Extra Space Storage Site Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Site Manager

Extra Space Storage Site Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Love my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Manager in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment - Benefits

    Cons

    working Saturdays -No sick days- Uniform - Riser Rooms

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the PTO and the flexibility we have on requesting days off. The bonus program is decent. I love the Extra Space University that teaches you how to become more business oriented and includes lessons on being more successful in the company. You can also apply the lessons to life outside of ESS. They are always coming up with new ideas to keep you interested and excited to be apart of storage. This company is always keeping the door open to create your work experience better. They want you to stay and want you to grow always looking to assist you in the areas where you may need improvement. I could go on about the many positives it's so many.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say it's a con but I would like to see a little bit more affordable health insurance. The pay is pretty good but if the health insurance is going to continue at the rate it is. Maybe we could increase our pay so the insurance could be affordable.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  3. "Straight Forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Fixed schedule, primarily alone, and easy.

    Cons

    Micro managed, numbers driven, difficult customers, difficult to grow to outside store level and repetitive.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great community and people to work for with fair compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to set your own task load during the day and the coworkers are all top notch and nice

    Cons

    Micromanaging has become a little more prevalent than it used to be. As a publicly traded company, there seems to be a greater and greater drive to increase profit through gilding the lily.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-11
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have good medical, dental, vision, and 401 k program.

    Cons

    There is a high turnover rate, and management is horrible. There is really no way to move up in the company, because they are always hiring outside. The amount they pay is not worth the amount of work they expect from you. And there is a lot of favoritism shown throughout the district level. This is the worst company that I have ever worked for.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-11-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Extra Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall it's a great place to work. I've been with the organization for a few years now the moral and work life balance is great. I'm lucky to have a great DM who really works with the staff. The training, support and the perks are still fairly good. They offer bonuses which many companies and overall the company does a good job. The properties are well kept and it's a good working environment.

    Cons

    They have been cutting back a lot and sadly those cuts hit the field employees the most. They cut back on low waged employee bonuses and even gift cards. Granted that these items are perks but on the store level we are first liaison between the customer and management. They've also cut back on staffing budget allowances, and many stores are being left single staffed. This over works staff who are getting paid now as one individual but doing the work of two people. It also causes a danger concern having one individual working alone on a property. The turnover rate for the Assistant Managers are greater than any organization I've worked out previously. Due to low wages for the expectation of work. Another concern. It also makes it difficult for staff to take their hard earned vacations when there is no coverage. In turn this hurts the DM who are now unable to hire the right staff.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-10-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "SM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Hampton, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Great Staff and leadership teams. Plenty of opportunities to evolve in this company if you take the initiative. I have personally seen employees move briskly through the ranks solely by the will to learn, adapt, and advance(Given there is an opening for those positions).

    Cons

    I think the time reward structure could use a little update so when employees work more than 40 hours they can get that overtime rather than have to take longer lunches or leave early. Don't get me wrong, I like leaving early on occasion but when I work a longer shift due to customer service issues that arise, I believe I should qualify to make the choice of getting the OT or shaving it off.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
  8. "Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding benefits and pay package. Sundays off.

    Cons

    Working Saturday but we DO get Sunday off so I guess there's not really a "con" there.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-28
  9. "Best company to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Manager in West Allis, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feel appreciated! Look forward to coming to work everyday! Company genuinely cares about their employees!

    Cons

    Haven’t found any so far, been here going on 6 months!

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-09-27
  10. "Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team work is what you get working for Extra Space Storage.

    Cons

    Some of the tenants can be troublesome.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
Found 59 reviews