FDM Group "2 year contract" Reviews | Glassdoor

FDM Group Employee Reviews about "2 year contract"

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "One thing that is certain is that FDM is a gateway to blue chip companies(in 89 reviews)

  • "The opportunity presented to the dedicated trainees is by far the biggest positive of the graduate programme(in 74 reviews)

Cons
  • "Account Managers do not know anything technical but they make the decision or look for jobs where you gonna work for the next 2 years(in 164 reviews)

  • "2 year contract with buy out cost(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "2 year contract"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very Good Opportunity, Very Supportive Of Consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - IT Consultant in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    -They provided the opportunity for me to learn a lot about programming, opportunities that I would have difficulties having in my home country. -Opportunity to work for big time companies(JP Morgan, etc.) -Different departments(Account Managers, Payroll, HR) all do their best to support you. -I have a story, its about an issue with my pay. I approached different departments about it and they all did their best to help me with the issue. Two of them are even willing to sacrifice their own finances to make sure I'm fine, one of them was an Account Manager and the other was the Manager for US Payroll. At the end of the day they didn't have to because they successfully found the problem and resolved it. They're always willing to do what it takes to help you.

    Cons

    More of an advice if you want to join them. -Be sure to network -Save up money for the initial 2 year contract, just in case you get relocated to a different state

    FDM Group2019-07-05
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time job for 2 years.

    Cons

    2 year contract feels like prison in most cases and interview process is not personable.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-12-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Before signing, do a quick google search on why theyre being sued by various parties."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Java Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I literally cant think of any pros. Maybe if youre straight out of college its a good entry point, but even then youre better off working entry level software engineering job and move upward after year 1.

    Cons

    Low pay. Account manager do not care about you. You basically have to do their job for them and keep asking to get placed everyday. They also seem to play favorites too as others seem to go on several interviews for the same position/cohort. No transparency on your pay. Java developers gets the same amount of pay as every other stream. The work I was doing commanded 118k starting and I was barely getting 38k. Promises to reimburse my rent, never to be heard from again. They also tell you stories about how consultants will work at placement site full time after two years, but thats winning the lotto. Talked to several FDMers and only 1 person got full time status after 2 year contract with FDM.

    FDM Group2019-12-04
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Gets Pay wrong, no help at end of contract, changing account managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - App Support/PMO in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    opportunities with highly esteemed companies

    Cons

    just a heads up, ratings below 1 are not accepted by glassdoor, so this is really a 4 point scale, not 5. 0/4 Without fail, me or one of my colleagues receives an incorrect (lower) pay than agreed to by contract. I am lucky enough to be placed with a few colleagues from FDM so we can compare our paychecks and find where they attempt to short change us. I feel bad for those who do not have anyone to compare with FDM shows a nice looking presentation stating that at the end of a 2 year contract (which pays 40k year 1, 45k year 2, non negotioable) there are 3 options, remain a 3rd year FDM consultant with a negotiable raise in pay, be onboraded by the firm with which you were placed, or leave both firms and go on your own. What they dont tell you is that after 2 full years working for a firm, FDM offers the client firm the option to renew your contract for a short term of 3 months, if the client wants to do this, FDM will refuse to raise your pay. Another issue i have is that each consultant is under an account with a client firm which has an account manager. The account manager helps you understand the position you will be interviewing for and manages the relationship with the client. Additionally, the account manager is a contact for us throughout our placement and is who we negotiate our pay after 2 years is up. FDM switched my account manager mid placement to an account manager with whom i had never spoken, and this new account manager is incredibly hard to reach, and provides me with no help.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-06-28
  6. Helpful (86)

    "Be VERY Careful. Option of last resort. Very honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relevant Training (albeit at a much higher cost than you think), Opportunity to live in NYC (although you won't get paid enough to survive on your own there), benefits are decent, segued into a good job with experience from company, it's a job if you have given up on finding something else and need a job. I will start with the Pros, this company does offer very relevant and useful training courses. These courses are up to date with industry and you will be able to add them to your resume after you finish with FDM but they only offered us one certification where they would pay for the test. My advice would be to get as many certifications as you can while you have the knowledge of the training they give you so you can put it on your resume and get out of the company after 2 years. It will be extra work, but it is worth it in the long run. The opportunity to be in NYC was pretty cool and I did some fun things but I had money saved up for that before my time with FDM as they don't pay you enough to do anything more than survive while you are in NYC. They do offer benefits and match a low percentage of your 401K which is more than I was expecting after reading other reviews. I was able to find a job using my experience from FDM after my employment that doubled my salary but it wasn't with the company FDM sent me too and I think a huge part of it was I got some certifications FDM wouldn't pay for but provided the training for. But again good luck getting money for the test unless you have some before you start working here... For my situation it provided me with the opportunity to have a job where I wanted to work but I took a huge pay cut to do it. Overall if you can't find another job and need work, this can be a last ditch effort to get a job and it can get you a good job afterwards, but just prepare to feel cheated and way underpaid for 2+ years. All that said if you have the money go take a boot camp course in ITIL and whatever other certs you want and you won't have to be a slave to terrible salary for 2+ years.

    Cons

    Pay, the way they split up your pay, you will constantly have to check them on their word, you won't be able to afford breaking your contract, did not get an offer from the company FDM placed me at following my FDM stint, lied about our contract length, they pay you less than they make off of you. PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THIS JOB UNLESS IT IS YOUR LAST HOPE. I had read a bunch of Glassdoor reviews and the bad ones are pretty factual. I needed a job so I took the job but you should know you are basically a slave to the company for the next 27 months. For starters, they give you good training but it cost you so much more than it would anywhere else. We got about 2 months of training but they double charge you for it. 1) They say you can't leave the company unless you pay them $30K and you only make about $45 or $50K a year so it is impossible to leave if you want a place to live and food to eat. 2) You will get paid well below your colleagues once you are on site. I kid you not, I took a job doing the exact same thing with less work for a new company and instantly over doubled my salary. They made us come to NYC for training (which is actually pretty cool) but then they pay you as if you live with your mom down the street! For training you get a bonus that will not cover a place to stay while you are in NYC and you get minimum wage for your training time, which if you have ever been to NYC means you might be lucky to eat PB&Js the whole time you are there and spend less than you make. Anything you want to do while in NYC is not coming from the money you make from FDM. Once we finished training, and were on-site, you quickly realize that the people who do your exact job make twice as much as you, and I am not exaggerating about that. What the client company pays FDM for you to work for them is over twice your salary so FDM makes more off of you than you actually make. Multiple times we had to recheck our paychecks because multiple times they were not correct when we got them. They purposely split up your pay in many ways just to confuse you so be ready to do some math every time you get a paycheck just to make sure you are getting that super low amount they are required to pay you by their contract! You won't be paid for holidays and likely you will be forced to use all of your vacation days when you don't want to (but that is dependent on the client you end up working for as well as FDM). We were told our contract would be 2 years, but that only includes your time on site, your contract is actually 2-3 months of minimum wage for training, plus 2 more years on top of that. We were also told we would have a month of training once onsite and THEN our 2 year contract would start. So you are basically stuck with them for longer than you thought. We also had our contract end a month before we were told it was, which you would think would be a good thing but we found out a month before that when a team member tried to get vacation time from our client and the client told us we actually weren't employed on that date even though FDM told us we would be. So all of us had one less month to search for a job or start getting half of what we thought we would get paid because FDM flat out lied to us about our end date. All I will say is be prepared to constantly check this company at their word. It was a miserable 2 years full of surprises. They do offer some helpful things but they come at a VERY expensive cost to you the employee.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2018-10-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "You get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid Java Development Course Prestigious Clients Possibility of coming out of contract with great experience and possibly a solid job opportunity A way to get your foot in the door as a developer if you have no prior work experience

    Cons

    Irritating pay structure (base salary + daily payment for days billed on client location) Uncertainty of length and location of client placement The 2 year contract is restrictive and if things go badly you could be trapped

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2018-07-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Consultant, Very Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Experience that many may not be able to attain otherwise

    Cons

    -Consultant support was inadequate -Very low pay, especially considering cost of living in areas of assignment -2 year contract carried a significant financial penalty if broken early

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2018-07-26
  9. "IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start your career. I personally have had a great experience here so far.

    Cons

    Yes, the 2 year contract and relatively low salary could be a downside. However, considering the growth potential FDM provides, it seems fair.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2017-04-10
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Exhaust all other options before considering FDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Hyde Park, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can provide opportunities to work for companies you may not otherwise have a chance Allow and encourage consultants to transition to full-time employees with your client (after fulfilling 2-year commitment to FDM) Provides good training prior to being placed on a client site

    Cons

    Far below average pay (minimum wage during training period, ~43K annually once on-site) Little to no say in who your client will be Must be willing to relocate 2-year contract with an early termination fee

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2016-12-04
  11. Helpful (1)

    "FDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People, Staff very friendly and helpful

    Cons

    2 year contract but it is understandable as to why it exists

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2016-10-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews