FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

FDM Group Applications Support Analyst Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Application Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    -amazing work culture. everyone is young, full of energy and motivated -the training and trainers are amazing, and know their stuff inside out -the account managers work very hard to find and prepare you for roles

    Cons

    -the payment during training could be higher, but since you havent been placed yet, its understandable that it isnt

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    FDM Group2016-09-08
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Great start to my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Culture is so great that it makes you want to come to work everyday (amazing location and people), The 3 months training is very helpful no matter what you end up doing in the future (UNIX, SQL, BA, ITIL), This has been a very successful business model in the UK, USA, Hong Kong etc, and the Toronto location is getting more and more popularity. If you have an interest in finance and IT, then FDM is the way to go!

    Cons

    Pay is the only bad thing, but you can't complain considering they pay for training + 2 certificate vouchers + get you started with a career you otherwise couldn't get in to.

    Advice to Management

    Keep following the model. Keep valuing the consultants.

    FDM Group2016-07-30
  3. "Application Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Zürich
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gives a great opportunity to launch a career in IT. You get to work for top firms from different industry sectors.

    Cons

    Not that great support from the staff once you're on site.

    Advice to Management

    Try making plans to get in touch with Consultants at different points during their placements to see the progress being made by consultants.

    FDM Group2015-06-21
  4. Helpful (4)

    "IT Career Kickstarter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for FDM has been a great experience for me. The commercially-relevant training instantly gave me credibility as a qualified IT professional. I have worked with some fantastic clients and had invaluable exposure at an early stage in my career, which allowed me to progress faster than expected. Most importantly I have met some great like-minded people on my FDM journey.

    Cons

    The initial training is very intense and unpaid, which can be a struggle, but if you can get through it, its all uphill there onwards. Also the fixed salary for the first two years is not great, especially when you are expected to be geographically flexible, but you learn so much in these two years and can command almost double in your 3rd year.

    Advice to Management

    Think up of some performance related bonus.

    FDM Group2014-04-25
  5. "Fun, challenging and fast paced with great career prospects. Fast growing company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing company Extensive client list Fantastic opportunities for graduates

    Cons

    No major cons as yet.

    FDM Group2013-06-14
  6. "Great to get a foot in the door of an investment bank, poorly paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can almost guarantee you a job in an investment wih the prospects of a great career Nearly all investment banks are their clients

    Cons

    Money terrible; 22k yr 1 27k yr2 After the two yrs if you want to go contracting with your employer u have to either buy out for 3months gross or leave for 6 months and come back

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so tight with the money, look after your staff

    FDM Group2013-05-04
  7. "Application Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, lots of learning opportunities using different softwares and skill sets. Good opportunity to get into the finance and IT sectors

    Cons

    Some trainings are good, but not enough practise. Some trainings are useless and spent too much time on them. No wages, need to support yourself for the duration of the training and 90 days. (Min:10 weeks Max: 6 months)

    FDM Group2013-03-21
  8. "Current Mountie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I seeked employment for five months after I finished university, and failed to gain ONE interview in this time. I trained in Application Support and have just been placed at Barclays after 4 months at FDM. It has been hard on my money, but as a route into the world of finance, it is helped. FDM could improve some areas, the VBA course is one example. But it is a lie to say they mis-inform you! I would like to point...

    Show More

    Cons

    The salary could be bigger in London. We are left to independantly learn Training is difficult at points

    Advice to Management

    relate more to mounties, perhaps arrnage more events where current trainers interact with account managers.

    FDM Group2012-11-30
  9. Helpful (15)

    "OK in terms of getting experience of the financial IT area, but not much else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    The only reason I see as beneficial from working with FDM has been the chance to gain experience in financial (investment bank in my case) IT industry.

    Cons

    - Renumeration is less than the equivalent level (entry/graduate) roles for permanent employees at financial insitutions. - No real benefits other than a salary (no pension, bike2work, dental etc etc) - The training is not a very high standard (class environment is akin to being back at sixth form college unfortunately) - No objectives setting when on a placement, no apparaisal/review system. Left to your own devices...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See those items listed in the pros and cons above. This is intended as constructive, for anyone looking up the compant on glassdoor.

    FDM Group2012-05-03
Found 5 reviews