FINRA Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
FINRA President and Chief Executive Officer Robert W. Cook
Robert W. Cook
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, New technologies, Friendly work environment(in 129 reviews)

  • "Great place for career growth and great benefits(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management includes aloof and heartless executives(in 23 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of room for advancement(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of FINRA and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Very Good Company To Work For

      Mar 24, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the most part, great people to work with. Senior Management is responsive and communicates frequently. A good environment to learn, the company is very supportive and high on employee development.

      Cons

      Some folks are not as collaborative as they could be. Some are quick to pass the buck and let others do THEIR jobs. Fortunately a lot of the "dead wood" has been weeded out the past few years.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      FINRA Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you view senior management as responsive and transparent. We are currently examining the future of our remote work policy. We hope you take the time to fill out the return-to-office survey currently open to all employees!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      FINRA

      May 4, 2021 - Examiner in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance; and Expansive work.

      Cons

      Could be hard to get promoted.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good pay, not a great working environment

      May 12, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big company, Good pay, decent team members

      Cons

      There were like 2 supervisors and 2 managers for a small office of like 20 people or less which did not make sense. I felt like I was being watched by all of them all the time. My manager would constantly (strongly) hint for me to tell on other coworkers to her every time we had a one on one, but that was just not me. My team was pretty great. Workload was pretty heavy and I would always work overtime on my own time because I could never finish everything due to all the meetings and calls I had to do throughout the day and due to not being fully staffed we would have to cover for other teams. I told my manager that I was so busy and she basically told me that I should be "lucky to have a job in the pandemic" because so many other people didn't. I was very thankful and tried my best, to be honest. Also they would fire at least one person each month while I was there and they were people that have been there for 15+ years. To me, thats crazy.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      May 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to learn. Opportunities to learn and develop personal skills.

      Cons

      Sometimes deadlines might be too short.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It's great when politics are not in the way

      May 3, 2021 - Technology Director in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission, Regulatory Teams, Industry; chance to work deep into AWS stack and to work on some interesting problems

      Cons

      Politics and power struggles in Tech Leadership erases lots of innovation and advancement opportunities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pretty good place to work

      Apr 18, 2021 - Analyst in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is good, especially in technology roles PTO is generous, good healthcare options, and generous 401K High level of job security movement within the company encouraged

      Cons

      Feels a lot like working for government in some ways - things move very slowly, lots of committees to make simple decisions. I often feel like decisions that affect large amounts of day to day work are made by upper management who don't understand my role which causes a lot of headaches.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      FINRA Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you've enjoyed our benefits, including paid time off and our 401(k) match. We appreciate your feedback regarding encouraging VPs to listen. If you feel comfortable doing so, we encourage you to speak to your People Solutions relationship manager to provide additional details.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable work hours and great benefits

      Cons

      May have nasty coworkers depending on your team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      More Pros than Cons

      Apr 23, 2021 - Senior Software Developer in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New technology stack, better than average culture

      Cons

      Micromanagement, work load vary that leads to piling up of tech debts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good technology company to work for

      Mar 11, 2021 - Technical Lead in Rockville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best technology company to work for. Plenty of opportunities to learn, there is not a single boring day. Overall people are very nice and respectful of each other. Decent compensation and benefits.

      Cons

      Less opportunities for career growth. Recognition and career growth widely varies based on the team and leadership. This can be very frustrating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Overall

      May 11, 2021 - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for entry level

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for advancement to new role.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 556 Reviews

    Popular Careers with FINRA Job Seekers

    Examiner
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Associate Principal Examiner
    Learn About the Job

    Work at FINRA? Share Your Experiences

    or