FDM Group IT Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

FDM Group IT Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Overall, good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    helps you get get a job, prepare for that jobs with valuable skills

    Cons

    It might take a while to get a job

    Advice to Management

    keep up the god work

    FDM Group2014-06-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Opportunity for New Graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn variety of industry specific technologies that are not taught in undergraduate computer science programs. Bypass human resources and interview directly with IT managers in top financial companies. Meet a community of highly qualified recent IT graduates.

    Cons

    Low starting salary for first two years, however if you do a good job, your employer will likely hire you permanently after the contact is completed and offer you a more competitive salary.

    FDM Group2014-03-02
  3. "First class organization for IT training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Stellar training and feedback; instructors are top-notch

    Cons

    2 year commitment; regimented system

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    FDM Group2013-12-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "They tell you one thing and do something else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hands on experience for starters!

    Cons

    For those who are experienced, not much opportunity!

    Advice to Management

    Renegotiate contract with experienced workers.

    FDM Group2013-05-12
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    You receive some "on site" training, totally useless, most of them are self taught. They teach you so call "core training" where you are taught unix and sql. One word - "Useless". The only things that do come into use is excel and that is it.

    Cons

    They lied and always keep on lying to trainee. Sales team always go I have send you resume and just be patient, I can tell you for a fact they have favorite. If the company likes you, you will always get interview, if not, not even one. How can you justify some people get like six interviews and others get none. Worst of all, even if you get place in a job, your job may "fell-through" at the end. By then you wasted... you time and you are jobless. Now lets get to the financial side of things: during the time of training it is totally unpaid, so if you ride the MTA, it is $110*5 (2 months trainings and 90days waiting to get place), a total of $550. One word of advice: AVOID!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They are just awful, if our resumes and interview are that bad, then work with us. How are some always getting interviews, other don't.Also, stop getting new recruits, in the last group of recruits only 1/4 of us got place at the end of the 90 days waiting cycle, how can you justify giving opportunities to new ones when most of us still haven't gotten place yet.

    FDM Group2012-08-17
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Over worked, Under paid, No Benefits, and NO RESPECT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many pros here. Maybe parties, but who cares when you are under paid.

    Cons

    No overtime pay Paid on a monthly basis Paid way below market rate No pension plans or benefit programs Lack of respect displayed by co-workers and management

    Advice to Management

    The average US salary for people with college degrees typically starts at $50000. However, the company chooses to pay its employees below the market at a monthly basis with no benefits or overtime pay. People are overworked, unhappy, and under paid. Increase the salary so it can be competitive to the market, get a pension plan for staff, and pay for overtime hours. This company seriously needs to adjust to American... culture.

    Show More
    FDM Group2012-06-20
  7. "Life Changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the Training is fun, you get to know people like you, hungry to learn and get a real life job, you get training in soft skills which in my opinion the most useful training i have got, teaches you how to talk, send emails, present, as silly as it sounds it was extremely helpful and made me look like an experienced professional from the start of my placement. The security after you get the job, when things were... uncertain at my placement, I was not worried I knew that whenever that placement ends I will still get paid (a slightly lower pay but still reasonable) until I get the next placement. and of course FDM parties! (will let you see that for yourself)

    Show More

    Cons

    nothing major, there are 28 days including bank holidays entitlement per year, 3 of them at the end of the year which are holidays by default, i would have like to be free to have them any time of the year instead. but none the less i was there to work hard more than anything so didn't affect me much.

    Advice to Management

    I know many hard working people that would love a kick start to their career, but they have families and can't relocate, or their expenses are too critical to spend a few weeks without income, special cases consideration might bring even more talent into FDM!

    FDM Group2019-09-12
  8. "You will get out of it what you put in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I completed the back to business stream and have achieved a number of industry standard qualifications from it. The course is far from easy but if you focus and get yourself organised it is very doable. I had been out of the IT industry for 6 years, having my CV go into a black whole took it's toll on my self esteem. By the end of this course I realised I had not forgotten everything, that my drive was still there,... I was capable and had something to contribute. This alone is invaluable in helping with the next stage of getting a placement. You are given interview practice and get feedback from the companies you interview with, this is something I didn't get in previous interviews and it was useful in honing my answers and improving my interview technique. I got a placement after my third interview and 90% of my cohort have placements after we completed our training, all with high profile companies. You will get out of it what you put in, be clear what you want but flexible in what you accept and treat it as a stepping stone to get to where you want to. Build that CV, network and make connections.

    Show More

    Cons

    Paperwork! I have never worked with a company that had so many documents and required me to print out so much to sign to start training and then again to start placement. FDM have not embraced the paperless office and the procedures feel inefficient and cumbersome. The procedure to update and release improved training docs was so onerous that it appeared to prevent this from happening. Procedures that hinder rather... than support work can lead to frustration, low morale and motivation amongst staff. Despite being a tech company investment in the IT infrastructure is long overdue with software that is about to be unsupported (windows 7).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the technology infrastructure, improve working procedures to make them more efficient and effective utilising the new technology. Reduce the amount of paperwork on joining, please!

    FDM Group2019-08-23
  9. "An Okay Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a good foot in the door for me to start my career in IT given that my degree was not in IT. Being able to work in a corporate environment enabled me to develop professionally.

    Cons

    The amount of holidays we get is not enough!

    Advice to Management

    To reach out to consultants more and have transparent communication

    FDM Group2019-09-01
  10. "Connect with FDM consultant on LinkedIn before you join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide basic training to consultants as part of selling themselves to clients. It’s not like state of art but okay. They also have connection to major banks in Canada; however TCS (tata) provides better salary.

    Cons

    First, I would doubt whether the 5 star reviews are real. Best way to find out is to connect some FDM consultants on LinkedIn and ask them what they really feel about FDM. 40k for first year and 45k for second year is modern slavery if you consider that they bill clients more than 50 dollar an hour. 30k flat exit fee is ridiculous because it does not truly reflect the training cost for them (PMO/BA training is 1/2... time of developer yet everyone is supposed to pay for the fee)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Very disappointed.

    FDM Group2019-09-14
Found 46 reviews