FMC Reviews in Philadelphia, PA | Glassdoor

FMC Philadelphia Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
FMC CEO Pierre Brondeau
Pierre Brondeau
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA

      I have been working at FMC

      Pros

      flexibility, work-l ife balance, good job security if you want to do the same thing for a long time

      Cons

      no clearly defined roles and responsibilities, the responsibilities defined in job description are not transferred after joining the firm. No career path, you end up becoming a clerk even after 15-20 years of industry experience

      Advice to Management

      pay attention to your talent management, your people are your best assets, care and concern for your employees should be your top priority.

      FMC2015-10-29
    • "Global Finance Transformation Lead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA

        I have been working at FMC full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Large global chemical company with a variety of opportunities

        Cons

        Currently fighting some difficult market trends and challenges in Brazil

        FMC2015-10-19
      • Helpful (2)

        "Stressed Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at FMC full-time

        Pros

        Good pay and benefits that match the Philadelphia Job Market.

        Cons

        Lack of leadership, leaders aren't held accountable for their actions and instead pass the blame downwards, management clicks team up against one and other thus creating a soiled organization within the company and even departments

        Advice to Management

        Stop being so risky in your decision making process. Not everything will turn out like you envision. Listen to the people in the business units, not consultants.

        FMC2015-09-12
      • Helpful (7)

        "Major Dissapointment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at FMC full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good Pay, great location, generally good people, and a fun business with cool technologies.

        Cons

        Directors are horrible, lack leadership and generally in it for themselves only. Professional development is non-existent. General hire external instead of from within.

        Advice to Management

        Take better care of your people. There are great, talented people "wandering" and/or frustrated with the lack of direction and care.

        FMC2015-07-07
      • Helpful (2)

        "Organization way too top heavy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at FMC full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        diverse, professional, casual, good compensation

        Cons

        too much organizational changes, very lazy paranoid people

        Advice to Management

        stop restructuring and repositioning the company and let the employees breathe easy in knowing they have job security

        FMC2015-05-09
      • Helpful (8)

        "The company was destroyed by bad management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at FMC for more than a year

        Pros

        It's a decent publicly traded company in a great part of town. The benefits and pay are pretty good. Since it is a multinational corporation you get some great exposure.

        Cons

        During my time there there were cases of harassment, fraud, bullying, discrimination, and abuse. HR did nothing to remedy the problem except for punish those that reported the problems and lay them off or have them fired. This company even has a fraud hotline, which is frequently used but is useless as HR does nothing. The company abuses their employees and no longer offer many opportunities.

        Advice to Management

        Stop all the mergers and acquisitions, and focus on growing your business. Stop making all these changes, and get a grip of everything that is going on in your company. Listen to the employees and take compliance seriously.

        FMC2015-05-05
      • "Wonderful opportunity to work with a intelligent colleagues and be challenged"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Data Management Associate in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at FMC for less than a year

        Pros

        Great company culture, friendly staff, meaningful work assignments, and gained a vast amount of knowledge with this experience at FMC. The people care about your success and you feel like a valued team member.

        Cons

        There was not a single negative experience with my time at FMC.

        FMC2015-04-04
      • "Okay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Enterprise Systems in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at FMC part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good pay and a good chemical manufacturing company. Nice people great to work with makes work enjoyable. Flexible work environment.

        Cons

        No benefits for interns since interns are not on contract. It's an okay place if you are in IT. It being a chemical company the IT department is not given much attention. The company does not have much visibility.

        FMC2014-10-24
      • Helpful (4)

        "Mediocrity rules"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Unable to Share in Philadelphia, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at FMC full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexibility around working hours and locations. Some great people at the middle and lower levels of the corporation, although they usually leave after a few years. I also had one incredible and exceptional boss, who also left of course. I wish I could say more good things - but that was about it in my experience. However, I have heard good things about the company's Agriculture division (where I didn't work).

        Cons

        Where to start? The division where I worked had no strategy, partly as the result of years of cost cutting and under-investment, partly due to a lack of industry and customer understanding, and partly due to a management culture that emphasizes conformity and analytical skills over creativity and teamwork. By the time I left, trust in divisional and senior management was at very low levels and so many people had left...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Not much point, is there? (-;

        FMC2014-10-15
      • "Great dynamic environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Development in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at FMC full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Many challenges which keeps things interesting. Smart, talented people to learn from although it takes time to find the right people to connect with.

        Cons

        No formal training, you need to be able to learn on the fly and figure out how to get things done on your own. Sometimes too much focus on short term results.

        FMC2014-09-30
      Found 42 reviews