FHLB Chicago Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
FHLB Chicago President and CEO Matt Feldman (no image)
Matt Feldman
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "People who have kids would love this place for getting flexible hours and a good work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, initial experience to the financial services industry, exposure to senior leadership, developmental training opportunities(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nobody has really heard of FHLBC(in 3 reviews)

  • "These dealings significantly damage an otherwise promising company with a superb work life balance(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great job!

      May 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is outstanding. They communicate well.

      Cons

      There are none at this time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for starter career

      Jun 11, 2021 - Senior Accountant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work life balance and benefits

      Cons

      limited mobility and paths for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Software Engineer

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment Good colleagues to work with Best management

      Cons

      Nothing that I can think off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      this place is going downhill

      May 10, 2021 - Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like the people I work with

      Cons

      lack of upward mobility, dishonest leadership

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Littered with incompetence

      May 11, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice pay, pension, and a decent amount of PTO

      Cons

      401k isn’t fully vested for 5 years. Lead developers and other team leaders are entirely incompetent and do not know how to build software.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Top Workplace (NOT)

      Mar 16, 2021 - Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, nice coworkers, benefits, new office space

      Cons

      To many conflicting priorities, vacation time invaded and really not allowed to fully take, even though 30 days are given. ET’s favorite employees are known across the Bank and always given opportunities. Managers are not held accountable and if you are a favorite then you get a pass. HR controlling remote work and forcing people to be on camera for meetings. A lot of talk about diversity but no opportunities for people of color. Probably not the best workplace for people of color.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      FHLB Chicago Response

      VP, HR & Development

      Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at the Federal Home Loan Bank of Chicago. We take all feedback seriously. Let us start by telling you that we are grateful that you are currently part of our team. This means there is certainly an opportunity for us to work with you to better understand how we can overcome these challenges together. We invite the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your frustrations. • Paid Time Off (PTO): We offer generous vacation days because we want employees to unplug and enjoy their personal time. If PTO is not being valued across teams, we can look into this matter and hope you will inform us if interrupted time off continues to be a concern. • Accountability: We stress accountability throughout our performance management process because it is an integral piece in building trust, learning from our mistakes, and creating strong teams. Managers and employees go through continuous coaching on what it means to be accountable – but if you are not seeing this in practice, we want to know more so we can identify the disconnect and course-correct as needed. • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI): Here at the Bank, DEI is of utmost importance. From job growth opportunities to comfortability with virtual work, we strive to ensure everyone has the tools and support they need to be successful. When this is not an employee’s experience, it concerns us, and we want to address it. Your HR Business Partner and our Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion are here to listen and directly tackle anything that is inconsistent with our culture and our commitments to our employees. Thank you for your continued service to the Bank and honest feedback. We hope to connect soon to learn more. Whether we get to speak to you directly or not, know that we hear you. Your comments are being reviewed thoughtfully and will help us continue fostering a culture that prioritizes each employee’s professional growth and overall experience.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Security engineer

      Apr 17, 2021 - Security Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice facilities, compensation, and people

      Cons

      Too much of internal politics

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Nov 13, 2020 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are really nice and helpful. Generous PTO. Competitive health insurance and retirement plan. People who have kids would love this place for getting flexible hours and a good work-life balance. I definitely have seen lots of improvements in this place over time. Streamlined processes, better apps and tools, and more and more diversified and responsive teams and management. I can feel that the company is striving for good changes and is on its track to moving fast instead of maintaining the status quo.

      Cons

      The company is under heavy financial regulations. Sometimes it can be too much or even painful to handle the challenges from its regulators.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Feb 2, 2021 - AVP-Operations in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for with a true dedication to workplace culture.

      Cons

      None that are relevant to this review.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      No

      Mar 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good bonus structure, awarded in February

      Cons

      Lots of tension among senior leaders. Cut throat atmosphere where people take credit for ideas that didn't originate from them

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with FHLB Chicago Job Seekers

    Rotational Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Documentation and Support Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at FHLB Chicago? Share Your Experiences

    FHLB Chicago logo
    or