ExxonMobil IT Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

ExxonMobil IT Analyst Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
1 Ratings
  1. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Analyst in Spring, TX

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ExxonMobil hires competent people so colleagues are good quality professionals; fair amount of autonomy; interesting projects

    Cons

    Limited control over your career positions / advancement

    Advice to Management

    Allow more employee input into job placement / movement

    ExxonMobil2019-02-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I.T. Analyst - Global Services Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - I T Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, smart co-workers, state of the art facilities.

    Cons

    Forced ranking, slow to adopt new technology, grinding work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Adjust work-life balance. Inform business employees that I.T. employees are not contractors.

    ExxonMobil2018-09-10
  3. "Long term career support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior IT Analyst in Houston, TX

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    Multiple training opportunities every year. Promotes from within the company. Once you are hired they take a long term (20+ years) approach to your career.

    Cons

    Advancement can be slow if you're looking to move up quickly.

    ExxonMobil2016-03-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stable job with good work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work/life balance has been really good. Rarely do I need to work more than 40 hours and I have the flexibility to arrive late at times or leave early at other times. Working remotely is also a plus. The people are great to work with. The company has moved away from not adopting new technology to leading change across the industry and getting more involved with major software developers/IT shops in influencing... their software road maps. I have little concern of ever losing my job.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't know many people who actually like their ranking system. It's awful and poisonous. Annual salary increases are not very much and you have to work 25+ years for the pension plan to be meaningful. If you want to be a fast, high wage earner, you should look elsewhere because here are many other companies that will boost your wage faster.

    Advice to Management

    Redo the ranking system. Improve annual increase amounts and be more transparent about one's career potential.

    ExxonMobil2015-09-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits, Boring Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, Work/Life Balance, the ability to work from home, job security, friendly people.

    Cons

    Very slow moving and bureaucratic. No ability to transfer jobs/roles cross functionally which was something that was preached to me during recruitment. Surprisingly stingy for being the most profitable company in the world.

    ExxonMobil2014-10-11
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stability, opportunities and Recognition if you work hard

    Cons

    Hierarchical management and reporting manager can be anywhere

    Advice to Management

    Open communications on job performsnce

    ExxonMobil2014-05-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "IT Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job stability is great because contract lengths are mostly on an annual basis.

    Cons

    Working as a contractor, there are no benefits and your chances of becoming a full-time employee are slim.

    Advice to Management

    Do not micro manage. It demotivates us the folks that make you look good.

    ExxonMobil2014-03-20
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Houston, TX

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity and great people

    Cons

    Lots of movement so don't get comfortable

    ExxonMobil2013-09-09
  9. "IT Analyst Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Varied job experiences, highly technical, career opportunities available

    Cons

    Not a technology company, risk intolerant, low tolerance for mistakes.

    ExxonMobil2013-04-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of talk, little action."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    Focus on safety. Very process driven. Many controls. Training is encouraged and supported. Small work groups. Many opportunities to work on global teams and make many overseas friendships. Upper management has a very high level of integrity and permeates this attitude throughout all the business processes. Most people that I interacted with were some of the most honest people I've ever met.

    Cons

    The technology is there, we just can't use all of it. The technology in use today is what other companies were using 8-10 years ago. Lots of very smart people, but very few SMEs (subject matter experts) due to frequent change of assignments. I originally viewed this to be very appealing, however, many employees typically have the attitude of "let's just do it this way...because in 3 years from now, we won't be in... this group anymore, and it'll be someone else's problem". This results in only the very motivated people to become SMEs. There is almost zero automation....almost all processes must be done manually. Recurring meetings continually just talk about things, and changes take forever to implement. And....why won't upper management hurry up and own up to the consolidated campus in Spring TX, rather than let employees hear about it in the Houston Chronicle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to change. Don't be afraid to use the technology already available in house. Listen/research more to industry best practices.

    ExxonMobil2011-05-19
Found 12 reviews