FTC Reviews | Glassdoor

FTC Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
FTC Chairwoman Edith Ramirez (no image)
Edith Ramirez
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the Best Places to Work in the Federal Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Collegial environment, colleagues are extremely bright, and the employees believe in the agency's mission to protect American consumers.

    Cons

    The federal government salary pay scale.

    FTC2020-02-07
  2. "No Respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FTC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Alternative work schedule. Easy work which means work-life balance. Very few kind people.

    Cons

    Little respect is given to those who aren't attorneys. Don't expect career advancement or mobility. It's an older crowd, therefore, hard to feel like a peer. Terrible management - lots of micromanagement going on and no one has any autonomy.

    FTC2019-12-29
  3. "Peasant status = not a lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FTC full-time

    Pros

    Some nice people — good healthcare.

    Cons

    Really pompous political appointees. Treated badly

    Continue reading
    FTC2018-12-24
  4. "Slow paced with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Paralegal in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FTC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly and doing good work

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy and lack of coordination

    FTC2018-10-10
  5. "paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FTC full-time

    Pros

    training available, how to enjoy your work largely dependent on your team

    Cons

    older crowd, hard to fit in at times

    FTC2018-09-23
  6. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at FTC full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, friendly work environment, meaningful work

    Cons

    Government agency so pay is lower than the private sector

    FTC2018-08-31
  7. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Attorney in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FTC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We take enormous pride in promoting consumer welfare through advocacy, enforcement, and policy initiatives. We have access to, and the ability to use, cutting-edge technologies on behalf of consumers. Our excellent work is often recognized by the public and media. A career at the FTC can provide exceptional opportunities to obtain excellent training, development, and professional growth. We value, and seek to promote and support the diversity of our communities. We strive for, and generally attain, a healthy work/life balance through family friendly alternative work schedules and telecommuting opportunities.

    Cons

    Like any government agency, the pay could be better and it would be nice if certain members of Congress did not treat federal employees like pawns.

    FTC2018-05-16
  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FTC full-time

    Pros

    Effective, targeted work environment

    Cons

    Somewhat restrictive; not a lot of room for critical thinking/growth

    FTC2018-05-14
  9. "Summer Law Clerk- Great summer program for law students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Law Clerk in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FTC for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked here my 2L summer. Work was very interesting and you got to choose your own assignments depending on your workload. I got to work on some pretty cutting edge, non-public stuff, as well as more traditional litigation work. The pay is by no means biglaw summer associate level, but it was enough to comfortably pay for my summer in DC. They do make some offer for a limited number of SLCs, so this could be your ticket to a great entry-level federal job.

    Cons

    The agency can only make 2-3 offers per class of 12-14 law clerks, so some tension and underlying competition set in midway through the summer when they gave us The Talk about this.

    Continue reading
    FTC2018-04-12
  10. "Descent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at FTC

    Pros

    Good benefits for you and your family.

    Cons

    Rough family work split time.

    FTC2018-04-19
Found 75 reviews
</>Embed