FCC Reviews | Glassdoor

FCC Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler
Tom Wheeler
16 Ratings
  1. "Liked working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FCC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Like working here. People are very nice.

    Cons

    Prepare working from 1st day.

    Advice to Management

    Great management

    FCC2019-07-31
  2. "Great Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at FCC full-time

    Pros

    Upward mobility, you learn a lot

    Cons

    Government red tape can be frustrating

    FCC2018-12-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at FCC full-time

    Pros

    Small, fairly relaxed; liberal telework policy.

    Cons

    Very top heavy with management; layers and layers of supervision.

    FCC2018-09-13
  5. "Summer at the FCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FCC full-time

    Pros

    Great people, really patient and excellent place to learn with the training wheels on. Promising future if you impress your superiors and stay committed.

    Cons

    Easy to get bogged down and bored in government red tape and the slow bureaucratic drafting process.

    FCC2018-08-28
  6. "Government attorney job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FCC full-time

    Pros

    Good job as a government attorney

    Cons

    Nothing major to report for this category

    Advice to Management

    Thank you very much for your work

    FCC2018-05-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good work, but wild partisan swings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FCC full-time

    Pros

    Independence, making a difference in people's lives

    Cons

    Political swings lead to huge changes in policy so it's hard to accomplish anything durable. See, e.g., Chairman Pai, racing to undo everything the last two Chairmen did -- totally partisan and ideological.

    Advice to Management

    Try to be less ideological, more pragmatic.

    FCC2018-02-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at FCC

    Pros

    Great workplace, engaging responsibilities, fantastic Coworkers

    Cons

    Far commute Could see how someone might find it boring at time

    FCC2018-01-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Statistician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FCC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Absolutely none. Well, parking was OK.

    Cons

    This is Washington's worst agency by general consent. Young college grads are brought in there from all over the country and parked at desks and left to rot. I was there for 10 years and never received a single professional assignment. There were no meetings, no planning, no training, no projects. At the same time the so-called "Branch Chiefs" and "Division Chiefs" were bottom-of-the-barrel nonentities whose idea... of a workday was to read the paper mornings and afternoons, broken only by 1 1/ lunches.. If one attempted to create his/her own assignments he was targeted for abuse and his work was ignored or thrown away. They seemed to enjoy watching the employees languish at their desks with nothing to do. And at the same time were reluctant to provide references lest someone "escape" and find a real job. . Finally, I went into business for myself. Now, I wake up every morning with the exhilaration of knowing that I AM NO LONGER TRAPPED AT THE FCC!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In my lifetime I hope never again to be associated with people of your caliber again. You are the most futile, stagnant, paltry and worthless humans conceivable by even the most sick and fevered imagination. It is a sad and frightening thought to reflect that the absurd and ghastly joke called the FCC is responsible for this great country's communication policy.

    FCC2018-01-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great place for young professionals (other than lawyers)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Washington, DC

    I have been working at FCC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits package.

    Cons

    Hopelessly political and repressive.

    FCC2017-11-22
  11. "Contracting Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FCC full-time

    Pros

    The agency is a small agency so you actually get to know many employees on a personal and professional basis

    Cons

    The agency is politically divided because its senior leadership are appointed based on who is the governing party.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the people who do the job rather than those who want to be politically accepted.

    FCC2017-10-28
Found 63 reviews
</>Embed