FICO Senior Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

FICO Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
FICO CEO William Lansing
William Lansing
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "My Best 11 Years of Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FICO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We provided valuable software to financial institutions. The technology was cutting edge. The entire campus enjoyed working with each other.

    Cons

    The only downside was when we hired a CEO from the outside and he gutted the company. Those were a couple of bad years for the employees.

    Continue reading
    FICO2013-10-14
  2. "Good Company with Moderate Salary n Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FICO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New technologies , Good work

    Cons

    Salaries are dated , Hikes are minimal

    FICO2019-12-24
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Decent Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FICO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonuses -Stock and Cash Decent Salary Stability and growth Work Life Balance

    Cons

    401K match is less at 3% full match and 2% half matched Salary is lower than industry standard.

    FICO2018-08-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FICO full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It used to be a friendly environment. My team had many cool projects to work on.

    Cons

    Since the company outsource starting from qa to modeling it turned south

    FICO2018-07-20
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Toxic work environment!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FICO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks and breakfast on Mondays.

    Cons

    Combative and hostile individuals. Terrible culture, politics, backstabbing and petty children, no professionalism. Lack of communication across all teams. Inexperience and inept management.

    Continue reading
    FICO2017-01-20
  7. "Senior engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FICO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work place, good people to work with. Great boss

    Cons

    Less growth opportunities , feel little insecurity in job, proceed need improvement

    Continue reading
    FICO2015-08-02
  8. Helpful (8)

    "I've had a stable career at FICO working for interesting, recognizable clients which has made the work exciting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FICO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I like working for FICO for the challenging clients with whom I've gotten to work. Always cutting edge technology has been utilized based upon the client solution and expectations. Because of this my skill set has always improved and I've been exposed to diverse software. The office culture has improved the last few years with a CEO focused on keeping talent rather than with layoffs. Flexible working hours are a benefit too for work/life balance.

    Cons

    Stingy with money for the working class employees. It's hard to keep up with the cost of living when during an annual review there is no raise given. Company policy states they don't believe in giving a cost of living increase. Ironically there always seems to be plenty of money for the executive leader's salaries, bonuses and stock options.

    Continue reading
    FICO2014-07-23
  9. "thick politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at FICO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - got a good espresso machine - projects could actually be interesting, if not because of the ancient technologies (at least in my group, not sure about others)

    Cons

    - thick thick air of office politics - not so bright co-workers

    Continue reading
    FICO2013-08-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Once good now mediocre and flailing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FICO

    Pros

    Casual relaxed work environment. Some interesting projects. Pay was OK and benefits were good. Nice work location in San Diego office.

    Cons

    Total lack of focus and product expertise in upper management. Does not recognize the value of quality employees or their technical skills and knowledge. Promotes based on politics and who you know. Recent downturn in economy lead to many layoffs which made coming to work everyday kind of nerve wracking.

    Continue reading
    FICO2010-02-13
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Be very careful of who you may be working for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FICO

    Pros

    Flex time, Nice offices, Public what they do (credit Scoring), co-workers are friendly

    Cons

    Uneven decision making by senior management, Middle management is not managed thus make very arbitaray decisions and senior management will not step in and correct poor decisions.

    Continue reading
    FICO2009-05-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews