Extra Space Storage Property Accountant Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Property Accountant Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility in Accounting department Free drinks and snacks Supportive management Great benefits On-site gym

    Cons

    A tuition reimbursement benefit would be nice.

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-08
  2. "Stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Accountant 

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Fridge full of snacks daily

    Cons

    No career growth in department

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-01
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great company culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Property Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the flexibility and work/life balance that Extra Space provides!

    Cons

    Not as much room for growth within the accounting department.

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-08
  5. "I hope I never have to leave!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Accountant in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really have enjoyed working here at Extra Space. I love the culture and how supportive the management is. They truly want you to succeed and they will help you along the way. There is opportunity for growth. They have a lot of fun events and department activities. You can tell they care about each employee.

    Cons

    With an accounting department of nearly 90 people they need to start offering other options for working besides just on a desktop. To be competitive they need to offer more flexibility. They should allow their employees to work flex schedules and give them laptops to work from home on some days. This will also solve their issue of running out of office space. Also the benefits are expensive compared to other... places that I have worked. They should offer cheaper health insurance.

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2019-05-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Really Wanted to Love It Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Accountant 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great job and company to start out at if you just graduated and want to get into the accounting field. You gain a lot of accounting from this job.

    Cons

    I feel like the job is moving away from accounting and more of helping resolve issues at the sites. There is no growth in the company if you want to stay in accounting. No opportunity to work remotely they just keep adding more accountants and shoving us closer together. The company also strives on work and life balance, but I don't see it. If you want to learn more things you end up staying late and forget... taking more than a few days off. You will just get criticized for taking more than a day at a time off. Most people hit their accrual cap and have to take a random day off. However, it is not like the company gives any great time off benefits anyways.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really wanted to like this position and grow within the company. However, when I found out needed to change my personality in order to succeed at the company I was deeply saddened. It just hurts I have to fake who I am in order to make it. Also, why do we need to use PTO if we want to stay in order to get caught up on our work if we don't want to go to the department events? If you are going to require us to... use PTO for events like that or kick us out of the office when we have the sniffles that give us more PTO. Also, don't get me started on the favoritism going on. Anyone who is lucky to get promoted is strictly due to favoritism not what they know or how well they do their job. I have seen too many people get promoted who don't know anything about the job or the company. Please promote the knowledgable people, not your best friend.

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2019-05-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company. Low pay for amount of work required to do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Property Accountant 

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Learned a lot.

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted. Favouritism.

    Extra Space Storage2019-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, Laid Back, Flexible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working here at Extra Space Storage is a great place to work. They allow for a flexible schedule, and a good work/life balance. The environment is very friendly and laid back (no micro managing). It has a feeling of family.

    Cons

    They like to promote the younger employees, and I feel they don't appreciate the more "seasoned" people and their years of service when it comes to promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Experience sometimes is more valuable than "education".

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
  9. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company. Good people, flexible hours, good benefits. Hires accountants straight out of college. Good new hire training program.

    Cons

    High turn over due to lower than average pay.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Dont bother putting reviews of your honest opinion or the company just has them deleted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hmmmmmm some coworkers and free coffee and soda

    Cons

    Too many to get into again just to have the review deleted so why bother. Oh well besides stay away from the horrible Accounting snakes!! The company only keeps the ones that sound so awesome. This really only happens because they have new employees in the first week write a review!! Of course a new employee is going to love it there will all the empty promises they hear. Trust me within a year if not sooner they... will have a different review. But then again if you are a whistle blower they just get rid of you so be careful!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You want honest opinions so take them and make HUGE Changes like for instance hiring Managers that truly know how to be a manger!

    Extra Space Storage2018-08-06
  11. "Property Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Accountant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office space, love the culture, innovative for it's market segment, great CEO & great management team, cares about its employees. Have CEO lunches that all employees may attend.

    Cons

    Can't work remotely, high turnover in accounting, long commute to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the culture of the company, great place to work.

    Extra Space Storage2018-06-04

    Extra Space Storage Response

    June 22, 2018Director Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review! Our employees make Extra Space a great place to work.

Found 36 reviews