FARO Technologies "new ceo" Reviews | Glassdoor

FARO Technologies Employee Reviews about "new ceo"

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FARO Technologies CEO Michael D. Burger
Michael D. Burger
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "People are leaving left and right due to upper management, pay and hostile environment(in 10 reviews)

  • "Maybe because, he was on his best behaviour and too busy shielding the regular employees from talking to the new CEO(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "new ceo"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time

    Pros

    I work with great people in a great office environment. I feel appreciated.

    Cons

    Many ups and downs recently but looking forward to the new CEO making FARO even better!

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2019-07-10

    FARO Technologies Response

    July 11, 2019

    We are so happy that you are happy! Keep the feedback coming!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Don't believe the recent reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maybe its good that there is a new CEO but only time will tell. He started doing some house cleaning already but there is still a ton of work to be done.

    Cons

    About a year ago, there was talk about responding to negative reviews that people were putting out but it wasn't approved. Fast forward 6 months later, HR started writing fake positive review in order to entice potential candidates to apply. Still wasn't enough to turn the tide on the negative reviews. Now the recent directive from HR is to give employees an "incentive" to write a positive review of the organization. Buyer beware, I don't think that it is morally appropriate to encourage fake news. Directive is coming from the tops of HR which should probably do a better job of keeping these schemes a lot more quiet as all the employees are talking about it well outside of HR.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2019-07-19

    FARO Technologies Response

    July 26, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. With a new CEO on board this is an exciting time for FARO. Employees are encouraged, not incentivized, to review FARO on Glassdoor. Employee feedback is key to our goal for an improved employee experience, and many of our FARO employees have a positive outlook toward the future of FARO and are proud to share them on Glassdoor.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "New Regime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Hoping organizational changes will occur with new CEO

    Cons

    Ice cream social in lieu of bonuses

    FARO Technologies2019-06-26

    FARO Technologies Response

    June 27, 2019

    Thanks for your comments! We have gotten very positive feedback about the Ice Cream Social Event to welcome our new CEO and provide him with the opportunity to meet all of our terrific FARO employees! I hope you were able to have some one-on-one time with Michael during the event. He is working with our leadership team to improve our culture and other issues. Stay tuned, it's going to be an exciting year!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Great company with awesome future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    FARO has one of the best products in the industry. Atmosphere is lot more upbeat since the announcement of the new CEO. Great people to work for in this company. Let’s keep this momentum going!

    Cons

    Some of the top senior executives and leaders needs to go. They are just paying little politics and doesn’t care about people. HR is really trying to bring back the and uplift the morales but some of these executives trying to stop them from doing anything positive for employees by cutting budget.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2019-04-26

    FARO Technologies Response

    May 22, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback! We are excited about our new CEO starting in June and have been working with him (albeit prior to his formal start date) on changing our culture and other issues to improve FARO. Keep your feedback coming and thank you for your commitment to FARO.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Work here at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good PTO leave, employees are nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Horrible leadership at the top. New CEO coming in and people are optimistic but hopeful there will be change. Top leadership needs cleaned out. They make decisions without listening to the people in the field. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT ANYONE OTHER THAN THEMSELVES. The workers are second class citizens. Horrible compensation plan. You may get a signed offer letter and compensation package. They change it when they want and if you don't accept you are fired. They have reduced commission 3 times in just over a year. People are leaving left and right due to upper management, pay and hostile environment.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2019-05-16

    FARO Technologies Response

    May 20, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback. We are currently working with our new CEO (albeit prior to his formal start date) on changing our culture and other issues to improve FARO. If you would like to provide more direct feedback, please email our Chief People Officer, Katrona Tyrrell at katrona.tyrrell@FARO.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Horrible Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    co-workers and benefits make it passably worthwhile

    Cons

    Out of touch CEO, wage cuts, unattainable metrics, lack of upward mobility. This was a great place to work under the old CEO. Family atmosphere and feeling that employees were valued. New CEO has completely turned that around and it has affected morale which is pretty much non-existent. It's become a bad, fear based, environment. Unfortunately the sales numbers are good so the Board of Directors will never replace Raab. Employees were told three years ago he was at most a 12 month step-in. There has not been an active replacement search for over 30 months.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2018-04-03

    FARO Technologies Response

    June 5, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback. We are currently working with our new CEO (albeit prior to his formal start date) on changing our culture and other issues to improve FARO.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Extremely high turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Exton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FARO Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had the exciting opportunity to work in R&D and production. Some of the greatest colleagues in terms of knowledge and capability were met here. Great salary, benefits, and stock options.

    Cons

    Management is running the company into the ground - new CEO has a different idea every day that would change R&D's priorities. Talented colleagues are finding new work very easily after realizing the toxic culture here.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2016-10-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, wish I could have stayed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FARO Technologies full-time

    Pros

    My experience at Faro didn't last very long (7 months), but Iin that time it was a great experience. The products were great, the people were top notch, and the company ran relatively efficiently compared to other companies I have worked for.

    Cons

    The main complaint I have is that the company was completely driven by stock performance. Any sudden change in stock price resulted in sudden change. Knee jerk reaction would be a good description. Right now, they don't have a CEO. He quit the same day 8% of the workforce was terminated. I'm hoping that a new CEO can come onboard and get the company going in the right direction. The potential is there for the company to perform well again.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2016-02-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Halt die Klappe!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Stuttgart
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FARO Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, decent benefits. The tech is top notch. There is potential to be a great place to work. Amazing colleagues that stick together and support each other.

    Cons

    There are several of the regional leadership/management team that could benefit from training on how to treat people with respect. An exapmle of this is a VP that uses the signature line “Are you MBA?” Married but Available… How creepy is that? You would expect someone of his level to know better and behave accordingly. Hopefully, this will give others the courage to come forward and expose him for who he really is. Another example happened at our last holiday party in front of hundreds of employees. He yelled at the top of his lungs telling us to “halt die Klappe” which translates to “Shut your mouths”. Dogs are treated with more respect. I’m surprised we didn’t have a repeat of this during the CEO visit at the company barbeque. Maybe because, he was on his best behaviour and too busy shielding the regular employees from talking to the new CEO. I really hope there is another survey, that will allow the regular employees to voice their opinion directly to the new CEO.

    Continue reading
    FARO Technologies2019-08-13

    FARO Technologies Response

    August 28, 2019People Operations Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that your experience has not been a positive one. We are currently working with our new CEO to create a company where people are valued and feel empowered to succeed and grow. We take all employee feedback seriously, and we are always looking for ways to improve. If you would care to provide additional feedback, please feel free to reach out via the AskHR portal or contact me directly at Katrona.Tyrrell@faro.com. Thank you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 9 reviews