Exterran "oil and gas" Reviews | Glassdoor

Exterran Employee Reviews about "oil and gas"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 193 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Exterran CEO Andrew J. Way
Andrew J. Way
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, salary and I enjoyed working with my co-workers(in 11 reviews)

  • "Treated as family , global leader in oil and gas compression(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many layers in upper management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Too top heavy and focused less on the employee than they should be(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "oil and gas"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Textbook Project Management Office Structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Proposal Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was great opportunity to operate in a true PMO structure within the oil and gas sector who have largely not adopted this practice. Worked with many talented individuals who were supportive team members that I still keep in touch with today.

    Cons

    We were led by unorthodox leaders, one left the organization soon after the assembly of the PMO and contract with the client, the other was terminated over a performance issue and questionable practices which led to the premature dissolution of the PMO as the client lost confidence. This left a number of employees who relocated both domestically and internationally in major bind.

    Advice to Management

    Be cautious who you allow other management to "bring in" without an objective evaluation by a multi-disciplinary team from upper-management and frontline employees. It's easier for the incumbent to misrepresent themselves as they are only accountable on paper which is easily manipulated. The buddy who brought them in, who had no intentions of remaining on board for the fall out, could care less about the aftermath which...

    Show More
    Exterran2018-06-04
  2. "Nice Company, bad times get tougher in oil and gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers Great pay Moderately advanced technology Good training opportunities when oil is up

    Cons

    Large layoffs when oil and gas market goes down

    Exterran2017-12-08
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Managers were very good Employees helpful The company had many team building activities

    Cons

    The downturn in the oil and gas industry hurt this company and they let go of many employees that were working there for many many years.

    Exterran2017-08-13
  4. "Too Secretive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Biller 

      I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Decent pay and mostly female management.

      Cons

      Not enough insight shared from upper management to employees during oil and gas crisis.

      Exterran2017-04-17
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mail Clerk, Facilities Supervisor Lead, Facilities Supervisor in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exterran for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, salary and I enjoyed working with my co-workers

      Cons

      they are subject to the oil and gas market

      Exterran2016-09-16
    • Helpful (5)

      "A lot going no where"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exterran

      Pros

      Pay, but what oil and gas company doesn't pay well? Small company so you can see the upper management. That's about it for pros.

      Cons

      Top heavy, they don't let managers manage, nothing ever gets done because no one is held accountable, extremely poor systems, they don't want to put in the money to get the results they ask for, they don't invest into their employees, you're looked at as a head count and not a member of the overall team, upper management never accomplishes anything, managers in all disciplines are firefighters, very poor communication...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Give your managers the power to make management decisions and then hold them accountable. Stop micromanaging them and do your freaking job. Invest into your team and help them grow and be better. Stop looking at everyone as a head count.

      Exterran2016-05-17
    • "Decent company to spend a few years."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exterran full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Promotions are available for managers that work hard and prove their value. Pay is industry standard for oil/gas. Pretty flexible schedule. Most places I was familiar with had an excellent team of coworkers

      Cons

      New upper management making a lot of changes since the company split. Silo org structure isn't very efficient and it shows in the day to day business. Normal stressful manufacturing environment.

      Exterran2015-12-07
    • "Excellent company, greatly expanded my knowledge of gas compression and skid package Assembly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Assembler in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Exterran

      Pros

      Treated as family , global leader in oil and gas compression. Great place to learn and grow

      Cons

      Ups and downs of oil and gas industry

      Exterran2015-03-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not satisfied"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Exterran

      Pros

      1)opportunity to understand diferent equipments used in the oil and gas field 2)Get opportunity to work on different equipment modules.

      Cons

      1)Lots of politics 2)Not a fair compensation based on your education and professional background 3)Not good in promotion

      Advice to Management

      1)Try to increase the moral value and enthusiasm among the employees 2)Also try to give a fair compensation to your employees

      Exterran2010-10-20
    • "Tax Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Tax Specialist in Jakarta
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Exterran

      Pros

      I think Exterran is one of company a great Place to Work, career path, and have many link to big company especially in oil and gas company

      Cons

      I want the management must be open to employee, like a bonus, increase of salary, severance pay, etc.

      Advice to Management

      The Management must be open to employee

      Exterran2015-07-22
    Found 193 reviews