FMC Technologies "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

FMC Technologies Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Mar 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
FMC Technologies Chairman and CEO John T. Gremp
John T. Gremp
324 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unstable due to the nature of the oil and gas industry(in 33 reviews)

  • "Um plano de carreira melhor estruturado, com clareza das reais possibilidades de ascens(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at FMC Technologies

    Pros

    Good Pay, Friendly management, Nice working environment

    Cons

    Limited Hours, Distance, Volatile industry

    FMC Technologies2016-04-12
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Flex time.

    Cons

    Too much politics from the management

    Advice to Management

    Value your people, especially those adding significant value

    FMC Technologies2019-03-03
  3. "Fmc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies

    Pros

    The pros include flexible work hours, opportunities to take on projects, new facilities, a laid back work environment, and the ability to move to different positions.

    Cons

    The cons include compensation, career coaching, team culture, support from managers, constant restructuring. Overall once you get in it is your responsibility to drive and direct your career.

    FMC Technologies2016-12-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Working for FMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and work environment

    Cons

    IF you stand on principle you will not advance within the company you become an outsider

    Advice to Management

    stop overlooking great committed and yet overlooked deserving employees who are the backbone of your company

    FMC Technologies2016-09-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "FMC Tech."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CNC Machinist in Stephenville, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good people to work with. The company does what it can to uplift the working environment during bad times.

    Cons

    They layoff the wrong people. Those that should be laid off aren't but instead good people are chosen. Nepotism is also seen in some areas.

    FMC Technologies2016-05-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Just another "human resource" with things go south - poor severance package and cruel laioff methods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good. Opportunity for promotion was good as long as you knew the right people. Safe work environment.

    Cons

    Benefits were not the best They will throw you our the door to reduce cost when in a down cycle with little severance package compared to other mayors.

    FMC Technologies2016-05-16
  7. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at FMC Technologies part-time

    Pros

    Really good working environment, with wonderful upper management.

    Cons

    OIl and Gas is struggling as of now, and so is the company.

    FMC Technologies2016-02-06
  8. "Lacks direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at FMC Technologies

    Pros

    Great work environment / culture

    Cons

    Too many chiefs not enough Indians, lacks direction; management constantly changing. Not enough manpower to handle large projects. Tries to mimick parent companies style of management

    FMC Technologies2015-10-27
  9. "Intern Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Irvine, CA

    I have been working at FMC Technologies for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and family work environment

    Cons

    Work over load due to lack of employees

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve communication and productivity.

    FMC Technologies2015-08-05
  10. Helpful (6)

    "CDM Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good ... But there is a catch 22. See my Cons list for details. My advice to the existing engineers, is to use them to get your experience and get the heck out of dodge. For the potential engineerIf you read my list of cons and still decide here is a great work environment for you ... Then good luck. Lol

    Cons

    Benefits: The benefits presented to you may seem great, but, there is a catch 22. Firstly, you vacation is PTO (lumped). Secondly, their 401k seems phenomenal, but you must spend 3 years in the position to gain the benefits of the 401k. Medical is ordinary, sub-standard to other companies i have worked for previously. Training: If you expect to be trained here, you are in for a big surprise. As an engineer here,... you have to learn everything on the fly. There is also limited room for growth. FMC's Core principles: This is a farce at best. The company claims to have integrity, quality and safety as their driving motivators. I have personally witnessed managements blatant compromise of safety and integrity on their recent frack trailer model. Even though it was highlighted these were against Safety regulations and standards, the product was pushed through the pipeline. If you are a person of integrity, you will have a hard time swallowing this. Management: Management claims to be focussed on the human resource, but in fact, they are only interested in the bottom line. Prepare to be treated as a statistic, not an engineer, if you decide to join this organization. They reward the person who has no work/life balance, while they enjoy their weekend golf tournaments. They cut merit increases to workers but still kept the bonuses in tact (because management get 80-90% of their wages from annual bonus). Individuals who are nominated for spotlight awards have had them discarded when they left the company even though they completed the projects on time and brought them back from failure (this happened to me as well). Assessment- If you are a high performer, you will soon get discouraged after your first assessment. You are graded based on the team, not individually. No matter how brilliantly you perform, be prepared for a "Good" assessment at best. Then to hear, they cannot justify giving someone else a "Needs Improvement" to give you an "Outstanding" ... Though you may 100% deserve it. Lack of Integrity - the company tries to push a line of controls that is extremely problematic (so much so that no one at FMC knows how to fully use the system UCOS) to their customers who already use established systems such as wonderware, Fisher Control Systems, ABB DCS. This is unethical and highly inappropriate and was one of the reasons i could not stomach working there anymore. So be prepared to have this system shoved down at you to push to the customers with no training. Unable to survive recession: FMC is an extremely populated work environment. The most underpopulated departments are the ones that actually bring in the contracts to FMC. So the engineering department is understaffed, while they have hundreds of employees doing HR and procurement work (most who know some managers personally). So be prepared to be overworked and face > 10 hr days. With the recent drop in oil prices, FMC has been reducing staff on a horrendous scale. Believe it or not, the understaffed engineering departments have also incurred cuts ... So that means double work for the remaining engineers in the department. FMC has no plans / strategies to ride the trough of the sine wave. Remember, as i mentioned previously, you are just a statistic to them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I completely understand that you may have done your MBA's and feel you are great at your jobs, but you aren't. Management is base on fixed principles. Engineering is a dynamic, evolving beast. Your management boundaries will only stagnate your engineering growth and you will become a second rate organization as a result. You are well on your way to achieving this btw. Work/ life balance is a necessary culture to... enforce to retain employees ... Particularly your engineers! Rewarding workers for working > 24hrs in a row is abhorrent and a violation of OSHA's and other safety regulations. Revoking high performers spotlight awards, because they found a better opportunity demonstrates why FMC will soon be a second rate company when the cream of the crop engineers go to other Organizations that will treat them fairly and with respect. From my experience at FMC, i will discourage any intelligent engineer from working at this establishment.

    Show More
    FMC Technologies2015-09-03
Found 49 reviews