FMC Technologies Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

FMC Technologies Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
FMC Technologies CEO John T. Gremp
John T. Gremp
70 Ratings
  1. "Univeristy of Houston Design Center Part-Time Student Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Student Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    - Generous Pay for Student Position - Invaluable Learning & Training - Employee Valued Environment (Relationship Driven) - Strong Company Ethos (Safety, Quality, Delivery, Cost) - Flexible with Schedule - High Individual Growth and Development - Measurable Improvement for ALL Employees; including Interns Overall, The perfect person-company fit. AMAZING CAFETERIA FOOD! Seriously I can't say this enough! - Aramark...

    Show More

    Cons

    N/A I don't have any Cons. The are a very driven & stimulating company. Everyday you will be learning something new. I strongly suggest to anyone who is looking for an internship to apply online, learn more, and exercise what you learned about FMC's strong business ethics and values towards your future career goals. I doubt you will want to leave. Most employees believe this is the best job they have ever had and usually...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am overall satisfied with my experience. Good job.

    FMC Technologies2016-04-25
  2. "Organized and Structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great design work and atmosphere, hands on experience in shop environment. Learning opportunities abound if you take advantage.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape in the design process, not a lot of freedom to be creative in solutions.

    FMC Technologies2019-06-26
  3. "Good Company - Management OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Installation Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good people

    Cons

    A very political environment with a Yes man management.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that challenge the status quo and back your employees in disputes with customers.

    FMC Technologies2019-05-02
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Flex time.

    Cons

    Too much politics from the management

    Advice to Management

    Value your people, especially those adding significant value

    FMC Technologies2019-03-03
  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offer a good benefit package.

    Cons

    There is a lack of promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Young talent will leave unless you make it worth their while to stay.

    FMC Technologies2018-08-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "How FMC is like the rest of the egocentric companies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits is decent, but I'm confident I was underpaid There are nursing rooms available at Gears Rd. Gym with locker room is available at Gears Rd. Company culture is good Racially diverse workforce

    Cons

    Finding parking at Gears Rd is difficult if arriving after 9 am. Like every greedy corporation that is publicly traded, you are just a NUMBER and the number of years you've worked with company won't matter when there are workforce reductions. The severance package is TERRIBLE (at least for non-managerial roles) No transferable skills if working as project engineer in CDM

    Advice to Management

    Reduce wait time (18 months) for transitioning to another role. Provide more networking opportunities for employees to see what other departments/roles are like within the company. Increase maternal leave timeframe. Small teambuilding is better than department teambuilding. Why don't you put more focus on employee satisfaction? Less turnover, less need for mass hiring, and a lesser need for layoffs.

    FMC Technologies2018-02-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Project Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time

    Pros

    FMC Technologies is overall a very good place to work. The employees were great. FMC has competitive salaries and a great 401k match. Management was as transparent as possible during downturn.

    Cons

    Personally I was not a fan of the health plans available, however the push for all high deductible plans is pretty wide spread.

    Advice to Management

    I hope management has continued to maintain the good working culture even with the merger to Technip.

    FMC Technologies2017-09-13
  8. "Boring but informative review of FMCTI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies for more than 3 years

    Pros

    7% matching 401k (3% vested after 3 years), 3 weeks vacation, Good work/life balance. Tons of project work in good times. Lots of opportunity to advance your career if you choose to do so (lots of sideways movement, only upward movement if you obtain an MBA). Layoff packages aren't so bad. Good management (they generally leave you alone if you're kicking butt...aka..providing on-time delivery so we look good in the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of red tape. Good ol' boys club in management (don't get me wrong, most of them are good people, but you just have to be in their club to play at that level). Lower and middle management are tend to parrot orders from the top and are generally do not have the power to do anything but within the scope of their tiny circle of power.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing the best you can given the times.

    FMC Technologies2016-10-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best days may be behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good source of training. Some good people are left.

    Cons

    Middle management cronyism is disheartening. Bad actors are often preferred over solid, good performers. Political maneuvering and malevolent ambition is rewarded with promotions/ awards where other qualified, well respected and solid performers are overlooked, passed over or demoted. Short-sighted, wasteful, and reactionary management is the norm.

    Advice to Management

    Do you know who your employees are? Employees hired after the 1990's also matter and may even have more to contribute than the old standby.

    FMC Technologies2016-10-12
  10. "Senior Mechanical Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good challenging work for an engineer, good benefits and nice atmosphere to work in. I would hire on again.

    Cons

    Not in the location that I wanted to live in and sometimes the work was guided a little too much for an experienced engineer.

    FMC Technologies2016-09-12
Found 154 reviews