Extra Space Storage "sundays" Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Employee Reviews about "sundays"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 126 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company(in 30 reviews)

  • "District Manager is the supervisor, but sometimes they are too busy to assist you, so you rely on others with seniority(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sundays"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Lets make Extra Space a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Leadership in San Dimas, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Housing provided at some levels , Uniforms provided , Closed on Sundays

    Cons

    Very Physically tasking. You are a CSR , Human Resources , janitor and maintenance all in one

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay scale needed for the amount of worked performed .

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-01
  2. "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sundays Off Insurance Benefits Paid Holidays and PTO

    Cons

    Favoritism No Recognition for hard working employees DM and DTLs are not professional Employees get away with not doing their job or calling in 5 times in one month Secret shoppers who know nothing Lots of drama Micro Management

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to treat your experienced and tenured employees better. Also, be more specific on the DMs and DTLs you hire because they are super unprofessional and disrespectful. And hold the employees who can’t even do their daily job accountable. I could go on about all the advice I have for management.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Do your research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not working past 6:00PM during the week, 5:30PM on Saturdays and off on Sundays.

    Cons

    Expected to do maintenance, cleaning public restrooms, work outside in the heat. Floating from location to location with no sense of purpose. While doing all of this you have a cell phone on you that you need to answer if a customer is calling or you need to go back to the office to help someone. Mind you, most facilities are outside. Having to work outside then go back to help customers is not the "look" you want.... They do not hire people to power-wash exterior doors to name one task. Pushing CPP coverage, yes folks it's a numbers game when it comes to that. Pushing for Goggle reviews (it would be like the server asking for a tip) Just let us do our jobs

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have the top management (those that sit in Utah) run a facility for a month or so. Have them power wash, scrub toilets, pick up trash on the curb, paint, clean units. Have them bounce from location to location (some don't even have a break room with a fridge or microwave so you can't even bring food to eat or have a break room to sit in out of customers views) While doing all of this, lets see them handle the secret... shopper phone call and in person visits: Wonder if they would pass?

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2019-08-27
  4. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Sundays off (sometimes)

    Cons

    Favoritism - some are preferred over others and promoted over others Multiple bosses - you have one dm who is supposed to be your direct supervisor but 3 other in the leadership role that are constantly changing your schedule, your job location so who should we answer too? Constant change in job location - Constant change in scheduling..... which means they could determine to change my job location without... so much as a blink of an eye. Gossip - a few coworkers that live to gossip about everyone and anyone. Spread rumors and lies and management looks the other way. No loyalty to long term employees. Various people let go for various reasons ranging from attendance to metrics (exactly what those favorites are also guilty of but that get swept under the rug)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a hard close look at the management and leadership team. The turnover in the last few years should tell you there is something wrong. Make sure that new and existing employee now who their immediate supervisor is and dtl’s should be a trainer and not the boss.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Closed Sundays, nothing else to add

    Cons

    Long term employee here, trust me when I say run from this company. The pay is no where enough for the job or stress that you will go through. Working every day by yourself. Expected to be a sells person, janitor, repair man, customer service rep all at the same time. If you are considering working here hope you like selling insurance, that we can not force customers to purchase, by law but you are expected to get... it 80% of the time at a $15.75 average rate. Understand this it is a hard sell you will feel like a used car sells man. This is all because the insurance is a cash cow for the company they are self insured. Hope you want to be a google representative as well current goal is 9 a month and rising, last year the goal was 6 a month. Leads into another con the goals go up every year understand does not matter how your year was last year these are the new goals get them. The company may say they have goals but these are actually expectations if you don’t get these you will be fired. Also if you are a store manager you will be responsible for the store numbers even if you never work with the other people who work at your site when you are not there. Also understand the company drags it feet when it comes to large costly repairs, units at the property I work at have been leaking for years and still not fixed. The health insurance is a joke and very expensive. This company really does not care about their employees and it is a revolving door. I would look elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get back to what Extra Space used to be. Go back to basics. If you want to be an insurance company then get out of storage and just be an insurance company.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-07
  6. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New Britain, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is closed on Sundays

    Cons

    The overlooking of great employees

    Advice to Management

    Sharp eye on DM's and DTL's that lack train and give filed employees more of a chance

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-22
  7. "Wages don't match responsibilities!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Sterling, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only 1, Not open on Sundays

    Cons

    Where do I start, Management isn't very proactive! They can't keep decent employees due to treating them like janitors and then asking employees to lie about requirements to get increased sales and google reviews to make corporate numbers...

    Advice to Management

    Increase wages, Teach continuity to SM's so company can expand properly with anticipated growth...Since you can't man store's properly maybe make a daily checklist for stores run solo...

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-27
  8. "A Great Company to work for, compared to other companies I've worked for in the same field."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work for, most major holidays off work, Sundays off, great work and life balance. This is my "second life" with Extra Space Storage and in the span of ten years that I was away most of the great quality employees are still with the company.

    Cons

    I don't know if this is company wide, but since I left and came back, a policy of no Saturdays off (without using your PTO) was instituted and in my opinion this seems to infringe in the work/life balance a bit. Some employees with custody of children on weekends are impeded by this, as well as some others who may want to take an occasional three day weekend without having to draw away from their accumulated PTO.... Also, in my previous time with ESS, PTO was given on the anniversary date, not accrued as time goes by during the year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would ask the company to reexamine their PTO and day off policies to make a great company to work for even greater and to lead the industry in work/life balance excellence.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Assistant Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage part-time

    Pros

    -If you’re someone coming from a traditional retail environment, scheduling is a lot better overall. Most districts complete their schedules 30 days in advance. Most people have a designated off day that rarely changes every week in addition to Sundays off. You won’t have to worry about working a bunch of days in a row without an off day because this position is hourly and the company doesn’t want to pay out a lot... of overtime. -The hours are a set 930am-6pm Monday-Friday and 9am-530pm on Saturdays. Work/life balance is a lot better as opposed to a traditional retail environment. It would be nice however, if the hours weren’t geared towards a mid shift. A better time would be to open at 8/830am and close at 430/5pm - at least on Saturdays. -Little micromanagement: Maybe this is just in my district, but I really feel like I can do my job without another manager breathing down my neck. -Chances to work other properties and rapid advancement: The company is constantly growing so they need highly motivated Assistant Managers (AMs) to become Store Managers (SMs) to run the new properties. As an AM you typically get to go to run another property a couple of days out the week. Some people may like that and some people may not. An AM can typically get promoted to SM in less than a year.

    Show More

    Cons

    These are some of my personal cons, but overall Extra Space Storage is not a bad place to work at all. -No extra help: If you’re running a high occupancy facility or a new facility, the likelihood of having extra help is higher than a property that is lower occupied. Needless to say, there are times that highly occupied facilities are single covered too. If you’re running a property by yourself, you have to work... with another property to cover your off day/PTO, do lock cuts, or any other activities that may require two people. Also, working by yourself all of the time can be challenging since you are maintaining the entire property with no help whatsoever. -Routined job: If you’re not renting units or making delinquent calls, you’re basically the property janitor - cleaning units, picking up trash, blowing leaves, cleaning toilets, etc. It gets boring quickly. -Dealing with rate increase complaints: sigh. -No chance to rotate weekends off: This may be just a district issue, but it would be nice to be able to have a rotating weekend off without using PTO. -Bonuses are kind of bad: Store Manager gets bigger bonus no matter what. Bonuses are usually pretty low anyway. - Favoritism: It exists. In my opinion, the district in which you are placed will determine the experience you will have. The District Manager(DM) and District Team Leaders (DTLs) set the pace and morale for the team. If you have an engaging upper management team, overall the rest of the site managers will also be engaged. If you have an upper management team that is not engaging, then more than likely that district will be less engaged.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Be engaging to all of your team members/site managers and not just the ones that make you look good. -Consider making sure that ALL facilities are adequately staffed.

    Extra Space Storage2018-12-18
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Benefits - Environment - Work/life balance - Advancement Opportunities - Uniform Allowance - Travel reimbursement programs - Sundays off

    Cons

    - Low Pay compared to the amount of work, you're the Salesman, Janitor, Collector, Customer Service Rep, Scheduler, Case Manager, Auctioneer, waste Manager, Plumer, Electrician, pest controller and much more. This is a Con because of the pay, but the knowledge gained for future careers may be seen as a neutral or pro. It is just a Con if you stay with the company at the low pay. - No Unpaid time off nor "sick... days"., if you miss a day of work for any reason, your "PTO" Paid time off must be used or burned to cover for your missing hours, you cannot go in the negative and if you have no PTO accumulated means you run the risk of getting fired. - Minimal paid days off, apart from New years, Chrismas, Thanksgiving and Independence Day, there aren't many more days off, you will be working almost every major Federal holidays, I think there is only a total of 6 days in the entire year including the ones mentioned already. - Having Every Sunday off is great apart from that they are traded with Saturdays. Your days off will be Sunday + one day of the week not including Mondays/ Fridays since they are the busiest days. You will work Every Saturday unless you use PTO. -Lack of recognition, you might be the hardest worker but don't expect the acknowledgment from the District Team Leads.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay a little more to your people, especially those who work harder than the rest. Glassdoor says this position is over the $30k range and it's not. To senior Management, when you come in to see your people, make them feel welcomed and show Leadership rather than coming in and make the employees feel like they are all doing a bad Job.

    Extra Space Storage2018-10-30
Found 1052 reviews