FHI 360 Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
FHI 360 CEO Patrick C. Fine (no image)
Patrick C. Fine
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people are so nice and the work environment is cozy and pleased(in 28 reviews)

  • "Company has good benefits for a non profit organisation(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Managers and Directors stay a long time with many still here from AED-era but high turnover with PAs and POs(in 22 reviews)

  • "Senior management are completely clueless and out of touch(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid company with good people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a good place to start out if you're new to the nonprofit world. You get what you work for.

    Cons

    Pay was a bit low, but that's to be expected from a non-profit.

    FHI 3602019-08-15
  2. "Great team spirit"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Country Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time

    Pros

    Encourages entrepreneurship and leading by example

    Cons

    Administrative systems can be rather heavy and slow

    FHI 3602020-05-09
  3. "A Competitve Development organization with cutting-edge project delivery approach"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Advisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Present severa opportunities for self-development. Pay package is competitive and motivating

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be difficult because the high organization's standard that can be demanding

    FHI 3602020-03-22
  4. "FHI 360 Great Employer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Technical Advisor in Washington, DC

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary

    Cons

    Not doing well in recent years in retaining staff after projects end

    FHI 3602020-03-05
  5. "Overall positive"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Program Officer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at FHI 360 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The general work mission and projects, and the benefits

    Cons

    Work culture is very cold and quiet. Underpay is a problem for entry level and opportunities for growth are minimal

    FHI 3602020-03-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not great for mid/entry level. No upward mobility"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FHI 360

    Pros

    Location. Some interesting projects in the nutrition space

    Cons

    Horrible management and super bureaucratic. If you are a young professional I would pass on FHI 360. Very little upward mobility and a lot of staff that have been there for way too long but don’t want to retire. You’ll do all their work and be stuck in a lower/mid level position for years. Also you won’t be fully vested until you have been there for five years- not worth the wait. Would not recommend.

    Continue reading
    FHI 3602020-03-09
  7. "Good Work Environment"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Washington, DC

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment and opportunities to travel

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and a lot of red tape to get through

    Continue reading
    FHI 3602020-02-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Incompetent senior management, massive turnover"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Country Director in Washington, DC

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good relationship with USAID, concern about staff security

    Cons

    Hugely bureaucratic apparatus in DC and NC is totally divorced from reality and obsesses over documentation of every little action in order to shield the organisation from all potential legal liabilities. Senior management routinely display incompetence and inability to cooperate across departments. I witnessed senior managers scapegoating field staff and attempting to have them fired in order to cover up mistakes made by HQ staff. With such gross misconduct on a regular basis, is it surprising that the turnover rate in my department was above 70%?

    Continue reading
    FHI 3602020-02-11
  9. "Great mission, supportive environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FHI 360 full-time

    Pros

    The organization has a great mission, the people seem truly kind and friendly, and the work is meaningful. CEO Patrick Fine seems to embody the values that the organization aims to promote. Good benefits for a non-profit.

    Cons

    Lost two big follow-on grants in 2018-19, but won another. Maybe overly dependent on USG funding, but such is the case for all organizations in the public health sector - not unique to FHI 360.

    FHI 3602020-01-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Lack of effective leadership in the C-suite"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FHI 360 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, bright and talented people, generous pension plan.

    Cons

    Our CHRO drove a global project to failure with unrealistic execution expectations, overworked HR staff and unreasonable pressure on our program staff. Our CEO sends feel-good messages that no one reads. But the Finance department really takes the cake; you can’t get a thing out of them. Essential Finance resources are being siphoned off to serve subsidiary enterprises, leaving the core FHI360 operations with inadequate support. It is common knowledge within the organization that the CFO, in particular, is exasperating to work with. When emails are sent to him, regardless of the importance or urgency of the subject, he responds “Let's chat,” but the chats never lead to decisions or direction. He can't seem to choose a course of action and stick to it; he changes his mind more often than the Kardashians change their hair styles. And if that’s not disturbing enough, he takes an hour-long lunch every day. Yes, EVERY DAY. As a result, the organization is hemorrhaging talent. Change is needed immediately before it's too late.

    FHI 3602019-12-18
Found 310 reviews