KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

FEMA

Engaged Employer

FEMA

Add a Review

FEMA Reservist Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 36 of over 871 reviews
3.1
54% Recommend to a Friend
FEMA Administrator FEMA Deanna Criswell
74% Approve of CEO

Found 36 of over 871 reviews

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
FEMA Administrator FEMA Deanna Criswell
Deanna Criswell
4 Ratings

What people are saying about FEMA

Join the conversation on

Confession

1y

a 

Manager

Up to $9,000 for FEMA funeral expenses! Are you freaking kidding me?! Standard Fed benefit for death is $250 or so. So, what, now I need to go contract COVID so my family can afford to bury/burn me? This is freaking beyond ridiculous.

173

22 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of FEMA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great opportunity for retirees

    Feb 11, 2022 - Reservist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of training. On boarding is thorough and informative.

    Cons

    Will only be deployed as needed.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    If you like to travel

    Jul 10, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve gone to disasters in many states during my five years with fema. It’s entry level and all expenses paid travel. Lots of seniors and young people do this job. Massive overtime pay. Location is all states and territories.

    Cons

    Work hours and conditions can be harsh. (It’s where the fire/flooding/tornado etc occurred. First two weeks onsite is 12 hours day for 2 weeks then better after that. Lots of overtime! Not for everyone for sure.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Bias and Underpaid

    Jul 15, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping people in a time of devastation

    Cons

    Leadership is horribly bias. If an applicant is from Puerto Rico with no education, work experience, etc there have a better chance of stepping into a leadership role vs employees with actual credentials and experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    FEMA Reservist

    Jul 12, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overtime Pay, when DEPLOYED and paid training.

    Cons

    Absolute Chaos in system, from deployment to cadre management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Frustrating massive bureaucracy.

    Jun 18, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They paid me for the ten day training in Alabama (I live in Colorado, and this was the beginning of 2020, soon to be the Covid year) and they paid me for one aborted "deployment" but that's all I can say good about FEMA - they paid me what they owed me for one five-day stay...(see "Con")

    Cons

    when I was sent to Dallas for mobilization to the field, then never mobilized or sent to the field because of a telephone problem - theirs. Then I was sent back home. So they paid me, and almost the people I met were great as individuals, but the "system" is terribly inefficient and impersonal and it's impossible to solve a problem such as cell service for the phone THEY GAVE ME - but no service. That's all I've done. Over two years I've worked and never done what they hired me and trained me to do. You can't imagine how tedious it is to hurry up and wait, just like the army, for literally five days straight...then they send me home and I continue to have this problem unsolved for over two years now! Ugs! I'm still technically employed as a Reservist and ready, willing and able to serve. As an able-bodied and skilled retiree, I was counting on FEMA for a few thousand bucks a year, but their inability to get me out on assignment and without pay has led me to minor financial struggles. Very frustrating bureaucracy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 5 years

    difficult job made more difficult by management and lack of benefits

    Apr 21, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lots of travel, good to build some experience

    Cons

    not many benefits, pay is low for the work, no guaranteed amount of work, hard to plan life around work as you never know when or where you are going to have to go or for how long you will be there, difficult working conditions at times, no retirement benefits, some work does not count towards experience for other jobs, difficult to be promoted to full time work and benefits,

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Reservist

    Mar 26, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money isn’t bad, per diem. Travel.

    Cons

    Moving up, starting pay isn’t calculated with education. Benefits.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unsure about FEMA at this time

    Mar 4, 2022 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful training opportunities. Fair starting pay. Appears to be plenty of room for advancement.

    Cons

    You are hired, and then left to sit un-utilized in any way.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great

    Sep 13, 2021 - Reservist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, learning experience, fulfilling experience helping people in need.

    Cons

    rate of work is slow

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Agency

    Sep 2, 2021 - Reservist in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Transparent Pay -Upward mobility -Lenient Time off Easy Moderate Fun

    Cons

    -Constant communication/checking in -A lot of micromanagement -Bureaucracy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with FEMA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at FEMA? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

FEMA

29 days ago

Company News
Celebrate 10 years of Wireless Emergency Alerts with us in our new podcast episode! We chat with Antwane Johnson, who has lead the program since the start, and seen countless lives saved because of it. Web: go.usa.gov/xztg7 Apple: apple.co/3ohtHyf Google Play: bit.ly/3ziCI09
Shared image - Before, During & After
Before, During & After
www.fema.gov
Logo

FEMA

63 days ago

Culture
Happy #PrideMonth! Today, we unveiled the progressive flag at our headquarters office alongside members of the Pride FERG to celebrate the #LGBTQ+ community. We’re proud to promote a workforce that represents diversity, inclusion, and equity. 🏳️‍🌈 “Celebrating diversity in our field of work allows us to better help survivors.” – Associate Administrator Anne Bink
Shared image
See all

FEMA Photos

+ Add Photo
FEMA photo of: FEMA (Photo thanks to Flickr user vaXzine, available under by-nc-nd v2.0)
FEMA photo of: FEMA Employees
FEMA photo of: FEMA Employee
FEMA photo of: FEMA Employee
FEMA photo of: FEMA Employees
FEMA photo of: FEMA Leadership
FEMA photo of: FEMA Employee
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 871 FEMA reviews submitted anonymously by FEMA employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if FEMA is right for you.