Extra Space Storage "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Extra Space Storage Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 126 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company(in 30 reviews)

  • "District Manager is the supervisor, but sometimes they are too busy to assist you, so you rely on others with seniority(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Culture, Work Life Balance, and Values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company values are second to none. Amazing work life balance so I get to be there for my children. The quality of our products are the best in the business so it makes it easy to do our jobs. All around an amazing company to be a part of!

    Cons

    Absolutely no cons with this company!

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and work life balance

    Cons

    Location isn’t close to anything

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-26
  3. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is a reality. Leadership is transparent with the entire organization and the internal growth potential is real.

    Cons

    Do not really have any.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
  4. "Extra Space Storage Work Culture Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead in Brandon, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They allow you to have a good work/life balance. Competitive benefits.

    Cons

    A little better compensation for managers.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-26
  5. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Sundays off (sometimes)

    Cons

    Favoritism - some are preferred over others and promoted over others Multiple bosses - you have one dm who is supposed to be your direct supervisor but 3 other in the leadership role that are constantly changing your schedule, your job location so who should we answer too? Constant change in job location - Constant change in scheduling..... which means they could determine to change my job location without... so much as a blink of an eye. Gossip - a few coworkers that live to gossip about everyone and anyone. Spread rumors and lies and management looks the other way. No loyalty to long term employees. Various people let go for various reasons ranging from attendance to metrics (exactly what those favorites are also guilty of but that get swept under the rug)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a hard close look at the management and leadership team. The turnover in the last few years should tell you there is something wrong. Make sure that new and existing employee now who their immediate supervisor is and dtl’s should be a trainer and not the boss.

    Extra Space Storage2019-09-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Love Your Job and You Will Never Work A Day in Your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am ride or die for Extra Space Storage. The focus on team and work/life balance are unmatched. Competitive pay and opportunities to promote from within. You drive your development with a supportive team that is bought in to help you find your success. If you enjoy new challenges, a quick pace and two days that are never the same ...this is the adventure for you.

    Cons

    Cons??? I don't have one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Kudos for the learner centered development.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26

    Extra Space Storage Response

    August 6, 2019Director Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review! We have a dedicated team of District Team Leads who continue to make Extra Space Storage a great place to work. Thanks for all you do!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job, give or take a few things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Santa Fe, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly the best job I've ever held. Work/Life balance is outstanding. All you do is rent storage units to people, clean and keep up with maintenance around the property and other general tasks expected at most retail-esque jobs. You also could live on-site where the rent and utilities are free.

    Cons

    You are a salesperson first and foremost. You will have to sell insurance to folks on every rental you do and try to get them to leave Google Reviews in the office. If this is not your thing, I'd look elsewhere. Depending on where you work, you could have to move to another store and possibly move apartments if you live on-site. You really don't have a say in the matter either. Like most corporate places, you could... do really well at this job and never really get anything out of it. People have been passed over for promotions many times regardless of how good their sales numbers are or their customer service skills. It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Favoritism is a slippery slope. Promote the ones who will drive the business forward and bring income to your company for years to come. Do not promote the ones who you see as friends and confidants. This is will ultimately cause the good eggs to leave, making it much harder for you to fill those shoes later on.

    Extra Space Storage2019-08-20
  8. "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance and culture are phenomenal!

    Cons

    Sure there are some (what job doesn't?), but nothing major or enough to scare anyone away.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  9. "The is the best Job I have ever had!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extra Space is the best place to work. I have worked Full time here for almost 2 years . Work/Life balance is great. Co worker are always available to help.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    All of you are awesome! Great Support!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extra Space Storage has the most incredible work/life balance. They value their employees and genuinely want them to have a healthy and happy home life as well as confidence and satisfaction with work.

    Cons

    I do not feel that the health insurance is the best. I wish that it were a little more competitive with others out there. It's not the worst, but certainly not the best either.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with transparency and open lines of communication.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-23
Found 1041 reviews