FDM Group Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
97 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Account managers can improve on salary negotiations after 3rd year on behalf of consultants(in 167 reviews)

  • "You're placed on a strict 2 year contract and the two years don't start until you are placed with your employer(in 83 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent Training"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent trainers, great way to launch a career in IT

    Cons

    Failure to secure placement following completion of training could mean not being able to work for a while

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-12-12
  2. "Decent enough"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Introduction to companies and decent training if you don't have a CS degree

    Cons

    Low pay, 2 year mandatory contract. You can be benched for long periods of time with no offer

    FDM Group2020-05-24
  3. "So Far So Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, instructors are very good. Allows you to learn the basics of application development.

    Cons

    I cant really think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-05-17
  4. Helpful (4)

    "It's a scam don't do it. You don't know what you'll want in a year."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not worth mentioning, overrided by cons

    Cons

    They sue you for 30,000 if you quit.

    FDM Group2020-05-08
  5. "Go for it if you have: Little marketable skills/experience and No other Choice"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Trainee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Valuable Training which might help u find jobs Gateway to work for big companies

    Cons

    Insecurity, can terminate ur contract if can't place u or if u don't do well in the training ridiculously underpaid (min wage during training, 45k once placed for 2 years) No option but to be open for any roles, anywhere in the US

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-03-23
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great for Foot-in-the-Door experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have connections in the industry that will lead you to opportunities. If you're a competent CS Major/techie that couldn't get positions because of your experience, this company is a great choice. They provide paid training and it's a great opportunity to brush up on technical skills that may have gotten rusty. They offer benefits, paid time off, and 401k matching. You are given an opportunity to travel depending on which client selects you and they do include a relocation package. You generally only work 40 hours. They value diversity and inclusion.

    Cons

    You're placed on a strict 2 year contract and the two years don't start until you are placed with your employer. Your employer can't buy out your contract. The pay is a bit low for the two years and you'll get paid the same regardless of where you're hired. You may not like your team or employer and you have no real say in the matter if you get chosen as a candidate. If you struggle in the course work it's difficult to get additional help. Overtime is discouraged once placed with a client, you only work up to 40 hours a week and it can become awkward planning deadlines.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-02-20
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Only if you're desperate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Provides good software training and soft-skills training. Friendly staff. They will help you develop and get a job

    Cons

    Locked in for two-years with a low salary. Placement is almost non-negotiable (none of the new employees knew about the strict placement until the first day of work)

    FDM Group2020-02-25
  8. "Needs Improvement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office and team culture. Salary not bad.

    Cons

    Super high pressure and repetitive job.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-02-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Bad company just don't work for them"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They did manage to get me an interview with a few good companies, like big finance companies

    Cons

    Pay is abysmally low for a programmer. One of my friends who worked for them told me FDM got paid around 120k per person that got hired I got maybe a third of that. No overtime pay. My contract was for a year and a half. After that, I had to stay at FDM getting paid around minimum wage while still coming in every day. The only way to leave was to pay 20,000. Which coming from college grads (their main audience and me) is pretty harsh. Management is terrible here, they constantly were saying things were my fault when they lack proper communication and were their fault e.g. if they lost my documents and then telling me I am giving them an attitude after telling them that they lost them. Also, there are ongoing lawsuits I heard around them, with them over not paying overtime, the exit fees and probably a few others that I am unaware of just an FYI.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-02-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hope for the hopeless!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I spent over 2 years looking for a job but had no luck as I didn’t have much experience. After reading some online reviews, I applied to FDM hesitantly. Soon after, I got accepted into FDM and started their training program. I was still unsure and had two weeks to decide if I wanted to continue, after which I did decide to continue with FDM. The training program was excellent, especially the modules on Unix, SQL, and BA. It is very beginner friendly and gives you a solid foundation. A few weeks into the training program, I got placed with JP Morgan. I completed my training and started on site a month ago. This has been such a whirlwind experience but absolutely amazing! The team at FDM feel like family to me and have been so supportive to me in this journey. I genuinely recommend FDM for anyone whose looking to get their foot in the door and build up their experience with reputable companies. If anyone told me a year ago that I’d be working in JPM a year later, I wouldn’t have believed it but here I am. There’s no way I could’ve got into a company like JPM without relevant experience but FDM has given me that opportunity. I wish I knew about FDM earlier then I would’ve started it straight after graduation! Another plus is that most of their senior execs and staff are women so it’s a very friendly space for women in tech!

    Cons

    Low pay and lack of variety in regards to industry. Most of their clients are financial institutions and if you’re new to finance then it can be challenging.

    FDM Group2019-12-03
Found 746 reviews