ExxonMobil Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

ExxonMobil Intern Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
5 Ratings
  1. "Hard work but great culture and amazing compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is amazing, prompt feedback, getting rid of rigid ranking system, everyone really tries to help you out a lot. Communication and social skills are absolutely essential to succeed here. Raw knowledge and intellect will not get you where you need to go alone. Talk to as many people as possible and actually try to connect with them. Seems like something anyone should know but you’d be surprised at how many are... too engrossed in their work to get to know their coworkers. Compensation is unparalleled for any non-software engineering field. Interns are given very high level work and the level of trust interns are given is extremely high. Highly recommend this company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very hard work and endless worklist, Long hours usually for an engineering company, mid-50 hours a week. Not great work-life balance at Exxon compared to other companies but still amazing company.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier to get stuff done instead of countless rounds of approvals for fairly simple changes.

    ExxonMobil2018-12-25
  2. "Very demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Supply Chain Intern in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is challenging and demanding.

    Cons

    The company is very resistant to change.

    ExxonMobil2019-08-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fixed Equipment Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Baytown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, surrounded by very high-achieving and intelligent people, safety culture, fast progression

    Cons

    Limited scope of work -- very technical

    ExxonMobil2018-09-25
  4. "Absolutely amazing internship program with numerous benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Operations Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    All the co-workers I worked with were extremely motivated and enjoyable to work with. The main campus is incredible and adds to the atmosphere. The projects are challenging, but rewarding. My supervisor ensured that I was on track and had a great time here.

    Cons

    Location is not the best.

    ExxonMobil2018-09-10
  5. "EMIT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people (coworkers and managers), solid compensation, lots of opportunities to meet other interns. Career stability.

    Cons

    Iffy match between my project and my interests (hopefully they improve on this). Bureaucratic and slow-moving.

    Advice to Management

    Culture can vary a LOT between teams. Management should try to facilitate team bonding (but for many, this isn't an issue).

    ExxonMobil2018-08-25
  6. "Good intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Very competitive pay, lots of opportunities to grown in the company (as full-time), many intern events.

    Cons

    Slow and resistant to change - very behind in IT

    ExxonMobil2018-08-09
  7. "Best Place I Have Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Human Resources Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Great organization where you have the ability to learn something each and everyday you come to work. The internship gives you real projects unlike other places that give you busy work. This company cares about the development of their employees and continues to provide opportunities for everyone because they care. I think what really goes unnoticed is all of the good this company does for the world and it needs to... be known.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any

    ExxonMobil2018-08-08
  8. "ExxonMobil IT Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Development Intern in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Salary, Ergonomics/Safety focus, Management is really good (transparent for the most part, and understanding), Career advancement, facilities (Houston Campus) are great, cool challenges to solve

    Cons

    For IT people (CS, MIS) it's not exactly a tech company, use of Microsoft everything not always a benefit, oil and gas industry not necessarily for everyone, starting vacation time only 2 weeks until year five

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    ExxonMobil2018-08-08
  9. "Awesome Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community, lots of support, well-defined project scope and expectations. Mangers have high expectations, but provide you with plenty of help and guidance. The company culture is fun and diverse, and the intern events and programs are both fun and frequent!

    Cons

    High expectations can make you feel pressured. Some groups may only have one intern so you get less interaction with people similar to you. Safety culture sometimes feels hypocritical and fake.

    ExxonMobil2018-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Solid place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong support for career development; competitive benefits including pension plan; beautiful campus in Spring, TX; values employees as people; flexible work schedule; work-life balance

    Cons

    Lack of urgency; negative perceptions of industry and company by public; many layers of review for all decisions; hard to make large contributions as individual contributor; slow placed

    ExxonMobil2018-08-18
Found 62 reviews