Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1031 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great work space!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Georgetown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teams, great work environment, fun to be able to travel and meet new people

    Cons

    Can't think of one con

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  2. "Love My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ongoing training process helps make us all better at finding solutions for our customers.

    Cons

    Extreme weather can make days long when you are doing projects outside, but we plan around the heat and cold the best we can.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth with this company

    Cons

    More often than not understaffed at my location

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  4. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Garland, TX

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Great work life balance On site apartment (some positions) 50% computer work 50% physical activity

    Cons

    Job can be a little physical taxing some times but nothing near other jobs I've had. Really not many cons I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep on leading the industry in innovation and constantly adapt to an ever changing retail landscape. Also implement online leases people can fill out to drive more business.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  5. "Great Company and Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO Accrual, good work/life balance, promoting from within, compensation, and I just love it

    Cons

    Every job has something but here the only thing is the difficult customers but that’s a one off situation

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great culture and things in the company

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Manage all aspects of facility limited help. Draining. They do not value you as a worker. Poor pay for job expectations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom but numerous audits to follow up on freedom

    Cons

    10 google reviews a month. Expected to Manage all aspects of sales...customer service....janitorial cleaning..facility management in old lead and asbestos filled building while hanging out with cockroaches and bed bugs.

    Advice to Management

    Value your workers don't just use them and throw them out

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-28
  7. "Amazing Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to work with the best people who really care about the company, their colleagues and their customers

    Cons

    More job flexibility would be great

    Advice to Management

    Keep the personal touch with your employees

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work Culture is Great but underpay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Culture is great and it is a nice place to work for....

    Cons

    Poor pay. Store Manager starts around $15 to $16 per hour. Imagine yourself working for a facility with another employee were there is more than 600-1000 units. You clean units, facility,bathrooms, do auctions process, call customers for rentals, late payments. Do cash handling, call vendors and much more... If you work with an assistant that you consider is not good, you could only tell your DM. *Remember the... DM's are not with the co workers everyday.* Most of the time they will say give them a break... Commissions are base on rentals in which depends on the location. If you get 100 rentals, managers gets round $400 of commissions for that month. This is a rare thing to get 100 rentals. The funny thing is that in the storage industry, this company pays more than the rest....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There lost of talents in management, just remember one thing. " In order to have your employees happy pay them what the are worth without having preferences..( This only applies to some not all)

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-04
  9. "Active Facility Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Good pay and consistent hours *If you like to be active and keep going at work, this position can give you that *Evenings are free *Good for students that take evening classes after 6pm

    Cons

    *Sometimes communication needs to be more advanced *District Manager is the supervisor, but sometimes they are too busy to assist you, so you rely on others with seniority. This creates an awkward dynamic because the Store Manager isn't really your supervisor, but a higher ranking coworker.

    Advice to Management

    Get an online program that combines your HR items AND also has the capability to create and manage work schedules for districts and individual employees.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Never work past 6pm and every Sunday off. If you're a people person, then this is the job for you.

    Cons

    Make you go between sites until you become a manager. Some sites are old and nasty.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe spend less time on role playing and spend more time showing as much of the computer system as possible.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
Found 1031 reviews