FDM Group "trainees" Reviews | Glassdoor

FDM Group Employee Reviews about "trainees"

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "One thing that is certain is that FDM is a gateway to blue chip companies(in 89 reviews)

  • "The opportunity presented to the dedicated trainees is by far the biggest positive of the graduate programme(in 74 reviews)

Cons
  • "Account Managers do not know anything technical but they make the decision or look for jobs where you gonna work for the next 2 years(in 164 reviews)

  • "2 year contract with buy out cost(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "trainees"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fabulous trainers who genuinely care about trainees. I learned a great deal and learned a lot about being professional and confident.

    Cons

    lack of flexible work hours.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2018-11-06
  2. "Do Your Research Before Committing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - ITSM Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast job placement Impressive clients Training is awesome and relevant They pay for travel & accommodations Personally, this was the only way I could get a job with a big company. I was very lucky and got placed with National Grid within my first month. I highly recommend this company if you've been applying for a while and have yet to get any interviews or job offers. I wouldn't recommend this company if you are fresh out of college or if you have been applying for jobs for less than a year. Give it time, because FDM pays very low and you should give yourself time to find something better before signing their 2-year contract. Before National Grid, I applied to hundreds of jobs and got barely any interviews. I'm very good in interviews, but a lot of the companies wanted someone with more skills or someone that was not out of state (I applied all over the US). But once I was with FDM, I got placed after my first interview with National Grid. FDM's clients know the type of trainees FDM produces, and so they know exactly what your skillset is. All you have to do is show your personality and if they think you'll fit in, you're golden.

    Cons

    Low pay - approx. $45K/year after placement and you get paid minimum wage during training Accommodations in Reston, VA are not great. They put 4 people in a 2-bedroom suite. You have to share a bathroom and bedroom with another trainee. You only get about $700 to help you move once you are placed. They do offer up to $2000 reimbursement, but that is not for apartment fees, it is ONLY for the cost of moving your stuff. My advice to you is to save as much as you can BEFORE starting training. Most people get placed within 2 months and since they pay you only minimum wage during training, you don't have an opportunity to save money while training. I've seen people leave bills unpaid so that they could continue training. And when you do get placed and it is time to move, you often times don't get very much time before you have to leave. And a lot of their clients are in the upper East Side (D.C., NY, MA, VA, etc.) and it is VERY expensive to live there. I got placed in Boston and it would've cost me over $2000 per month to get a 1 bedroom apartment. Not to mention the fact that a lot of people were asking for 3 months worth of rent up front (I could not afford that). So before you put yourself in a really bad place financially, PLEASE check your budget and make sure you can afford to support yourself during training and that you can afford to move last-minute. If I knew this beforehand, I would've saved a lot more money before coming. I only made it out alive because my family was willing to send me money. Another thing to consider, is that you may not get the exact job role that you want. You may have to get a different role and move within the company. You are contractually obligated to go on EVERY interview that is booked for you, and that may cause you to get a job role you didn't really want. Just do your best to make it obvious what you really want to do within the company, and you should be able to move around once you go full-time.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-09-15
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    The Academy teaches on the job skills unlike some technical college courses I've had in the past. It is a very enthusiastic atmosphere. There is a camaraderie among trainees. Projects are very fast paced but trainers are extremely knowledgeable and helpful with course work. I feel like my skill level has grown significantly since I started at FDM.

    Cons

    Professional business attire every day.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2017-05-16
  4. Helpful (38)

    "IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Disclaimer, I gave the company 4 stars since my experience has been good so far and I'm nearing a year of employment with them. I will also not sugar coat things I found wrong and unethical. Refer to cons for the stuff to keep in mind. 1) You will get your foot into the door into big financial companies if you play your cards right. 2) They have implemented paid training to catch up with the times and attract better candidates. A current trainee that I know is making $12 an hour while being trained for 3 months. 3) They're model is to have a consultant work on site for two years with the possibility of getting hired internally from the site that you work with after. I've seen a couple cases of this during my 1st year onsite. 4) During my time at the academy, everything was transparent and I fully understood what I was getting into. 5) I knew where I was going to be after my training during my 5th week at the academy. 6) If you happened to be in the right place and right time, you'll get some good stuff and a hand shake from the CEO for being the 1000th employee in the US. If you did not have a good internship during college, or knew the right people, FDM might be a good stepping stone for a career in corporate America. Some of the previous negative reviews (US Based) are through candidates who believed all the sugar coating that was said during their assessment / academy process.

    Cons

    1) Account managers could be a little bit pushy with trying to get their positions filled. They are in fact salesmen and their two targets are clients for positions, and candidates who will fill them. This being said, as long as you are a level headed person and you do not believe every single thing the account managers say, you should be fine and deal with them just fine. They like to use their British accents and smiles to charm everyone. Just be aware, if you go on an interview and get the position at a client's site, it's pretty much set in stone unless you want to fight a war changing utility companies. 2) Everyone keeps talking about account managers in previews reviews so I can quote another experience that did not happen personally to me but I saw it unfold. A trainee wasn't approached by account managers for interviews so that person decided to reach out to account managers to possibly get some interviews with clients. Because the position was outside the tri-state area, this person declined to move forward with the interview stages. Apparently the account manager didn't like that and spoke to the academy manager about how said trainee is leaving a baste taste in their mouth by declining interviews. Said trainee only declined one interview which was outside his tri-state area contract. 3) There is a separation fee if you decide to leave within the first two years voluntarily for the training provided and services given while placing a candidate. You could be fined 30000 for leaving the company the first year and it becomes a 20000 fine the second year. 4) Pay structure is weird with having a basically salary and a daily bonus rate. If you take paid vacation, bank holidays or have been furloughed due to a decision on a bank, you will be penalized by missing out on half of your pay for those days. 5) If you get sent back to the academy and sit there too long without getting placed at a different site, the company will let you go since you are a cost to them. That would be fine but HR will tell you during assessment day that pretty much "everyone" will be on site for 2 years straight and that cases of people being let go are few and far between, I know of 4 so far. 6) Another point on skewed numbers. During the assessment day, HR will claim that most people end get getting hired internally after their 2 year commit. I myself asked if they kept any kind of statistics or metrics on this and they told me they did not. Now I'm not a rocket scientist, but if you tell me something and have no evidence to back it up, the credibility of that statement is just about void.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2016-09-25
  5. Helpful (6)

    "It's the people and experiences that matter, not the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Java Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    I've been working at FDM for a little over 3 months now. I am a trainee in the Java Development stream who is about to start my placement at Fannie Mae in Reston Virginia. I have a computer science background and received my placement 3 weeks into training, much faster than I anticipated. So far I have enjoyed my time with FDM immensely, and I truly mean it. I feel I've been given such an awesome opportunity, and on this adventure I've gained invaluable connections, friends, and Java development experience. I am from the west coast and FDM flew me out to NYC to attend the training academy. They paid for my stay in a hotel while in NYC as well as my flight. I had read some poor reviews on here about FDM before taking the leap of faith, but I now see that most of what those reviews had said is untrue, exaggerated, or written by disgruntled former employees. FDM isn't perfect, but it also isn't a bad choice for recent college grads who are struggling to get experience in the IT field. I'd say the most positive thing I've gained from FDM outside of experience is friends. There are so many different, unique, and diverse people within FDM and so far everyone I have met has been extremely kind and friendly. Coming from the west coast I was worried about making friends in NYC, but I had little to no trouble at all. Everyone is extremely helpful and wants you to succeed. FDM essentially feels like going back to school. Although they expect you to be and act professional, everyone is pretty young and easy going so it's not as rigid and robotic feeling as I thought it would be. The atmosphere around the NYC office is quite welcoming and friendly. Team work is essential at FDM, there is a lot of team building, group projects, and discussion based learning. In the real world you are expected to work well in groups, and FDM heavily emphasizes teaching it's trainees to be adept at doing so. FDM recently started offering a pretty hefty medical/dental benefits package and soon will be offering 401k. The company isn't huge, but is certainly on the rise and is doing everything it can to provide for it's employees. FDM isn't for everyone, but I absolutely do not regret my decision. This has been the greatest adventure of my life, and some of the people I've met here will be lifelong friends. The experience I've gained is invaluable, and FDM helped me get my foot in the door of the software development when I had 0 experience out of college. I saw another review on glassdoor titled "You get what you put in" and that is precisely how I feel about FDM. If you have a positive outlook and drive to succeed, FDM is a wonderful stepping stone into a career in IT. Last but not least, the CEO Rod Flavell is a great and pleasant guy to be around. I had the pleasure of meeting him during the FDM Group boat party in NYC and he was extremely friendly and humble. He was willing to give me hug at the end of the party, which I thought was awesome of him to do. Me being a trainee, the lowest on the food chain, and him being the CEO, the highest, I think it was really cool of him to shake my hand, give me a hug and express his appreciation for me. Overall, great experience.

    Cons

    The pay isn't ideal, but in such a competitive job market it really is the experience that counts. It's a 2 year commitment at a salary that is less than most IT companies, but most new hires at FDM (including myself) are in their early 20's and 2 years is a minuscule amount of time in the grand scheme of an entire career. I can not reiterate enough that it is the experience and people that count, not the pay. For those that can land a 60-100k job straight out of college, FDM isn't for you, but for those who cant, 46-50k a year is more money than a lot of us recent college grads have ever made. Sure, I should be making more as a Java developer, but I have about 30-40 years of my career left. I'll make 6 figures one day, and I'm happy to say my adventure started with FDM. Most of the trainers at FDM are extremely friendly, but some of them can be... sub par in their teaching abilities. I don't think many of the trainers at FDM actually have teaching degrees or a Masters/PhD in the subject they are teaching, so sometimes it can feel like they are fumbling to articulate the material (especially if you have a degree in the subject they are training you in). Out of all the trainers I met though, none of them are arrogant and pretend to be more knowledgeable than they actually are. It was not uncommon for an entire class and the trainer to investigate and learn a subject together on the go, which I actually really enjoyed. If a trainer was struggling to articulate the material, they were quick to admit it. For some people who are "tri-state" only (meaning they are only available for jobs in the NYC area) sometimes it can take a really long time to receive interviews and/or a placement at one of FDM's clients. As I said before, I'm geographically flexible and I received a placement at Fannie Mae almost immediately. The account managers at FDM can sometimes be quite pushy and aggressive with getting you interviews. This can be viewed as a good thing, but sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming, making you feel obligated to interview for positions you aren't necessarily interested in. The account managers are paid on commission I'm pretty sure, so they make money for every trainee they place at a client, therefore they want to make as many placements as they can. Another semi-con about FDM Group are the recruiters. You can tell they are purposely misleading about certain things, and you can also tell they are trained salesmen and say the things you want to hear. Perhaps it's just me, but I think the recruiters can be a tiny bit shady, and I'm just being honest here. It's not necessarily a bad thing, because I understand recruitment and how commission works, but I think recruiters can be a little more upfront and less sales-y.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2016-07-13
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Recruitment Team/Account Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    From the recruitment/sales standpoint, the environment in the wall street office is incredibly supportive and open. Trainees hang out together and develop friendships not only amongst themselves but with the trainers as well. The Academy trainers, recruitment team, account managers, finance team, HR, marketing teams are all friendly towards one another. As part of the recruitment team, I tried to keep in contact with those I recruited - they all were very happy with the training, with the networking opportunities as well, they really, tenjoyed it. Myself - I would not have continued into Account Management if I did not also truly enjoy what I did, if I did not see that we really did help individuals build their IT careers. To compare FDM to more sinister forms of employment such as slavery is completely ludicrous and insulting to our history as a nation. FDM's model doesn't even come close - our Academy is designed for individual success and with any business there is a crucial component of profits. Simple as that.

    Cons

    Continuous improvement needs to still occur of course, as with any business. I'm not sure how much more transparent we can get, but perhaps we should continue to look into this. Increased communication between all levels/teams/trainees - communication is always key and we are improving on this.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2016-02-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great training but doesn't really care about consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Trainee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - you and the other trainees become close like family - trainers are very helpful and supportive - tough projects that help you develop strong skills in a short time frame - chance to be placed at famous large companies - very helpful interview prep

    Cons

    - enormous fine if you break the contract - no job security - you can get kicked out even if you have gotten a placement from them before - strict environment - kinda feels like you're back in middle school - if you don't know how to network with account managers, you're screwed (in terms of finding placements) - depending on where you're placed, you may be suffering very long working hours (with no overtime pay) -account managers try to nudge you into roles you don't want or states you don't want to go to

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2015-11-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Top Ten Company for Graduates to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    New York in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    The FDM Academy provides a variety of training modules to help you begin a career in IT. If you aren't sure if the training is of good quality at FDM, just ask the clients! Having gone on a number of interviews before being placed, I've noticed that most if not all of my interviewers are very impressed with the FDM model. These clients aren't no names either, they include big corporations such as Bank of America, Johnson & Johnson, HSBC, and many more. I had started the FDM Academy with no tech experience and am now proficient in both SQL and Unix (including basic scripting). Not only have I acquired IT knowledge, but I've been endowed with a solid foundation of Finance knowledge, especially pertaining to all of the different asset classes and derivatives. All streams begin with a Professional Skills module which informs you on how to act in a professional setting and teaches the trainee beneficial interviewing techniques and proper etiquette. Pro. Skills is especially beneficial for people like me who have never worked in a professional setting before. If you enroll in the academy you'll learn a great deal of useful material and be given more than enough interview opportunities to land a role.

    Cons

    I noticed a lack of communication between staff members from different departments. There were many scheduling conflicts between trainers and account managers.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2015-08-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Developer Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainee, Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable Trainers, Ability to leverage trainees into the Financial and Investment Banking Industry

    Cons

    The US Academy is expanding, but the amount of trainees is disproportionately high to the number of trainers; not enough trainers to handle all of the new trainees

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2015-08-16
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Pretty good for those who work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO Trainee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Trainers are pretty helpful and the fellow trainees are a great network to build. The roles they allow you to get are generally fantastic especially if just starting out of college.

    Cons

    Unpaid training and low starting salary for two years which they are upfront about. I'd recommend putting time into your resume (which they help you build) and treating the job seriously. Those that treated it like a job got placed in good roles and those that treated it like school or didn't take it seriously may have trouble.

    FDM Group2014-11-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 47 reviews