FEi Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

FEi Systems Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FEi Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to work remote and work hours are not extreme

    Cons

    Attrition from government contracting

    FEi Systems2016-11-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FEi Systems

    Pros

    Very collaborative and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time

    Continue reading
    FEi Systems2016-09-03

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you, we're glad to hear that you're happy here.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to start, not so much for anything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at FEi Systems

    Pros

    As a junior, you get a decent amount of support from your direct supervisor. The company tries to do nice things for the company from time to time, such as picnics, dinners, lunches and happy hour celebrations. They have purchased training licenses for some junior and mid level employees, but only if you a) come up with a curriculum for yourself, and b) finish that curriculum mostly outside of work on your own (unbillable) time, or risk losing the license due to "inactivity."

    Cons

    Massive disconnect between all levels of management. PMs put unnecessary levels of pressure and stress on their teams, presumably because they receive the same from above them. The CEO is a wonderful man, but the management team he has chosen are not the greatest and care only about the bottom line, and don't care to listen to explanations when things don't go their way, instead preferring to lay blame.

    Continue reading
    FEi Systems2016-08-18

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments. We are a continually growing company and are making positive changes with our growth. Implementing Agile methodology has increased collaboration and communication between teams and management.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Management (mis-management)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FEi Systems

    Pros

    When you start it's a lot of fun and everybody is very nice and they tried to do some shallow surface things like parties.

    Cons

    Severe disconnect between all levels of management. PMs put unnecessary levels of pressure and stress on their teams, presumably because they receive the same from above them. The CEO/Owner is a nice man, but the senior management team he has chosen are not the greatest and care only about the bottom line, and don't care to listen to explanations when things don't go their way, instead preferring to lay blame

    Continue reading
    FEi Systems2016-08-20

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your concerns. We do value our employees and continually look for ways to improve our environment. We have enjoyed continual growth based on the efforts of our valued employees. We have implemented several improved processes that has improved communication throughout the company.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FEi Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smaller company, Less bureaucracy & flexible schedule

    Cons

    If you are OK with working for a smaller company you will see no down sides.

    FEi Systems2016-08-02

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good for people who are looking for a stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at FEi Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of work and open positions. Nice work from home policies Relaxed work hours Good for workers with families

    Cons

    High Turnover Rate outsources rather than pushing internal hires Tough to advance a career there Bad for people trying to start a career as you will often be discouraged from moving upwards

    Continue reading
    FEi Systems2016-07-23

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments. We have been increasing our employee to contractor ratio in our hiring providing better career opportunities for our employees.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Please Keep Small Company Feeling and Agility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at FEi Systems full-time

    Pros

    FEi still has bunch of mid-level tech management who try to do good things for project and employees.

    Cons

    FEi is a small company but after a reform two years ago, a big company hat has been on its head. It became unwieldy and bureaucratic. High up doesn’t know much about and does not care the employees who actually do the work. Not good management.

    Continue reading
    FEi Systems2016-06-16

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    We appreciate your concern. As a continually growing company we are adjusting to the increased size of our company. Implementing Agile methodology has brought better communication flow within the company, and better management of our projects.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Strong Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FEi Systems

    Pros

    Great variety of Health IT work across several sectors. Excellent leadership and executive team. Good collaborative environment

    Cons

    Having some growing pains associated with impressive growth. Good problems to have

    FEi Systems2016-05-31

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you. We have grown an average of over 20% per year for the past 10 years and still going! Glad you are with us.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Professional, Dynamic, and Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subject Matter Expert in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FEi Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Industry leader in health information technology. Solid and smart senior leadership. The company is growth oriented and expanding. Numerous opportunities for health information technology professionals at all levels. Great "Boot Camp" for graduating developers and business analysts. The company cares about its staff and will take efforts to move you if the initial fit is not ideal. Good typical benefits. Recently moved to very nice building with new build out. Effective Human Resources department. This is a very multicultural organization and it celebrates its diversity. Annual Chinese New Years Dinner and end-of-summer barbecue.

    Cons

    Not a real complaint, but in-person interviews by a team of 4-5 folks, one at a time, are common.

    FEi Systems2016-04-20

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Appreciate your feedback. We have adjusted the size of our interview teams for a better interview experience.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "'House of cards' still standing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at FEi Systems full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement, good place for people with vision and initiative. Flexible work hours at the moment.

    Cons

    Company has very tight deadlines. Overtime is expected and not compensated. Very weak BAs which leads to low quality product/code. Lots of band-aids. Top management disconnected from their teams. looks at people as numbers in spreadsheet. Habitually understaffed with so few real senior experts. Company is very cheap: no basic supplies such plates, tea etc. Inconvenient location, you have to drive to get lunch. Very weak on employee training programs if you are lucky enough to get a license to training site, you are expected to learn at your own free time...after you work overtime.

    Continue reading
    FEi Systems2016-04-12

    FEi Systems Response

    April 20, 2018Senior Technical Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your response. We have brought in more senior technical talent to provide a higher level of expertise to our projects and mentor our junior and mid-level team members.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 47 reviews