FDM Group FDM Mountie Reviews | Glassdoor

FDM Group FDM Mountie Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2014

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
3 Ratings
  1. "If you work hard, FDM can open you up to countless career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You get high-value training from the get-go at no cost (no course tuition) -Time savings: you learn things in a week that you could spend a full semester on in a course elsewhere -Great, professional, knowledgable trainers -Sales team committed exclusively to placement with clients -Very well-connected company; they have contacts at real big-name companies and can get you in the door. If you do well, the client may...

    Show More

    Cons

    -You must be able to support yourself during the weeks of training. -Located in NYC, so there's a high cost of living if you're not local

    FDM Group2012-08-21
  2. "Wonderful experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a wonderful work environment. Trainers really do care about you and ensure that you will succeed. They are very helpful and are always making sure you understand the material. The material taught at FDM are very useful and practical for the IT industry. FDM definitely knows how to prepare you for your client.

    Cons

    You do not get paid during training. You get paid on your first day when you are on-site of the client you are placed with.

    FDM Group2012-11-18
  3. "Four months of great IT training in a team setting to prepare for a financial company job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    Brand new office in the financial district. Knowledgeable trainers. Covers some of the leading new technologies in web/java development. If you went through college and had trouble putting it all together, this job will help you achieve that and get you in shape to be a developer.

    Cons

    Currently we use IGEL's that connect to VM's in England. It's an awful solution which should be solved soon. All sorts of websites are blocked by the IT guys in England, and it's rather annoying and useless. If we want to slack off, we'll find something on the internet. The free training also means unpaid training. If they decide to hire you, I think they should give you a monthly stipend to help you get by, maybe...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As you get more people, see if you can pay them slightly more, low pay may be keeping other junior IT people from joining the program. Keep the sonic wall open, stifling the internet will also stifle creativity.

    FDM Group2012-03-18
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Easy to get in, difficult to get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get in You might get a temp job Gets you into a routine Central training locations

    Cons

    Us and them mentality if you are on the mountie scheme Training ( with no pay ) can go on for as long as FDM choose - regardless of whether you've run out of money Hard to get out with a £20k penalty if you go or are chucked out - which they seem to do for very minor transgressions Awful pay - impossible to get more because you can't leave No real prospects No job at the end of 2 years Negative environment

    Advice to Management

    God knows. Do they care?

    FDM Group2014-09-19
  5. "This is an employment agency with expensive training bolt-on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's difficult to say anything genuinely positive - I joined further to reading a huge amount of positive things - primarily from the self serving and self promoting 'directors' of this scheme. What I 'bought' was NOT what I was 'sold'

    Cons

    Just a torrent of excuses, blaming others and general unreliable information, which is broadcast on all wavelengths making it difficult to ever know what is going on

    Advice to Management

    None whatsoever - you know what you do and you know how you are doing it

    FDM Group2014-03-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great career progression and the opportunity to work abroad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International Opportunities Fast career progression Exposure to blue chip companies No commercial experience needed to apply

    Cons

    The training is unpaid, but the pro's out-weigh the con's. If you can afford to support yourself financially through the training up until you are placed then it is well worth doing!!

    FDM Group2013-12-04
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Nice 'conveyor belt' business model, but can I get off please?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have some good sales people, they even talked me into signing up, so they definitely know what they're doing. Also good that we have access to Glassdoor, so that we can actually communicate with management without being summarily dismissed for rocking the rapidly sinking boat.

    Cons

    Still waiting to be signed off so that I can move on with my career, which will be a darn sight better than being paid NOTHING while waiting for jobs because they don't have any. Sorry, I mean waiting for my skills to be at the required level - yeah, right!

    FDM Group2013-10-24
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low bar to acceptance Central Location A qualification at the end of 'training' Possibility that temporary placement could lead to a permanent position

    Cons

    Far from certain to get a placement - despite initial promises when you first contact them/they contact you No guarantee - if you do get a placement - of the quality of the job Pay very poor - You sign away at least 2 and a half years sometimes 3 for total pay of less than 45k over your stay. You have to relocate ( sometimes more than once ) and try to live on this At the end of your 2 years work with FDM - ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think that you should 'front up'. This isn't a technology company, as you try to portray yourself, it's a temp agency with a nasty sting in the tail that keeps people beholden to you even after they have gone

    FDM Group2013-10-15
  9. Helpful (11)

    "You have no control of what happens once you sign the £20,000 contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    You might get a temp placement with a credible company doing something that you want to do which might add to your resume

    Cons

    You might train (yourself) for 6-9 months and get no placement - this is not uncommon You might train for 6-9 months and get a temp placement doing something you don't want to do - I repeat you have no control once you are at FDM. THe £20,000 serves to keep you doing exactly what you are told regardless of whether it is in your best interests Some of the placements are a joke - doing crap jobs for crap companies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are single handedly undercutting wages of the industry and undercutting employment rights with your cynical exploitation of people. You have reduced computer work to the lowest common denominator. Your mask of "aren't we great people" doesn't wash for a second with anyone after they have been tied into your miserable, exploitative, self-serving, parasitical contract

    FDM Group2013-05-16
  10. Helpful (8)

    "As greedy as they get..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDM Mountie in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provided me a placement in a great blue chip company.

    Cons

    Unlike EVERY other agency that provides contract work who usually take no more than a 20% percent cut from your pay, FDM take a whopping near 70%!! Granted they provide you with a some training to begin with, but 70% is completely and utterly unjustifiable. IMO

    Advice to Management

    You know what the market rate is, you should at least meet half way.

    FDM Group2013-05-02
Found 3 reviews