FNZ "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

FNZ Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
FNZ Group CEO     Adrian Durham
Adrian Durham
211 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced & entrepreneurial environment that allows for individual ideas to be implemented(in 44 reviews)

  • "Due to being a high growth company there are lots of opportunities for hard working and self motivated employees(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "They could offer more opportunities for a better work-life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "Long hours are expected but if you invest in what you are doing this is often a choice you would naturally make(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Operations Officer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work. Hard but rewarding

    Cons

    Hard work and occasional long hours of things go wrong.

    FNZ2020-01-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Auditor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the salary is not terrible

    Cons

    long hours, little training, aging office.

    FNZ2020-02-07
  3. "Opportunities, challenges and expansion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Pension Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty opportunities for career growth and progression across a variety of sites and teams. I was able to apply internally for a more suited role and there was no blockage to this. Previous employers would have actively discouraged this. Great social events and a good general buzz around the office despite the fast paced, challenging environment. There are also yoga and meditation sessions through the week for those who want to participate. Training is well structured and there is great support for sitting professional exams. Ability to work from home at manager's discretion if needed. You are actively encouraged to participate in growing and improving our current client base from both an administrative and systems orientated perspective so there is much variety and no time to get bored!

    Cons

    Office space - we are expanding so limited at the minute for suitable desks etc. I understand this is being looked into at the minute. Lack of free/cheap parking nearby. Long hours especially if you have a significant commute

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-11-29
  4. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Starting salary ok. Free coffee.

    Cons

    Made to work very long hours with no recognition

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-10-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Never looked back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of User Experience in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Started with these guys back in 2006 and been given every opportunity to develop and grow. I'm pushing 50 now and worked for many years previously in the finance industry. It was enormously refreshing to come to a place that was not bogged down in bureaucracy and back-stabbing. There have been challenging times, sure, and this place is not for the faint-hearted, but you are fully empowered to take the ball and run with it. I've worked in Edinburgh, Hong Kong and Singapore, with frequent travels to Australia and Czechia, so there are great opportunities to broaden your horizons. Relocation packages are very good. Awesome people. Genuinely committed, intelligent, fun-loving souls, many of whom have become friends for life. It's a place for good banter, open questioning of the best approach and constant push to deliver quality products. Company growth has been incredible and the projections for the future show no signs of slowing down.

    Cons

    There have been teething issues, growing from a small tech start-up to becoming one of the most dominant fintech providers in many regions. Budget frustrations, some not-so-great choices of leadership at times, but we live and learn and no company can claim to be 100% perfect. Our clients and stakeholders are a priority, otherwise, none of us have jobs. Long hours due to resource constraints, but if you like challenge and reward, that's not a bad thing.

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-08-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Exciting place which can potentially be very rewarding - but experiences may vary across teams and functions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of A Function in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) FNZ has seen tremendous growth over the last 15 years and the global upside potential is still enormous. 2) If you put in the graft and make sure people at the top are aware of your work, you can be immensely rewarded. 3) Collegiate and flat structure - most senior leadership team members are happy to be challenged - but make sure you have a strong argument to make! 4) Visionary founder-CEO who understands the market (including in different jurisdictions) and where it is moving next. 5) Private equity backed - high performing staff can be awarded slices of equity in the business.

    Cons

    1) FNZ has not been the best at recruiting senior management personnel who are able to cope with its high growth stage - this has resulted in a relatively high of turnover at that level which results in wasted costs for the business. 2) Lack of competent people in some areas, which slows down the business as certain streams require the expertise of a small number of knowledgeable staff who inadvertently become bottlenecks. 3) Can be gruelling and not for the faint-hearted sometimes, for example if the workload is a lot but there is no one to support you, taking ownership may mean long hours for days or weeks. This is not a place where you expect to work 9-5 every day, but at the same time it isn't a sweat shop all year round. 4) No formal appraisal and reward process in place - but this is currently being set up by HR so hopefully will result in better morale for any unheard voices. 5) FNZ exists in a challenging regulatory environment and this may slow down its growth potential.

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Extreme growth over many many years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growth of the business and opportunity that never stops Fast paced and you are given responsibility early and expected to perform. There is flexibility to move to any department or team within FNZ and the opportunity for global travel and relocation. I am on my third country. The people, great colleagues and working atmosphere to get things done. Improving benefits package. Pension now inline with the market but significant bonuses are available and paid to those that deserve it. Equity offered to key staff which very recently paid a part share out. You will only be limited by your own ambition. FNZ is on a continuous growth trajectory and that brings with it a specific type of culture that requires hard work and equally some pressure and long hours but also many opportunities to develop professional skills much faster than other organisations Scotlands first unicorn Fintech organisation

    Cons

    Must manage your own work/life expectations. Delivery is a must with the customers and responsibility that FNZ has which adds pressure to peoples hours and deadlines. Long hours to meet deadlines on occasion, this is no different to most growth companies though The constant growth can feel a bit relentless

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-05-06
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Overall, a good working experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Operations Officer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Prospects of career progression Salary Fairly informal work environment

    Cons

    Lack of training Certain Ops teams seem massively overworked and unresponsive to anything outside BAU Long hours

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-03-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Hard work and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very talented people in key areas. You are never bored, there is always something to do. If you prove your value consistently you will be rewarded.

    Cons

    Delivery still misaligned with sales despite a shift towards agile development, resulting in missed build and descoped solutions which can be frustrating for employees and clients. Automation of operational processes has been left late and needs to be accelerated to ensure scalability of platforms and business functions. Long hours are expected but if you invest in what you are doing this is often a choice you would naturally make.

    Continue reading
    FNZ2019-03-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hard work! Exciting at times but also frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Architect in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FNZ full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and great opportunities and exciting to be part of a growing company

    Cons

    Often unattainable deadlines, so sometimes can lead to working long hours.

    Continue reading
    FNZ2018-09-05

    FNZ Response

    February 5, 2019FNZ Team

    We’re delighted to hear about the elements of your role that you value. In line with your comments, we’ve recently made a number of significant investments in our people and technology to help create a better and more collaborative working experience for our colleagues. We accept there is more work to be done, but we continuously seek to improve every area of our organisation and we hope this will go some way to address your points raised. Thanks for sharing your feedback and we’d welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback with you further.

    Continue reading
Found 16 reviews
</>Embed