FDNY Reviews | Glassdoor

FDNY Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Nicholas Scoppetta
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits, opportunities for overtime(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "not much nom for advancement, low pay(in 6 reviews)

  • "Terrible sub-par training, unqualified supervisors, illegal tactics, procedures, and methods, very high work load, low morale(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter 

    I have been working at FDNY full-time

    Pros

    Rewarding work it's always different

    Cons

    Away from family a lot

    FDNY2019-04-11
  2. "Worlds premier Fire Department’s Fire Investigstion Bureau is a JOKE."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Marshal in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDNY full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    If there is a positive, it’s having police powers, a fun, and a badge. But it’s not worth it.

    Cons

    Terrible sub-par training, unqualified supervisors, illegal tactics, procedures, and methods, very high work load, low morale.

    Advice to Management

    Start looking out for the members and not just yourselves.

    FDNY2019-03-01
  3. "Best job in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Captain in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDNY full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Best job in the world! Flexible schedule, rewarding work, with coworkers who become your second family.

    Cons

    Required to live in certain areas in and around NYC

    FDNY2019-02-14
  4. "FDNY, a good career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fire Officer in New York, NY

    I worked at FDNY full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Health insurance, pension, 457 plan

    Cons

    Can be a very dangerous occupation

    FDNY2019-02-21
  5. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDNY

    Pros

    Good money, work and people

    Cons

    Too much oversight, too many administrative headaches for a blue-collar job

    FDNY2019-01-10
  6. "Life in the Fire Dept of New York City EMS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at FDNY

      Pros

      Overtime can be had at all times Benefits are good Retirement plans are plentiful

      Cons

      Hours aren’t always the best Last minute notice when nobody is willing to cover vacancies and junior guy/girl

      FDNY2018-12-09
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at FDNY

        Pros

        Growth family security income longevity

        Cons

        None the best fire department in the world

        Advice to Management

        25 years plus with the department very dedicated hardworking team player

        FDNY2018-11-12
      • "paramedic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - EMT/Paramedic 
          Recommends

          I have been working at FDNY full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          i have the ability to communicate with my patients in a positive manner to bring relief from their pain ,suffering ,anxiety and their fears during their difficulty moments.

          Cons

          not empowering their employees enough

          Advice to Management

          Hire me i would be an asset to your company.

          FDNY2018-11-05
        • "Great Place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Associate Project Manager in Brooklyn, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at FDNY full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Steady Job, great working environment and staff. great hours and benefits.

          Cons

          slow paced, and limited resources to complete projects.

          Advice to Management

          Put in a provision for raises based on merit + years of experience. The city tests are too infrequent for this field and are hard to come by to obtain raises.

          FDNY2018-09-24
        • "EMT"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at FDNY full-time

          Pros

          good benefits, opportunities for overtime

          Cons

          the pay for ems is low

          FDNY2018-09-07
        Found 88 reviews