ExxonMobil Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

ExxonMobil Intern Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Intern in Spring, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    New Campus is wonderful for collaboration and meeting people, pay is good, lots of nice people who are willing to talk to interns, lots of interesting jobs available worldwide

    Cons

    My job was a fairly boring 'intern job' that didnt match up to the exciting jobs real engineers have, declining US asset base means fewer opportunities for young US engineers, ranking is forced and everything is closed doors and secretive, no 9/80

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to give real experiences to young US engineers, use a more open and understood ranking and promotion system to eliminate 'white male'-type dominance

    ExxonMobil2015-08-18
  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Monthly in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Very smart people and strong emphasis on integrity and safety. The company takes extremely good care of its employees and makes sure that its employees are comfortable both at work and at personal front.

    Cons

    Like any big corporation has too much inertia. Hence its difficult to become the CEO in less than 30 years of career with the company.

    Advice to Management

    Start hiring people at all levels rather than just promoting from within. I understand that promoting from within preserves the culture but then you lose out on great talent.

    ExxonMobil2015-07-11
  3. "Great Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay Location Business Travel Living Free food at work Buddy

    Cons

    Hard to take time off Stuck doing a boring project all summer People come in/out; travelling all the time Too many interns

    Advice to Management

    Promote more mingling between current employees and interns

    ExxonMobil2015-06-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Large, global corporation functioning as an "efficient" government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Geophysicist Intern in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    -The pay is relatively very high and the work is challenging and stimulating -The company is so big that there are many career opportunities for someone just starting out (in theory) -People are at least outwardly very nice and helpful -Attention to employee health and safety (e.g. top of the line ergonomic office supplies with little question) -Treated with respect and considered as a professional even being an... intern -Given my own office (old campus) -Everyone seemed very intelligent and competent at all levels of the company -ExxonMobil is on my resume now

    Show More

    Cons

    -Ranking system drives employees to backstab quite a bit (had a mentor that was new at the company throw me under a bus on more than one occasion) -FOX News on all TV's as the only channel (at least at old campus) -Arrogance abounds -Bureaucracy is huge there for the private sector but functions as an "efficient" government -No bonuses (at least never heard anyone speaking of them) - WYSIWYG -Said to expect a... full time offer upon exit and given none afterward -Company views its new hires a very specific way and doesn't like to view them other ways -Company only likes to do things the ExxonMobil way - little room for innovation outside of Research -Too much management and compartmentalization -Assumes it is "stable" -ExxonMobil is on my resume now

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ExxonMobil will not last forever so stop thinking and acting like it will - no natural or unnatural system is truly stable. See the Cons above.

    ExxonMobil2015-03-18
  5. "Tremendous experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Geologist Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative work culture, great benefits, exciting workplace, fantastic Houston Campus ammenities

    Cons

    Anything needing approval usually has to go through several departments and several levels of management

    Advice to Management

    Not able to apply internally for different positions; can't see what positions the company is looking to fill with current employees.

    ExxonMobil2015-03-05
  6. "Student Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Monthly in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    -Wined and Dined at every company event -interesting work

    Cons

    -some interns get really crappy Sharepoint assignments

    Advice to Management

    -Keep attending the end of the summer presentations. That means a lot to the interns.

    ExxonMobil2014-12-26
  7. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Office Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at ExxonMobil for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked here as an intern through my high school program. The people are friendly and they really take care of their employees.

    Cons

    The only con was having to leave when my internship ended! No hire opportunities that year.

    ExxonMobil2014-12-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Exxon Mobil has been great as an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    tough lots of work but definetly worth the reqard monetarily speaking has a lot of work balnce along with the rest o the stuff that you do

    Cons

    i have had some challenges in terms of keeping up with managment they can be kinda picky sometimes i dont know hy performance reviews

    Advice to Management

    they could be less pickyo n performance reviews too much evalutation times spent on things that do not need to be looked at

    ExxonMobil2014-10-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company. Great intern experience, they pay very well for interns and even better for full time. Very flexible with your interest, at least for internship

    Cons

    Ranking is weird, not talked about alot as an intern. Lots of interns, feeling of competition for full time jobs. Even interns work long hours

    Advice to Management

    Have less

    ExxonMobil2014-09-25
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit, projects, competitive nature, training, looks good on resume and career builder

    Cons

    Conservative, lack of work/life balance, feels pressure all the time

    ExxonMobil2014-10-05
Found 66 reviews