single day. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Massive layoffs, salary freeze for two years "to prevent more layoffs" followed by - you guessed it - more layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees what they're worth. The recovery has started, and the exodus of good employees seeking higher salaries has started too.

    Exterran2016-12-27
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mail Clerk, Facilities Supervisor Lead, Facilities Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, salary and I enjoyed working with my co-workers

    Cons

    they are subject to the oil and gas market

    Exterran2016-09-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran

    Pros

    They are bigger company and have some good benefits

    Cons

    Not stable right now need to get more work

    Advice to Management

    Need to take care of employees

    Exterran2016-07-12
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Was good but not now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All these pros back to before splitting: Great and friendly environment. opportunities to learn new skills. Good benefits and health insurance.

    Cons

    After spin-off and coming new CEO to board everything was ruined. they don't even know how to run the company. Stressful work conditions with a lot of recurring changes. There is no future in this company with new management.

    Exterran2016-05-24
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Impossible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran

    Pros

    They had decent good benefits.

    Cons

    I worked at Exterran for 5 years and had 7 bosses. They do not pride in helping the right people success. I was promoted twice, but into position that they wanted me in vs. where I wanted to grow. They have constant turnover due to lack of career growth. NO work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and don't use them as pawns to track your peers movements.

    Exterran2016-04-04
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Applications Engineer Intermediate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exterran is a really good place to start out or develop an engineering career. There are plenty of opportunities to train and develop yourself. Upper management seems to be okay with pushing for training (but only when times are good). (Used to have) Good benefits

    Cons

    Top heavy - upper management get all the protection and lower level people are screwed No chance at career advancement - they always hire from the outside for top level management so forget about internal promotions (they are misinforming you if they say that you can climb the corporate ladder)

    Advice to Management

    Please learn to value the people who work for you - promote them instead of getting outside "experts"

    Exterran2016-04-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Exterran Columbus TX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Soylent Green in Alleyton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, was plenty of Overtime available. Excellent emphasis on safety.

    Cons

    Market swing due to oil prices makes things really tough. Management really puts the screws to employees. Business processes are antiquated. (Probably) like most places, management talks the talk at times but just don' "get it". Employees have heard it all before and are tired of the constant "squeeze the lemon" effect resulting from globalization.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just talk the talk...

    Exterran2016-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "In transition again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran

    Pros

    Established US and international market with local representative and service offices. Good products, good benefits.

    Cons

    Two major layoffs since 2009. Management still working on optimization of the structure and size. Currently is in downsizing process, which can last during 2015.

    Advice to Management

    International projects needs better quoting and scheduling. It was a good practice when a special team of experienced specialist were dealing with such projects.

    Exterran2015-07-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Mechanic in Harvey, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exterran for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, poor management

    Cons

    Poor management, inconsistent work

    Advice to Management

    Learn honesty.

    Exterran2015-07-20
Found 214 reviews