ExxonMobil Reviews | Glassdoor

ExxonMobil Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 786 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
ExxonMobil CEO Darren Woods
Darren Woods
103 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for, prioritizes work life balance and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planning Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good work, good life in general. Wonderful company to work for.

    Cons

    Process oriented company, can be tedious to follow

    ExxonMobil2019-09-14
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Treats employees fairly, global opportunities, great work life balance

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic, career moves lack transparency

    ExxonMobil2019-09-11
  3. "Excellent Place to Eork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, advancement opportunities, excellent benefits

    Cons

    Too far from home since the moved to Spring.

    Advice to Management

    My management listened and let me fill through on my ideas.

    ExxonMobil2019-09-10
  4. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good money, cool place, google like hq

    Cons

    very stressful, located in bfe

    ExxonMobil2019-08-30
  5. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator in Beaumont, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay, the benefits, and the industry is good

    Cons

    No opportunity for advancement, alot of nepotism, not family friendly atmosphere, needs to adjust to the technology time frame, on all units, the worst morale I have ever seen

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to veterans in the management aspect, change with the times,

    ExxonMobil2019-08-30
  6. ""Dog eat Dog" environment with everyone looking out for their own benefit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Safety Engineer in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Great pay Enough work to make your head spin

    Cons

    Performance reviews need to focus more on actual quality work. Rather than focusing on how well you keep everyone happy. Upward movement in career is difficult if you are not on the management route. Technical personal's movements are primarily lateral moves.

    Advice to Management

    Performance feedback to employee needs to be on going instead of once a year during performance review cycle. 1:1 meetings with management need to actually focus on career development instead of giving a monthly update of current work progress. 1:1 are a complete waste of time.

    ExxonMobil2019-08-23
  7. "Good benefits bad people skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Paulsboro, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Above average pay for non-educated.

    Cons

    Terrible people skills and treatment for amount of pay

    Advice to Management

    People skills

    ExxonMobil2019-08-06
  8. "Nice place to work if you like admin work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ExxonMobil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, beautiful place, challenging work

    Cons

    Open environment (no privacy), admins are treated like second class citizens, work is very secretarial in nature. A manager will stand over your desk asking you to schedule a meeting from their calendar when they could do it themselves much faster.

    Advice to Management

    Allow admins more flexibility to work from home like other employees are allowed. Also, admins should be allowed to apply for other jobs within the company rather than only being transferred to other departments but still be an admin.

    ExxonMobil2019-08-04
  9. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Agana Heights, GU
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many Training and advancement opportunities

    Cons

    I decided I didn’t want to work in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive about hiring locals.

    ExxonMobil2019-08-03
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in The Woodlands, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ExxonMobil full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice People And Pretty Girls

    Cons

    Bad Coffee, and no donuts

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    ExxonMobil2019-07-21
Found 786 reviews