Eyemart Express Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Eyemart Express CEO Michael Bender (no image)
Michael Bender
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cool benefits like free glasses(in 9 reviews)

  • "The doctor is fantastic and the frame selection varies from(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The manager was a tyrant and upper management didn't seem to have an issue with her style of motivation(in 18 reviews)

  • "Long hours and could get really busy at times(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Eyemart Express and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 1, 2021 - Retail Optician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid holidays, pto, low pressure sales, incentives

      Cons

      Communication with corporate could improve

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      GM is a joke and pervert

      Mar 28, 2021 - Lab Technician in Las Cruces, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a job for a point of time

      Cons

      GM is a basic joke. Does not know the ins and outs of the operation. Pushes well working employees out the door. Revolving door mentality from GM. Everyone is replaceable. Lab employees worked the hardest and compensated the lowest. Machinery is always breaking down. GM worries more about saving than repairing machinery to work properly and efficiently, effectively for bigger payout bonuses at years end. DLMs are aware of employee problems but refuse to create waves and disturbances within management to properly correct problems. You are clocked out early to help management close out payroll if running behind. GM is gone for multiple hours at a time. Lab is suppose to run short staffed when overloaded with jobs. In turn creating customer/business relationships. GM mentality is they are they boss so what they do unlawfully/unethically is ok because they are the boss. GM has flirtatious/demeaning attitude with females. Call names are given for each female worker. GM looses control of his anger and throws objects in lab and excuses it as being excited. I would not recommend my worst enemy let alone my friends. Worst location ran. Company as a whole has a standing chance. Thank you for the opportunity the company has given me.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Meh

      Apr 19, 2021 - Lab Technician in Cedar Park, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun work if you like doing the same things every day/working with your hands. If you enjoy challenges that come in every day at a fast pace, this job doth provide.

      Cons

      Management is poor on nearly every level. Pay is often insufficient for the amount of work done, especially when it comes to the incentives received on top of your base pay. Training is spotty/inconsistent, much like the company's policies. If you get lucky with a good store manager, it can be tolerable. Otherwise, pay + workload = not worth it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great patients

      Apr 15, 2021 - Apprentice Optician in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incentives, PTO, free eyewear and interacting with customers

      Cons

      Retail hours, on your feet all day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      IT

      Apr 15, 2021 - IT Analyst I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment to establish fundamentals.

      Cons

      growth opportunity within IT is limited.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I had a blast at my time with EyeMart

      Feb 1, 2021 - Lead Lab Technician in Moline, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is large but it feels like you actually know everyone. It doesn't take much to get the recognition you're looking for and I think they're a fair decent group to work for. I miss them terribly.

      Cons

      As for most employers I think that your management makes a huge difference. Things are a little gray in that area and I'm only speaking on personal experience. So it should be taken with a grain of salt. I think that maybe when training management there should be a little more corporate training or involvement. It seems like most managers that aren't seasoned are incredibly confused or ill-prepared for the tasks at hand.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Eyemart Express Response

      HR Business Partner

      This feedback is great and we really appreciate your insight. We are always looking to fine-tune our management and development programs and want to make sure Managers feel as though they are set-up for success and provided the tools and support needed to make a difference and an impact with their teams. It’s true what you mention about feeling like you work for a small, family company! It truly is a special place to be!

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Decent perks

      Mar 31, 2021 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Closed on Sundays good perk

      Cons

      Lower pay for high demands

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Mistreated

      Mar 26, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Pella, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The opportunity to work with people Learn about the optical field

      Cons

      Discriminated Mistreated Punished for standing up Work of clock Terminated for seeking help from HR HR to busy to listen or investigate Corporate demanding you follow commands and get passed being mistreated Poor incentives Poor discounts Poor communication from the corporate Poor training, pushed into work to just make money for company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      It's okay

      Apr 19, 2021 - Optician in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people to work with

      Cons

      Didn't enjoy working there too much

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 3, 2021 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Home office cares about the employees as much as the customers. Often asked our input since we are out in the field.

      Cons

      Raises get lower every year.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Eyemart Express Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for this feedback and for your years of service with Eyemart Express. Please keep providing suggestions on ways we can continue to improve and support our associates. Regarding raises – we are on a mission to make this better! 2020 was a weird year, but we plan to get back on track this year and for years to come.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 202 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Eyemart Express Job Seekers

    Lab Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Eyemart Express? Share Your Experiences

    or