ExxonMobil Project Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

ExxonMobil Project Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
2 Ratings
  1. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Chalmette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great stable company with tons of opportunities. Tons of jobs available in diverse locations and fields. Great opportunity for relocation.

    Cons

    Rigid structurally with a bit more bureaucracy than I'd like. Strong core safety values but could use some modernization of work life balance culture

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2015-06-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've spent all my career in the Upstream, I've heard Downstream and Chemicals can be quite different: Excellent pay and benefits, including pension Lots of challenging assignments Frequently move to different positions Many international assignments for those that want it Excellent early career training and career development tracks / planning

    Cons

    New assignments and assignment locations are decided without enough input from employee Rankings are not transparent and often lead to bad attitudes by lower rankers Work/life balance can be very challenging; those that want to rank high typically work a lot of hours Moving up the ranks within the company requires willingness to frequently relocate which can be difficult for those with families

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2014-01-02

    ExxonMobil Response

    May 20, 2014Recruiting Consultant

    Thanks for the feedback. We have a number of great workplace flexibility programs to help balance work and life without requiring the structure of the 9/80 program.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "If you perform well you can expect a job for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Extremely high ethical standards, very high calibre people and good opportunities to move domestically and internationally. Interesting work opportunities.

    Cons

    Tends not to focus on the value of people. No internal advertising of positions so you may have little or no idea of your next position until it is offered to you. Very ridged systems and policies, particularly with respect to relocations.

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2012-08-28
  4. "The Invisible Hand knows all..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Baytown, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    Benefits are among the best in industry

    Cons

    Too much talent. Nowhere to go.

    ExxonMobil2011-07-07
  5. "Good Quality Engineering and Management at ExxonMobil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    Top quality Engineers and commitment to safety. Cost reduction as in other competitive companies is not a priority.

    Cons

    Management personnel could better communicate forecast and interface activiities plus important company events.

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2010-10-08
  6. ""Strong Management and Cost Disciplined""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    - You will not find anywhere else that pays you this well - Strong and structured management hierarchy - Lots of talented and helpful people - Established supportive system (mentor and training programs) - Encourage community involvements

    Cons

    - How many years will gas and oil business continue to survive? - Management expect your performance to exceed their expectations but they will not give you feedback until time for performance review (suprise...) - Senior employee (who worked there for >20 years) do not like being questioned or challenged about their knowledge and work

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2010-05-11
  7. "Great Compensation and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil

    Pros

    The compensation is great. My salary has grew 33% in 18 months with the company and continues to be trending upward, even in the current economic downturn. The work is challenging and the opportunities are amazing. I mentioned I like to travel and they have sent me all over the world. I have been to 5 different countries since I have started and seem to find more and more reasons to travel. Working on world class projects that you can read about in the papers gives me a sense of accomplishment. The people I work with are very intelligent which makes the my day and work week more enjoyable.

    Cons

    The politics can be overwhelming but if you can play the game it can help your career.

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2009-04-16
  8. "Good compensation with limited progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Lagos
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good and safe work environment and opportunities exist for on the job training

    Cons

    Very limited developmental assignments and career progression path for Technical personnel. Training opportunities are also very rare.

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2019-08-06
  9. "Sal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Engineer in Lagos
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and good people

    Cons

    Not a lot of attention is placed on contract staff

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2019-01-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Not what it is portrayed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relatively good pay, that's all about it

    Cons

    Working as a Contractor (or as they called it HAT Contractor) for ExxonMobil (Esso Australia) is like working in the US during the slavery period. You are an outsider, they don't say hello to you, they don't share any data with you. You are a paid labourer and just a number. No plan or vision, they just make things up as they go. They hire you and don't listen. Technically poor people only waste money.

    Continue reading
    ExxonMobil2018-08-22
Found 17 reviews