KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

FM Global

Engaged Employer

FM Global

Add a Review

FM Global Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 449 of over 536 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
FM Global President & CEO Thomas A. Lawson
Thomas A. Lawson
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits & work/life balance(in 56 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and company culture(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Have to manage work life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Does not offer work from home or telecommuting arrangements(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of FM Global and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      great company

      Jun 14, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance pay great place to work

      Cons

      there are not many cons that i can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not as Advertised

      Jan 28, 2021 - Account Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, pension, car, corporate card, vacation.

      Cons

      Ever changing operating standards and requirements from the top down with an expectation to stay up-to-date on sometimes conflicting information. A shift in focus from being an employee-centric company to being a metrics-driven company. Poor management, high turnover (despite advertising high retention during interview), and low morale all around (even pre-COVID). Burn out is common throughout the company. When annual metrics are met, the bar is only raised the next year. Lack of incentive to stay other than "total rewards." If you're in it for the money and can compartmentalize the rest, you'll last.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      FM Global Response

      Talent Acquisition Operations Associate

      Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We really appreciate hearing from our employees so we can evaluate our performance as an organization. We constantly explore areas for improvement and work hard to ensure we provide employees with the resources they need.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Greatest Company To Work For

      Oct 13, 2020 - Claims Adjuster in Park Ridge, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is a great employer and provides both competitive pay and competitive benefits. A lot of the employees in the company start right after college and stay here the entire length of their professional careers. There are many employees with sometimes four decades of technical knowledge. The company provides a pension, 401K, great PTO and a free car to those eligible and client facing. The company has been embracing the flexible work week and working from home before the pandemic and this is set to continue into the future. I feel that the company is engaged with its employees on various levels and cares about the employees. Management is very supportive and encourages personal growth and promotion within the company. The significant promotion from within is a great attribute if this company. Since the company strives to be the best for their owners (our clients), we as employees do everything to make sure we achieve that. It always makes me feel good about my job to know that our company really cares about our insureds. The company provides a great work life balance and is respectful of your time off and is also very very understanding if you our your family are in need and include generous sick days and family leave too.

      Cons

      It takes a while for severe underperformers to be fired, that is if that happens. Some of the negative reviews you may read reflect on the tension between employee and manager, which in my view is the drawn out personal improvement plan process and eventual departure of the employee.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      FM Global Response

      Talent Acquisition Operations Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid comments. We're happy to hear that our benefit plans and the company culture are highly regarded by you. We appreciate and review all feedback and recognize that it allows us to continuously improve and evolve.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Solid company to work for

      May 17, 2021 - Manager in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pension, Great People, Approach to Insurance

      Cons

      Not progressive, still a ways to go with diversity, tough work/life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mixed Bag

      Apr 14, 2021 - Agile Coach in Johnston, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent coworkers and the benefits for long-term employees are fantastic. The company did an excellent job handling the pandemic.

      Cons

      Management is very old school and does not recognize that they are behind the times when it comes to adoption of new ways of working or technology. They also view the IT division as a cost center, not enablers of business and thus salary and career progression are far behind other firms.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great career

      May 12, 2021 - Loss Prevention Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mutual company - can't be acquired

      Cons

      Need to move to advance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      May 5, 2021 - Account Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family Atmosphere Great work life balance Great Benefits

      Cons

      I have no cons as of now and I have been here for 9 years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Very stable

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Research Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment, good inner trainings

      Cons

      Do not get bonus every years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      FM Global is a great company that you can be proud to work for

      Feb 12, 2021 - Engineering Processing Consultant in Johnston, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, options for career growth, acknowledgement for hard work, regular pay raises and flexible; they truly care and support work life balance.

      Cons

      Standard yearly bonus is based on company results not the individual but, if you work hard additional bonuses can be acquired throughout the year. Starting pay is low in comparison to some competitors. However, I was able to double my starting salary in five years with the company due to them giving merit and adjustment raises every year based on performance. Some people don't get any raises at all in five years with other companies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Apr 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and support

      Cons

      Some management is old school, but change is slowly happening. Slow change

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 449 Reviews

    Popular Careers with FM Global Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at FM Global? Share Your Experiences

    or