FDM Group Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

FDM Group Consultant Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
36 Ratings
  1. "Very Good Opportunity, Very Supportive Of Consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    -They provided the opportunity for me to learn a lot about programming, opportunities that I would have difficulties having in my home country. -Opportunity to work for big time companies(JP Morgan, etc.) -Different departments(Account Managers, Payroll, HR) all do their best to support you. -I have a story, its about an issue with my pay. I approached different departments about it and they all did their best to help...

    Show More

    Cons

    More of an advice if you want to join them. -Be sure to network -Save up money for the initial 2 year contract, just in case you get relocated to a different state

    FDM Group2019-07-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Got placed with Fannie Mae"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Get placed with big name companies that you would not otherwise a chance, with Industry experience Professional Training Job-like experience prior to being placed Knowledgeable Trainers Staff that genuinely cares Amazing CEO If you end up training in Austin, you lucked out. I don't know about the other locations, but I know the people out of this office and they are amazing.

    Cons

    Low pay for high cost of living areas Needs a higher re-location allowance for those with families Not the best health care plan

    Advice to Management

    If we don't plan to increase wages for those working in high-cost of living areas, we could, at least, offer a higher re-location allowance.

    FDM Group2019-04-30
  3. "For United States, NY - Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience. Good Training. Great if you come out of college with no real work experience, just a degree and want to get into a big name company.

    Cons

    Low Pay. Do not really care about you, they care about satisfying the clients. j Also pretty sure they short employees (consultants) on paychecks hoping they will not notice.

    FDM Group2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Start Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Training Commitment to employees Excellent opportunities involving fortune 500 companies

    Cons

    Lot of work - especially if you have little to no software experience. Rigid contract structure.

    FDM Group2019-04-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have people that are trying to find you jobs and teach you things

    Cons

    You make less money

    FDM Group2019-04-17
  6. "Decent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training Getting to work with fortune 500 companies Chance to gain valuable experience

    Cons

    Work is not always consistent Can spend extended periods of time waiting for work Locked into a contract for 2 years

    FDM Group2019-04-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Decent training, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provided training is decent, and you get paid during it, albeit minimum wage. They also provide accommodations for a portion of your pay. 2 year contract with a client, 1st year $45,000, 2nd year $50000. This is well below industry standard for doing the job of a software engineer. And if you break contract, you have to pay FDM $30,000. For example, my company is paying $130,000 for my contract, but I only see $50,000...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay. They also do scheduled checkups that ultimately provide next to no benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Pay contractors industry standard for the job there do for their contract.

    FDM Group2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (9)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The training is pretty good, even though the technology they teach is outdated. - If you do a good enough job in the two years you've sold your soul to FDM. You can come out working for the client onside making considerably more money.

    Cons

    - The exact pay for your first year is $44,530. The second year is $49,530. - The benefits might as well be non existent - Once you go on site, that's it, you may as well not exist. No additional training, no employee investment, no ideas are taken into consideration. - If you look at FDM's 2018 financial statement, (all you have to do is google fdm-annual-report-2018, and scroll to page 37) you can tell how much...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Stop giving out 50$ Amazon gift cards every week for and hosting a 'lavish' boat cruise and pay your employees more. - Put up some health awareness signs in the bathrooms, no one washes their hands when leaving the bathroom. - Stop making it feel like getting a roommate is an 'adventure' . The real situation is that FDM does not pay enough for most employees to live on their own where they get placed.

    FDM Group2019-04-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training that FDM provides is good and relevant. I got placed at a large investment bank only a few weeks into training. There's a zero percent chance I would have landed that job on my own. I give FDM an A+ for helping me get an awesome job with a prestigious company. Many opportunities to interview with great companies. For computer science graduates that are having difficulty finding their first software...

    Show More

    Cons

    During training, you have to share a bedroom with another trainee. As a result, it's hard to have any privacy.

    FDM Group2019-04-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great job if you're willing to move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is excellent if you can keep up with it. Gets the first 2 years of programming experience to get other jobs.

    Cons

    Little control of where you get to live for 2 years. Wage is not adjusted for being moved to expensive living areas (NY/CA)

    Advice to Management

    Give the consultants a bit more of a choice where they live.

    FDM Group2019-02-01
Found 64 reviews