Extra Space Storage "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1031 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 126 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company(in 30 reviews)

  • "District Manager is the supervisor, but sometimes they are too busy to assist you, so you rely on others with seniority(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I love It but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Never come in to the same day twice and the customers are amazing. Most of the upper management really cares about the employees, and want to make a great work culture. I’ve been with ESS for more than 10 years and the growth has been amazing. We really are the best at getting better.

    Cons

    For me the work/home life is not balanced the way that I would like in order to hav me an influence with my child the way I would like. The pay is also ridiculous, and a multi billion dollar company like ESS should really pay more and for the long term employees we are only now making what people just being hired are making which is again ridiculous. For ESS to continue to grow and have the talent it needs the pay... will have to be addressed immediately.

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "80% of the positive reviews are fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to this company. Run, just run!

    Cons

    This company has a contest for reviews and will send you a gift card if your name is drawn. Most of the positive reviews are either upper management posting fake reviews or they are from a contest from.employees trying to win a gift card. The CEO/ Comapany had a contest to win a gift card for any of the awards this company has won. Sure you'll get positive reviews if you are offering free money. You can take... it for what you want. Most of the reviews here are fake. The company is full of drama and favoritism. You will not promote unless you are in the DM's group of favorites. The company has very high turn over. This includes upper management all the way down to the bottom. We receive emails almost weekly of all the people who have left the company. The list is usually 8 people in the upper management level. Upper management is excessive. All over paid. Especially the CEO. Way over paid

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop paying for fake reviews and fix the company! Stop the favoritism! Pay the store employees! Stop overpaying the CEO and all the upper management. Get rid of half of the upper management.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job, give or take a few things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Santa Fe, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly the best job I've ever held. Work/Life balance is outstanding. All you do is rent storage units to people, clean and keep up with maintenance around the property and other general tasks expected at most retail-esque jobs. You also could live on-site where the rent and utilities are free.

    Cons

    You are a salesperson first and foremost. You will have to sell insurance to folks on every rental you do and try to get them to leave Google Reviews in the office. If this is not your thing, I'd look elsewhere. Depending on where you work, you could have to move to another store and possibly move apartments if you live on-site. You really don't have a say in the matter either. Like most corporate places, you could... do really well at this job and never really get anything out of it. People have been passed over for promotions many times regardless of how good their sales numbers are or their customer service skills. It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Favoritism is a slippery slope. Promote the ones who will drive the business forward and bring income to your company for years to come. Do not promote the ones who you see as friends and confidants. This is will ultimately cause the good eggs to leave, making it much harder for you to fill those shoes later on.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I would say the hours, but not having two days off in a row ever is terrible.

    Cons

    Inconsistent policies. No one follows the same rules, so customers are constantly being told different things. Upper management do not care whether you are happy as long as you show up. No one checks in or stops by to see how things are going. You are on your own to figure things out. They promise you growth, but really they just want to rush you through training so that you could get right to work. They do not care... whether you advance or not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Check in with your employees and find out how they are doing. Working alone for days and weeks at a time is stressful. Also, it is a security risk because people sneak into the building a all the time. Telling employees to call the cops everyday does not fix the problem. If something happens the company will not care because all they care about is the bottom line. Stop telling people the company cares about its... employees because it doesn't.

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2019-07-25
  5. "Bureaucratic Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Decent office with a cool view. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    No culture whatsoever. Too much oversight and permission needed from upper management over the smallest decisions. No office perks besides a coffee machine.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Union, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, hours, schedule, benefits, customers

    Cons

    They way upper management treats staff and they never take responsibility for issues.

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours and benifits flexibility in work schedule

    Cons

    It’s cult minded everyone steps on each other to get ahead dms and upper management suck no help

    Advice to Management

    Train your dms to no be so overwhelming and stop nit picking all the little things

    Extra Space Storage2019-02-14
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Assistant Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage part-time

    Pros

    -If you’re someone coming from a traditional retail environment, scheduling is a lot better overall. Most districts complete their schedules 30 days in advance. Most people have a designated off day that rarely changes every week in addition to Sundays off. You won’t have to worry about working a bunch of days in a row without an off day because this position is hourly and the company doesn’t want to pay out a lot... of overtime. -The hours are a set 930am-6pm Monday-Friday and 9am-530pm on Saturdays. Work/life balance is a lot better as opposed to a traditional retail environment. It would be nice however, if the hours weren’t geared towards a mid shift. A better time would be to open at 8/830am and close at 430/5pm - at least on Saturdays. -Little micromanagement: Maybe this is just in my district, but I really feel like I can do my job without another manager breathing down my neck. -Chances to work other properties and rapid advancement: The company is constantly growing so they need highly motivated Assistant Managers (AMs) to become Store Managers (SMs) to run the new properties. As an AM you typically get to go to run another property a couple of days out the week. Some people may like that and some people may not. An AM can typically get promoted to SM in less than a year.

    Show More

    Cons

    These are some of my personal cons, but overall Extra Space Storage is not a bad place to work at all. -No extra help: If you’re running a high occupancy facility or a new facility, the likelihood of having extra help is higher than a property that is lower occupied. Needless to say, there are times that highly occupied facilities are single covered too. If you’re running a property by yourself, you have to work... with another property to cover your off day/PTO, do lock cuts, or any other activities that may require two people. Also, working by yourself all of the time can be challenging since you are maintaining the entire property with no help whatsoever. -Routined job: If you’re not renting units or making delinquent calls, you’re basically the property janitor - cleaning units, picking up trash, blowing leaves, cleaning toilets, etc. It gets boring quickly. -Dealing with rate increase complaints: sigh. -No chance to rotate weekends off: This may be just a district issue, but it would be nice to be able to have a rotating weekend off without using PTO. -Bonuses are kind of bad: Store Manager gets bigger bonus no matter what. Bonuses are usually pretty low anyway. - Favoritism: It exists. In my opinion, the district in which you are placed will determine the experience you will have. The District Manager(DM) and District Team Leaders (DTLs) set the pace and morale for the team. If you have an engaging upper management team, overall the rest of the site managers will also be engaged. If you have an upper management team that is not engaging, then more than likely that district will be less engaged.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Be engaging to all of your team members/site managers and not just the ones that make you look good. -Consider making sure that ALL facilities are adequately staffed.

    Extra Space Storage2018-12-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Way to go Extra Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Portsmouth, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company for 3 months now. I really enjoy getting up in the morning and going to work. The communications between manager and upper management is very impressive. There training is awesome , they give you the tools to do your job. There is always something new everyday to do. Great place to work and further your experience in a new position.

    Cons

    If you like sitting down all the time this is not for you.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
  10. "Provides Employees with Tools for Success!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part about working for Extra Space Storage that I haven't experienced anywhere else is the amount of support I've received from upper management. They value their employees and want them to succeed. If you don't have the tools you need to succeed right from the start, make a case for it. They are happy to listen and work with you to get you where you need to be so you can perform your duties effectively... and efficiently. I'd recommend working here to anyone who feels like they aren't getting that support at his/her current place of work. This is a collaborative, team environment where everyone is working together for the betterment of the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits are good but could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for supporting your employees and providing them with the tools to succeed!

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-27
Found 1031 reviews