FMC Technologies Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

FMC Technologies Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
FMC Technologies CEO John T. Gremp
John T. Gremp
31 Ratings
  1. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager II in Kingwood, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    People / product and service enterprises

    Cons

    N/A - Train people

    Advice to Management

    Train people and nurturing them to become strong assets and cornerstone of FMCTI

    FMC Technologies2016-01-25
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager II in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    The work loads were not always distributed equally across the functioning group. Not many cons...

    FMC Technologies2017-05-22
  3. "The company that grew but didn't mature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great quality philosophy Good products Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lack of accountability from top-down Processes were created to follow quality guidelines but not followed Different original companies remained operating isolated. Little integration of processes and practices at global level

    Advice to Management

    Good luck with the Technip merger. Make sure you do what you said you would do. Delegate some decision making to the people that report to you, they are great professionals.

    FMC Technologies2017-01-15
  4. "Product Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tender Project Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced management of manufacturing for large subsea oil and gas products. Great co-workers. Good support from technical teams.

    Cons

    Company is matrix organization. Role had all the responsibility of engineering and manufacturing product from proposal, to design, to delivery (good challenge), but no direct control over personnel/groups working on your project. Upper management would re-prioritize projects, delaying the work, after you had negotiated delivery dates with client. Very frustrating!

    FMC Technologies2016-11-20
  5. "Good company that's changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good core values, generally fair, decent technology

    Cons

    Big changes are occurring due to the oil and gas market and merger with Technip

    Advice to Management

    New CEO will be interesting to watch. The company is merging with Technip which will mean changes to long standing core values and work practices.

    FMC Technologies2016-11-17
  6. "Materials and Logistics NManager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Good group of [people to work with. Allowed you to set your goals and achieve. A good salary.

    Cons

    Oilfield and a tremendous amount of layoffs

    Advice to Management

    Transparency

    FMC Technologies2016-11-09
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people at this company to work with

    Cons

    Upper Managment needs to appreciate employees more.

    FMC Technologies2016-11-06
  8. "Subsea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience, benefits and worklife balance

    Cons

    Processes, redtapes and business strategy

    FMC Technologies2016-09-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent Company Losing its Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Working for a market leader is exciting and fast paced - Compensation and Benefits are pretty good - Technology is a focus - Many different career opportunities once hired - Core Values are important to most people

    Cons

    - Management is out of touch with the execution level - Promotion beyond a certain level is based more on who you know than your actual qualifications (typical for large companies) - Core Values don't always apply to upper management

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to reach down and start to take a closer look at the things that are happening underneath you. As a business, and an industry, we are at a pivotal point. We must be financially responsible and plan for our future. Our current path to emerge from the downturn is being driven by buzzwords instead of actual results, and we are letting incredibly talented people out of the business, while retaining...

    Show More
    FMC Technologies2016-05-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are some of the smartest, most dedicated people I have ever met. They work like they own the company. Very impressive Global managers have a clear vision of the strategy that will ensure company's long term success. Pay and benefits are very good Company is determined to survive Several truly brilliant high level managers

    Cons

    Zero work life balance Unfortunate gap in highest level of management, which is very good, and upper mid level, which is very reactionary without any focus or managerial skills. Putting to much stock into new grads who will leave the company

    Advice to Management

    Review the type of managers that you need during this downturn and to ramp up when the market turns. A manager that is willing to be a "working manager" will inspire the troops to hang on and will be a valuable asset when you need to ramp up. You do not need a manager that's talent is in managing up at this time.

    FMC Technologies2016-04-24
Found 44 reviews